Writer Heaven: The Sylvia Beach Hotel

Thanks to the Sylvia Beach Hotel for hosting me after my presentation with the Willamette Writers Oregon Coast Chapter last week!

The Alice Walker Room

Here’s a sneak peek into the Alice Walker Room, where I stayed (yes that’s me in the mirror). And what a coincidence, Alice Walker is one of my favorite novelists and that was the room they offered me.

The hotel was everything it was cracked up to be and even more inspirational than I imagined. I could have stayed for a week…but I needed to get back home to my big, fat, messy life. That’s how I’ve been thinking about my work-home balance lately. It’s the only thing that makes me feel better about how utterly imperfect it all is (and yet so perfect in all of its imperfection).

henry-miller-restrooms.gifCut to a photo of the Henry V. Miller Memorial bathrooms plaque from the basement of the hotel. I cracked up when I saw that. The ladies room is “Tropic of Cancer” and the mens room is “Tropic of Capricorn.” That’s life, right? It’s messy and you just roll with it. Then they name a couple of bathrooms after your books. Ha-ha! 🙂

Syvia Beach Breakfast View

If I want to recall a more zen-like moment, I can always flash back to my breakfast in the dining room of the Sylvia Beach Hotel. Here’s what I saw while I munched on homemade banana bread and nut bars. Ahhhh….

So the laundry is piled sky-high. So the kitchen floor is filthy again (and I just mopped it—at least it seems like I did). So I have not cleaned out the refrigerator in a really long time (my mom asked about that).

So what!

It’s a gorgeous, sunny spring day and my husband’s birthday tomorrow. When I’m done here today—you can probably tell I’m pooped—I’m going to turn off this computer and walk away for forty-eight hours. I mean really shut it off and enjoy some quality time with family this weekend.

Really, I’m not kidding.

I’m going to do it. This is not an idle threat.

Okay, tease me later when you catch me online.

I’ll just say, in my own defense, I plan on barely being online this weekend.

That sounds about right.

I leave you with an amazing “portrait” of all of the authors who have rooms at the Sylvia Beach Hotel named after them. I wish the photo was better. They will be getting a postcard version soon. And I’ll be back with the painters name…it’s around here somewhere.

  Hope you have a great weekend!

Authors portrait Sylvia Beach Hotel

3 Responses to “Writer Heaven: The Sylvia Beach Hotel”


  1. 1 Pattie April 23, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    This is AWESOME. How amazing! Glad you had a great time 🙂

  2. 2 Eric May 12, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Fantastic. I am going to book a room today! (Okay, I won’t get there until maybe next summer…but I must see this place.

  3. 3 Julia Temlyn May 18, 2007 at 4:24 am

    How wonderful! It sounds like you enjoyed yourself! I *LOVE* the painting of the authors– maybe one day they’ll have to update it with your face! :o)


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,453 Visitors

