Hooray! I Felt Like Giving Some Books Away!

Thank you to Shawn for letting me know about the Bloggy Giveaways carnival!

(I almost missed! Phew! That was close.)

Okay, so here’s what I’ve got…

This post will stay up Friday, April 25 – Sunday, April 27.

You answer this question:

Why did you start to blog (what you thought before you started) and what have the unexpected benefits been that you’ve gleaned from experience?

I will choose three winners on Monday and give away three signed copies of my book, Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids (Writer’s Digest Books, 2007).

(In the continental USA only, please.)

I’ve posted this over at the main Bloggy Giveaway site and you can still get in on this too.

Have a blast! And thank you, Bloggy Giveaways, for hosting. :)

Look forward to hearing what you have to say!

63 Responses to “Hooray! I Felt Like Giving Some Books Away!”


  1. 1 Jane April 24, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I started blogging because I wanted to journal my baby’s life and get some accountability to make sure I did it! A side benefit was keeping grandparents and aunts & uncles updated, since we live in Mozambique most of the time and they mostly don’t!

    An unexpected benefit is the online blogging community! It is so much fun reading other blogs, and getting support from other bloggers.

    And yes, I am a part-time US resident with a US mailing address.

  2. 2 Judy April 24, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Well, my blogging started over three years ago as a way to keep my family in touch with my kids. My first child grew up close to his grandparents. Then, my husband got this fantastic new job that happened to be five hours away from everyone. We went from ALL RELATIVES – ALL THE TIME to being totally on our own, and it was hard on everyone. So, I started my blog to stay in touch with them (especially after I had my second son).

    What I have unexpectedly gained through the experience is a smorgasboard of relationship across the globe. I find common ground with older people, moms, young college students, crafters, homeschoolers, teachers, military wives and on and on. I have found that I actually CAN write something worth reading from time to time, and I have discovered that I really enjoy it.

    Thanks for offering your giveaway!
    sgriscom (at) satx (dot) rr (dot) com

  3. 3 Alison April 24, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I started to blog because I was feeling lonely being a SAHM and I knew my younger brother and some of our friends had blogs. I started reading their blogs, started my own, and was hooked. I like that blogging makes me write every day, even if I don’t post every day. I notice little details more, and I’ve written about my children’s first years, which I probably wouldn’t remember much of if I hadn’t blogged about them. I also didn’t expect to “meet” people from all around the world and in my own backyard who inspire, support, and intrigue me.

  4. 4 CanCan April 24, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    I started an “online journal” in 2000. I just did it as a personal diary. I kept it up for years and finally just recently switched to blogger b/c it was an easier platform. Now I’m all into the “blogging community”, and fun stuff like this!

  5. 5 nap warden April 24, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I started to blog because I felt so isolated in the house while the babies napped. All my friends worked, and the online community really helped. I found a way to carve a little career for myself along the way. I had a background in graphic design, and learned a little code along the way. Next thing you know “poof” NW Designs was born! Blogging has been really great for me:) Thanks for referring folks to me!

  6. 6 Helene April 24, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I started to blog partly to keep track of things my children were doing and partly improve my writing style. I would like to be a writer, but my writing style tanks. :( A couple unexpected benefits are being able to find out what college friends are up to via their blogs and getting advice on things I post about.

  7. 7 Marlene April 24, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    I actually started blogging because I wanted to chat with a lot of the cool people whose blogs I read. Sometimes I would read something and it would trigger a whole conversation that I wanted to have with someone. The benefits of blogging are that I have made some real life friends who have been apart of my life for several years.

  8. 8 Audrey April 24, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    I started to blog because I didn’t want to feel left out. Actually I’ve been writing articles for quite a while now and many people suggested I start a blog. I have two. My next one will be a personal what’s happening in my life blog.

    The benefits are the wonderful people I’ve met. Some have been a quick one email exchange and others have turned into long time friends who I hope I’ll meet live one day.

