Self-Appreciation on the Summer Solstice!

Today is the summer solstice and I’m sure we can all feel it deep in our bones.

This must explain the recent feelings of deep gratitude that I have been experiencing. I have spent seven years as a working writer and today, despite the fact that I am working, as usual, I want to take a few minutes and say, Hooray!

I feel proud of the success that I have cultivated slowly and steadily over many years of hard work. And unbelievably grateful!

For me, my writing career feels like it “started” seven years ago because that is when I decided take my skills into the marketplace. That’s when I dared to start sticking my neck out on a consistent basis and dealing with whatever results transpired.

So, you see, it is not a coincidence that much of my teaching over the past six years has focused on helping writers through this often challenging transition from wannabe writer to working writer. The journey has been very educational and meaningful to me.

I’m sure there are many and various theories on when a person “earns” the title of writer, though that is not really a debate I wish to join. I’ve been writing with intention since I was ten years old. I’ve gotten published in high school and in college publications. I’ve put myself through graduate school in writing and published in those publications, as well.

But it wasn’t until I was ready to take my work into the adult marketplace that I began to really test my wings as a writer. And true, the early flights were often crash and burn. But I don’t feel badly about that, even though I know much younger writers who have had a lot more early publishing success than I did. I feel like that is great for them.

As for me, I simply didn’t give up. I continued to learn and apply what I learned. And developing this simple muscle—learn then try—has given me a great gift.

I am no longer afraid.

I am just as imperfect as I always was, only now I am imperfect and an author. 🙂
Does anyone know the misery of feeling like you must achieve some kind of perfection before you get to attempt what you really want to do?

For me, writing success is (and I hope will always be) about a sense of personal satisfaction that cannot be measured by other people’s standards.

Feeling successful, for me today, springs from the feeling that I dared. I stretched and I grew. I continue to grow. And every time I do, it feels pretty darn good.This solstice, I hope you will take a few moments to celebrate yourself for whatever reasons you feel satisfied. I think that’s what we are meant to do today. To love and appreciate ourselves so that we can better love and appreciate others.

I dare you—I double dog dare you to appreciate yourself.

Okay. I triple dog dare you.

4 Responses to “Self-Appreciation on the Summer Solstice!”


  1. 1 luci June 21, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Bravo, Christina Katz!
    Thank you for the inspiration. It’s because of women like you who’ve paved the way that helps a ‘writer mama’ like me to dare to dream. Ray Bradbury said that living at risk is jumping off the cliff and building your wings on the way down; sounds like you’ve definitely built yours!

  2. 2 motherreader June 22, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Thanks for this great post. You are so right. In fact, I’ve been re-reading “The War of Art,” by Pressfield and so this post goes perfectly with his talk about resistance. I am full of resistance. It really is all about taking chances and just letting go of and trying. Just do it, right?

  3. 3 movingmama June 24, 2007 at 12:04 am

    I do make the mistake of measuring my success by what others think instead of enjoying the small steps towards my bigger goals. I need to celebrate the happiness writing brings to me more often. Thanks for the post 🙂

  4. 4 Sage June 28, 2007 at 6:13 am

    This made my day! Especially this: I am just as imperfect as I always was, only now I am imperfect and an author. And the reminder that perfectionism need not squash our aspirations, or put them on hold. Thanks, Writer Mama! I really needed this just now!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,718 Visitors

