August Writer Mama Challenge: Spruce up your writing space

Writer’s Digest MagazineDid you see the latest issue of Writer’s Digest? They have writer’s sharing their writing spaces. I have always wanted to make this a feature in my zines but in the past had little luck persuading writers to participate.

Is this because our writing spaces are often pushed to the bottom of the priority list amidst deadlines, continuing education, and all the demands of being a writer? For writer mamas, I suspect that creating an inspiring space goes down even lower on the priority list because we have so many home responsibilities.

But I feel that it’s important to have inspiration handy, even if your “writing space” is as simple as a basket full of magazines, notebooks and pens. I know it makes a big difference for me.

That’s why I’ve decided to make August, spruce up your writing space month. I’ll be posting photos of my redecorated office in August and I’d love it if you’d share yours!

Sure, you’ll be tempted to totally ignore your own needs as the back-to-school rush approaches, but think of it this way, if you have kids around maybe they can pitch in and help you create the writing space of your dreams before they go back to school!

Okay, toddlers will probably not understand this concept, but teens and tweens certainly will! And mamas, you deserve an inspirational writing space! So, while you are combing through a proliferation of back-to-school items, have a list for your space too! This is the perfect time of year to find fun and colorful writing-related accessories. Why should kids get to have all the fun?

Happy hunting! And be sure to share your great finds here. I’ll be asking everyone to shoot and post their freshly reinvigorated spaces. Happy sprucing!

Please tag your posted photos: “August 2007 Writer Mama Challenge” so I can find them. 🙂

Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,567 Visitors