    As for books….I love to read. I’ve read thousands of books in my lifetime. There have been times I’ve had 3 books going at one time LOL. Yep, I love to read.

    If I win, I’m at audreyoka at cox.net

  9. 9 Sarah April 24, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    I started blogging because I wanted to share some of my knowledge about life and everything else with friends, family and anyone interested. It also serves to be a great way to make sure I have a record of my life. I love posting about my son and all his fun habbits!

  10. 10 Kimberly April 24, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I started a blog – but – I just sit there and stare at it because I don’t know what to write. How pathetic is that!!!

    I heard such great things about Blogging and I subscribe to some blogs which I love to read. That is why I started my own blog. I LOVE to write and I love to share my observations and thoughts with others but when it comes to sitting there and starting a post I just draw a total blank! I hate that.

    I have been enjoying the bloggy give away because it gives me an opportunity to read other blogs and to see what types of things bloggers enjoy to write about. I have bookmarked so many blogs over the past few days!

    I do write articles (Associated Content has a few). Writing is in my blood (can’t you tell). I just wish I could get inspired to write on my blog.

    Thank you for a most generous offer. GOOD LUCK with your future writing projects.

  11. 11 Becky April 24, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I started blogging because I wanted to document our day to day happenings. Time goes so fast and it is so easy to forget the little things (even though we all swear we won’t!). I seem to go in fits and starts, but am hoping to settle into a routine of consistent blogging. There have been several unexpected, and welcome, side benefits. One of my habits is INTENSE INFORMATION GATHERING. In deciding to, and starting to, blog, I have been poking around MANY other blogs covering a myriad of topics. I have learned so much, and it has fostered interests I didn’t know I had (like photography). This is a great giveaway. I actually have your book on my Amazon wish list, and was going to purchase it this weekend for my birthday-to-me present. Now I will wait and see if I win it! Thank you for a wonderful giveaway opportunity!

  12. 12 Worlds Greatest Mommy April 24, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I started the blog because I’ve always wanted to be a writer, never wanted to be a mom. Now I can’t live without motherhood, and yet the need to write hasn’t diminished. I needed to find a way to do both. I hope someday my kids will look back at my words and find something important that inspires, amuses, or helps them in some way. I’ve gotten a lot of friendships out of this that I didn’t expect.

  13. 13 Joy April 24, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I started blogging for a lot of reason: I wanted to keep my extended family up-to-date with our happenings, I wanted to share some of our homeschooling experiences with others, and I wanted to blog because my husband had been blogging for a couple years (he was addicted to it, so I had to find out what was so addictive about it!).

    And yes, I’m now addicted.

    Unexpectedly, I’ve made some good friends through blogging, and I’m been inspired by others to better my own life, whether it me in my homeschool, marriage, parenting, or spiritual life.

    joyful.miller [at] gmail [dot] com

    http://fivejs.wordpress.com

  14. 14 Sharla April 24, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    I started a blog so that it was easier for family and friends far away to see how we are and the unexpected benefit is making friends I never even meet!

  15. 15 anniegirl1138 April 24, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    I started blogging about 6 months after my first husband died as a way to think through my experience because at that point I didn’t know any widows my own age and I felt completely alone. I continued blogging because I wanted to share my experience with others who might find themselves/or were in the same boat.

    After I met and fell in love with my current husband (also a widowed) I thought our journey might be insightful as well. So I blogged through our courtship, engagement and marriage which was followed by blending (three girls 25, 23 and 5) and the on-going grief issues.

    I also wanted to write again. I thought blogging would train me to write everyday and so it has. I have met so many people this way and learned from most of them. I never really thought anyone would read my blog and have been surprised by some of the people that have. I ended up being interviewed for a book by an Oprah columnist once and have made friends with people all over the world. Blogging is one of those things that came into my life by accident and blessed me.

