Book Deal #2 (Maybe Now I’ll Take a Vacation…)

I came across this quote in the latest issue of Literary Mama.

“By and large, mothers and housewives are the only workers who do not have regular time off. They are the great vacationless class.”

— Anne Morrow Lindbergh (1906-2001), pioneering American pilot and author

How true, right? Then add a full-time writing career on top of that and you get “mega-vacationless.” I have been working really, really hard this summer and with the exception of one week and a few (not all) weekends, my only “breaks” have been when I’m away from home.

I’m at the Whidbey Island Writers Association Fall Residency and it is SO beautiful here. Once again I am reminded: Wow, I live in the suburbs and there is so much more beyond the ‘burbs. And while the Willamette Valley has a lot going for it beauty-wise, it’s rather hard to compete with the Olympic Pennisula, Port Townsend and Whidbey Island, where I am right now as visiting faculty.

I’ll prove it. I’ll take some photos.

I’ve made one of those executive decisions that I make every once in awhile after a period of working really hard. (And anyone who knows me knows that I’ve been working really hard for the better part of two years now.) I’m taking the last week of August off for vacation, much needed rest, fun, and getting ready for back-to-school.

Besides, in September we have the Writer Mama Daily Giveaway and I want to be well rested for that. Additionally, I’ll soon be working quite hard for a fairly quick deadline (by choice) on my second book, which will appear in October 2008.

Wow. I said that so calmly. Let me say it again: I GOT A SECOND BOOK DEAL WITH WRITERS DIGEST! WOO-HOO!

I can’t announce the title yet, as this one is top secret. (I believe I told anyone and everyone who would listen about Writer Mama but this time is different.)

Christina, Jane and Rita

I’m so excited to be working with my agent, Rita Rosenkranz again. And my editor at Writer’s Digest Books, Jane Friedman. And I’m more convinced than ever, that hard work pays off.

Hope this news is inspiring for you wherever you are in your writing journey. I’ll share more, over time, I’m sure. But right now: Must go find coffee!

10 Responses to “Book Deal #2 (Maybe Now I’ll Take a Vacation…)”


  1. 1 Karen M. Lynch August 20, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Congratulations! That is such exciting news for you (and for those of us out there who loved your first book).

  2. 2 Tiffani August 20, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    Wow! Congratulations, Christina! That’s awesome news. I’m so excited and happy for you. And, of course, I can’t wait to read it … I’ll be no good at waiting until October 2008, though. 😉

    Woohoo!

  3. 3 Kelli August 20, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    Wonderful to read this! Congrats on all your success.

    I am also a believer that hard work (and persistence) pays off. Looking forward to book 2!

  4. 4 Keli Garson August 20, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    Congrats on your 2nd book deal! That sounds very exciting (as well as intriguing). I know what you mean about vacationless moms. The last time I took a day off was when I got sick at Disneyland a year ago and was forced to stay in the hotel room. I had a great (relaxing) time! There was nothing for me to do! How often does that happen to moms?

  5. 5 Julianne August 20, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    Woo hoo! Congrats on the book deal. I can’t wait to read book #2. You definitely hit on an untapped market with “The Writer Mama” and your book has been a major source of inspiration and motivation for me.

    Go Writer Mama. Go!

  6. 6 Karen August 22, 2007 at 2:22 am

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to see what you come out with next!

  7. 7 Sage August 24, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    I am most inspired by witnessing your journey, Writer Mama! Write on! Write on! The world will be a better place with your second book in it! Mazel tov!!

  8. 8 Jennifer Applin August 26, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Congrats on the second book deal!! Wow you really a busy, busy woman! I can’t wait to hear about the second book-when it’s no longer top secret 😉

  9. 9 Mar Junge August 29, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Vacationless Writer Mamas, know that “this too shall pass.” I was a writer BC (before children) and a writer mama while raising three kids (and running a PR agency). Now that the oldest is in college and the other two in high school, my husband and I escape for kidless 3-day weekends at least once a month.

  10. 10 Donna McDine September 1, 2007 at 7:09 am

    I’m thrilled for you about your second book deal. Congratulations!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