  16. 16 Noreen April 24, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I got started because of the last bloggy giveaway, well I signed-up on blogger at least. I wanted to keep a journal of sorts. I have started to get to know people more than I thought I would

  17. 17 The Chatty Housewife April 25, 2008 at 1:41 am

    Thank you so much! nw_wife(at)hotmail(dot)com

    I started over a year ago and I never thought I would still be blogging today and have two blogs!

  18. 18 Sarah (Genesis Moments) April 25, 2008 at 3:03 am

    I will defintely be bookmarking your site whether I win or not! Great information. I quit working full-time to write in January and I am learning so much about the industry but find that I fill my time too much with doing stuff and not seriously writing. I have a children’s book started and an idea for cookbook but I find myself blogging more than anything and wonder how I can use my blog entries to start forming book chapter ideas. Right now it is just everyday life stuff. Thanks for entering the contest because now I know a great new-to-me writer’s site!

  19. 19 Bonita April 25, 2008 at 4:01 am

    I’m an author/writer and I felt that blogging would give me an opportunity to get my thoughts out there to a wider audience. However, I’ve discovered a whole new network of friends through blogging and those relationships are the best part. I’ve also discovered so many other highly talented writers who would never label themselves that way, but their writing speaks for itself.

  20. 20 Kristen M. April 25, 2008 at 4:02 am

    I started to blog because my husband was always on his computer (blogging and running a website) and I decided I needed my own hobby. I never understood how addicting it would become. I love reading other blogs too and feeling connected to a different “world.”

  21. 21 amanda April 25, 2008 at 4:13 am

    i started a blog for the same reason as many…i wanted to keep track of my thoughts, events, etc. while my daughter grew up. i wanted a way to share pictures, stories, etc. without sending a bazillion e-mails. it has morphed into this whole realm of friends…friends who i’ve never met in person, but who i know…friends who have challenged, encouraged, and walked with me…it is quite amazing. and my blog has grown too…really amazing!

  22. 22 LeeAnn April 25, 2008 at 4:14 am

    I started blogging b/c I have such a bad memory and I wanted to chronicle the year, then make it into a book at the end of the year to keep for my kids to see later. Unexpected? My friend also started blogging, so now it’s easier to keep up with each other!

  23. 23 LeeAnn April 25, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Not sure if my last comment went through…

    I started blogging b/c I have such a bad memory and I wanted to chronicle the year and make it into a book at the end for my kids to see later. Unexpected? My friend started blogging so now we can keep up w/ each other easier!

  24. 24 hookedonhouses April 25, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Thanks for stopping by Hooked on Houses and entering my giveaway. Love your site and I’d love to win a copy of your book since I’m a Writer Mama, too.

    It’s been so much fun reading everyone’s responses to this question. As for me, I’m a professional writer who has published articles here and there, but whose main bread and butter is writing for college textbooks (mostly business and marketing topics). It’s a job I didn’t ever think about when I started a a writer, but sort of fell into, and it has been a godsend. I’m able to work from home and earn money while taking care of my children, too.

    However, it’s not a lot of fun writing for textbooks, and I was starting to feel the creative life draining out of me. My new-year’s resolution for ’08 was to find a way to enjoy writing again. In January I started a blog where I can talk about my obsession with decorating and real estate. It has given me a new burst of writing energy to have a space where I can write what I want, when I want, and not have to be so serious all the time.

    Thanks for participating in the bloggy giveaway! -Julia :-)
    (jknispel @ cinci.rr.com)

  25. 25 Tami April 25, 2008 at 5:29 am

    My first blog is to journal my weight loss and health goals. My secong blog I started simply to share with other like-minded women what I find to be beneficial to my walk as a Christian wife and mother.

  26. 26 dotti April 25, 2008 at 6:20 am

    I started blogging because I have a wonderful friend who kept nagging me until I finally did it. He nagged me by reminding me that I have always wanted to write, have been published and was a journalist. Then he reminded me that being a mom didn’t mean I didn’t have time to “sit down and at least tell my friend the details of my so-called-boring-life”. Needless to say, I started the blog.

  27. 27 Michelle April 25, 2008 at 6:29 am

    I started my first blog for family — just pics and anecdotes about my pregnancy and then the little guy, since we live so far from the rest of them. After a while, though, I wanted to write about things that I didn’t (necessarily) want to picture my MOTHER reading. ;) I have this dream of being a “real” writer and I wanted to stretch my writing muscles – for the first time since college, really – in a “safe” place. So I opened up a new, anonymous blog. What I found, that I didn’t expect, was an awesome community of other moms like me. Some were blogging anonymously, some had made it “big” enough that they’d come out of the writing closet ;) and some had started out using their real names. But we were facing many of the same struggles and we were all trying to write our way through it.

    I’m still no closer to that “great American novel” I was so sure I could write back in my senior year of college (*grin*) but I write more days than not, now, and that’s a good thing for me.

    Great giveaway – if I don’t win, I’m going to have to buy my own copy of this book! :)

  28. 28 Elaine April 25, 2008 at 6:47 am

    I started blogging to post things about my boys so our extended family could keep up with them as they grow. I had no idea it would also become a creative outlet for my writing and photography and that I would make such great on-line friends too!

    Thanks for the chance!

  29. 29 Annabelle April 25, 2008 at 6:49 am

    When I first started blogging, I wanted to just have a way to keep track of my children’s accomplishments and have my friends/family be able to keep up. Now, I just do it for myself…whatever I feel like that day, I write!

  30. 30 Jenny April 25, 2008 at 7:02 am

    I started blogging just to keep my husband’s family and friends from college up to date on our little one, and benefited by having an outlet for my thoughts and staying in the habit of writing them down. Writing is a passion, but one that has long been neglected. Even though I don’t write a whole lot of meaningful, high quality posts on our family blog, I am in the habit of writing, which has caused me to work on other writing projects. Great question and great giveaway!

  31. 31 mrsmandy April 25, 2008 at 7:12 am

    I was an avid writer before I finished HS but had my oldest during my 1st semester in college. I have not written since then but with my turning toward Christianity and learning to love the Lord I am getting a inclination to do it again. My blog is my re-introduction to expressing my thoughts “on paper”. I was just looking at books at Barnes and Noble about writing and these would be a great help to me (being broke that way).

  32. 32 amyb April 25, 2008 at 7:38 am

    i started blogging because my friend wanted me to try it. i had been reading hers (her hubby is military, so they live far away) and wanted to keep in touch. the blogging community is awesome! so inspirational! i don’t post as often as i’d like, but i post almost every monday for “miracle mondays”.

  33. 33 Audra Marie April 25, 2008 at 7:43 am

    The first blog I started was My Meandering Mind. I started it to share my thoughts with others, to have a place to express myself, and also to practice writing to an audience. I find blogging a great tool for getting my muse moving, I’ve met so many wonderful bloggers, and I now have several blogs with different purposes and writing voices (I guess that would make sense since I have all those ‘voices’ in my head lol). I’m having a blast, although I still lack some discipline and consistency in my blogging. That’s one of my goals this year.

    As a homeschooling mama to six, finding time to blog and write is a challenge. I know I can find a balance if I try hard enough. :)

    Your book has been on my wish list for a while. Thanks for the chance to win one.

  34. 34 Phyllis Lamken April 25, 2008 at 8:24 am

    I love the title to your book. Why do I blog? I love the interaction. Even, if I don’t respond to every blog post, I am reading it and the author is communicating to me. Some bloggers are too funny. others are really insightful.

    flip

  35. 35 Elizabeth April 25, 2008 at 10:07 am

    I started blogging about a year and a half ago because I felt so fortunate to be living in a city with so many avid readers and talented writers. I hoped to create a site that would pull together information about a lot of events in one place.

    What have I gained? An engrossing hobby, lots of new friends, and a feeling of being more at home in a new town.

  36. 36 Besu April 25, 2008 at 10:15 am

    I started my personal blog in June 2001, solely because of peer pressure. All my friends signed up on LiveJournal, and I finally gave in. I was afraid I wouldn’t find anything to write about – I was working nights at Wal-mart and trying to finish my degree – but it became a habit. I try to make at least one post everyday. The benefit is that I have a proper record of events, all in their proper context, and wonderful replies from my friends, too.

    I started my writing blog last year. I try to post 2-3 times a week, and that helps me to track word counts on my novels and see what the heck I’ve accomplished.

  37. 37 Shawn April 25, 2008 at 10:30 am

    How about that? I taught you something this week!

    I started blogging to keep up with writing but mainly to tell stories about my daughters and share their lives with family and friends.

    Then, I quickly realized family and friends don’t read my blog, but dozens of strangers do! LOL

    Blogging has brought me closer to people I wish I lived next door to, built my self-esteem, created new professional opportunities and helps me understand my place in the world. It’s been AWESOME to say the least. It does get a bit tiresome at times … I certainly didn’t realize the mounting pressure to come up with something a few times a week!

    I’d love a signed copy!

  38. 38 Laurie Tam April 25, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Hey Christina.
    I began blogging on about what was going on with me lately in my life and now, doing it to write artcles as well on helping people who wanted some pointers about something.
    For example, there are a few people on my myspace that contacted me about how they can get paid to blog. It’s great to blog about anything and share it with the whole world of what you think and such.
    Also love getting comments from others of what they think.
    Laurie Tam from Seattle

  39. 39 Stephanie April 25, 2008 at 10:54 am

    For me it was my catharsis. I was keeping so much of my life inside and not letting out. Also I have a great life, great kids and great husband. Sharing our humor, our milestones and other things was important to me. I just wanted a place that was my journal, my story, and my therapy at the same time. Thanks for the great contest.

  40. 40 Lisa April 25, 2008 at 11:15 am

    I started to blog because I was going through a separation with divorce on the way, and I wanted a place to let out the feelings I couldn’t let anywhere else. As a result, I’ve met some fun people online, and I have a record of my life should my son ever be interested in reading it. I’ve gone through spells where I’ve been real sporadic about posting, but I always come back to it. I’ve had a journal in some form or fashion since I was a little girl, and my blog is just the electronic version of my old diary with lock and key.

  41. 41 Christy April 25, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I started my first blog (years ago!) to keep my family and friends up to date when I was traveling for work as well as to keep track of favorite moments from my trips. Now that I’m married and home with my kids, I do it more as a way to keep track of memories and connect with other bloggers. Of course, I’ve fallen behind in my blogging, so I’m not even doing that!

  42. 42 Char @ DigiScrapChat April 25, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    I started blogging a few years ago at bellajoy.com and a couple of other family sites, but I never could make it work for me long-term. My idea was to write updates to keep friends and family informed about our goings-on, but I was sporadic at best. I have never had any trouble putting words on paper (or on screen) before, so it puzzled me as to why I had so much trouble with keeping up. I honestly still don’t know they whys, but recently I started blogging on my digi-scrap blog (digiscrapchat.com), and it’s like I’ve found my calling. I have more post ideas than I can keep up with, and I am having a wonderful time with it.

    So, a few things I’ve learned – it’s ok if just your Mama and your Mother-in-Law read your blog. It’s ok to take your time to find your “voice” in bloggy land. And once you DO find that voice, the sense of community that comes from a busy, well-visited blog is awesome.

    Thanks so much for the chance to win your book! I’ll be back to read more, as I’m an aspiring freelance writer who has neglected her writing for the past six years. (My oldest son is six, that’s no coincidence)!

  43. 43 qtpies7 April 25, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Wow, I think I just did it because my friend was to update her family. I thought I would just write about my kids and make it like a journal. But turns out that I was able to get paid for it! I had no idea. I never planned to go that route, but I am now writing reviews and ads, but I was also commissioned to write 10 articles!
    Maybe I will get a writing career from it.

  44. 44 Frances April 25, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    I blog to keep my family posted, to help new relatives and acquaintances get to know us better, and to share thoughts on things I’m learning and trying with like-minded readers. I’ve discovered that my desire to blog waxes and wanes – and that’s okay. It’s not a job, it’s a hobby – for me, anyway.

  45. 45 Peggie April 25, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    I love to write so this sounds really interesting. Glad you made it in!

    I started blogging for several reasons. One, I do like to write. Two my daughter pushed at me to do it! I had read blogs, but never really knew too much about doing them, then my daughter started telling me and I decided to give it a try.

    I find that people will write and comment and I read every one, even with this giveaway. I have met some people I would not have met otherwise and look for their comments.
    peggie dot loden at gmail dot com

  46. 46 rowena April 25, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    I started blogging because I had this burning desire to just WRITE, and I wanted to get out there in the world, and I was just discovering the blogosphere and it was exciting.

    What have I discovered? Well, partly, I discovered that becoming a mom really put a crimp in my previously unrestrained creativity, but that blogging and the bloggers out there were a way back into writing and creativity. I actually have been pleasantly surprised by the great writing and the wonderful ideas and the beautiful blogs and stories out there. I was surprised by the community I found, and am still working my way into being a part of it.

  47. 47 Linsey Knerl April 25, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Hello!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway! I’m excited to read the book! I started blogging in May of 2007 as a way to kickstart my writing passion. It wasn’t meant to be anything other than a way for me to get my creative juices flowing, but so many wonderful things have happened since. It opened so many doors to get my writing career moving in the right direction. I am so blessed!

  48. 48 Erika April 25, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    OH MY…where to start? I’m a blogger because:

    A) I’m a stay-at-home mama. This lends itself to needing to connect with the outside world. Helllloooooo out there!

    B) I’m a motherless mama. My mom passed away a year ago and I needed a cheap *free* form of therapy! Blogging is the best form of self-expression!

    C) I have an English degree. I started to think that my brain wasn’t quite functioning past the LATHER, RINSE, REPEAT part of the day. I have the voice. I need to use it. PERIOD.

    D) I was inspired. There are LOADS of talented mamas out there!! I wanted to join their ranks.

    As a very new blogger, I’m feeling really good about getting myself out there. I’ve met some other wonderful women, gotten a few things off my chest *saggy mom boobs still intact* and just had FUN.

    For Christmas, I received a copy of Writer Mama *because I asked for it* and have loved it! If I win an even more special AUTOGRAPHED copy I will pass on my other book to another Writing Mama friend. Thank you, Christina, for helping all of the fledgling writing mamas out there. Can’t wait for the new book!

  49. 49 Ginny April 25, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    I started to blog just to keep track of some thing my kids were doing. I never expected to meet so many friends. I really enjoy the blogging community. I actually have stopped going to almost all of my yahoo groups & message boards now.

  50. 50 reeva April 25, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    What a great giveaway! I hope i’m the lucky winner :)

    i started to blog because i was bored when i was on bed rest — buti havent stuck with it ..things got busy..its not a great blog, but its my blog :)

  51. 51 Chrysa April 25, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I started blogging because it seemed like a fun thing to do. I love it because I have learned so much and met a lot of online friends. Thanks for the giveaway!

  52. 52 Naomi April 25, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    I started my blog as a way to share pics of the kids with far-flung relatives. Along the way, I rediscovered a love of writing and giving things away. It’s also been a great outlet since we don’t have a big social circle where we live.

  53. 53 Tracy April 25, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    I started blogging because I found inspiration by reading other’s blogs. Plus, it’s a way for my family to keep up with what’s going on in our lives. :)

    The benefits of blogging for me would be that I am a part of a growing community of creative, inspiring people and I’ve made lovely new friends from all over the world!

  54. 54 Meg April 25, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Oh, I’ve been wanting to read this book for some time! Hope I win!

    I started my blog as an online baby book/journal for my firstborn. What it’s grown into is a info-packed source of ideas for preschool learning at home, as well as creative things to fill the day for other moms at home with children. I also get to do reviews, which fulfills my thirst for writing!

    Thanks for the contest!
    meg.wilson@gmail.com

  55. 55 gail April 26, 2008 at 5:18 am

    I started to blog (how naive!) as a sort of private journal (LOL)! I’ve met so many nice virtual people, and hope to meet some of them in ‘real life’ some day – blogging helps me feel connected. Thanks for doing this!

  56. 56 Teresa April 26, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I started blogging more than 2 years ago as a way to document our big trip abroad. My kids and I decided to sell our stuff and move to Vietnam for a bit in order to volunteer at a couple of orphanages and to try out another kind of life. It turned into the best seven months of our lives. I blogged the entire time and have continued in the eight months since our return keeping up with news from Vietnam, our life here and my attempts at recreating my favorite Viet food.

    In all those blog posts and comments, I learned some interesting things. One that surprised me is that my family read the blog far less than strangers. I found the kindness of those in the blogosphere overwhelming and was lucky enough to meet up with other Viet bloggers. I grew to love writing and hope to share our story in a more interesting and creative way soon, using my blog (and personal journals and stories) as the base. We’ll see what I can manage to come up with!

  57. 57 Lu April 26, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I started blogging more than three years ago as a way to connect with other scrapbookers and share my art. What I have learned about blogging is how much fun it is and what challenge it can be all at the same time. I have had moments of not feeling very creative and I wanted each one of my post to be inspiring. I have also learned that I can not blog for anyone but myself. I have become more authentic by being real and not trying to impress anyone with my words or my art.

    I have discovered a truer me and I am thankful for that.

  58. 58 Ginger Carlson April 26, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I started blogging because everyone kept telling me I needed to, and the unexpected outcome has been that I have been introduced to a world I wasn’t really aware was so rich. And, it has pushed me to my limits as far as writing is concerned. I’m not much of a diary/journal writer so it has been a good exercise in spontaneous writing.

  59. 59 denise April 26, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    After reading lots of blogs I thought “I can do this!” I love reading about other people’s lives & I love sharing my crazy life with others. I have gotten lots of great tips, recipes, and found lots of moms just like me!! It is so much fun, and I love posting pics of my kiddos for relatives to see! Thanks!

  60. 60 Whitney April 27, 2008 at 2:12 am

    I started a blog because I wanted to show my family and friends the crafts I’m making and to keep them updated on what is happening while I’m at college (I tend to not call home as much as I should.) I’ve learned that there are a lot of other neat blogs out there and a lot of nice bloggers. I’ve also gotten a little more open in my writing. At first I had trouble giving out details of my life on the internet. I’ve gotten better, but I still play it safe with things like where I live.

  61. 61 Jess April 27, 2008 at 8:10 am

    I started blogging when I fasted for a month. It was a way to express my thoughts and feelings. My husband was in Scotland so I had the time. I didn’t tell anyone about it for several months — then it evolved into a writing/reviewing/interviewing blog and I’m thrilled. It’s part of me now.

  62. 62 Lona April 27, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I started blogging because I’m concerned about the lack of knowledge of farming among the general public. Small family farms are on the endangered species list, and I wanted a way to correct some misconceptions, gently educate, and (yes, it’s true) let off some steam.

    A surprising benefit is that my photography skills are improving a bit…

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

  63. 63 Becky S April 27, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    I have an adoption website that I use for journaling my daugher’s adoption from China. The contract for that is about up and I want to start a blog to journal about my other two children also. I have written in private for years, late at night after everyone has gone to bed. Now I am ready to try out my craft in a more public forum. I look forward to reading your book. Thank you!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Christina Katz

Jason & Samantha

With Ariel

Samantha at the Disney Parade

Big "C"

Face-Painted Girl

Christina Katz

Christina Katz

Christina Katz

Writer Mama

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 182,881 Visitors

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

