Cel-e-brate Writer Mamas, Come On!

Did you catch the party tone, there? 🙂

Okay, the rules are officially updated. Please re-read them since the first posting. Hopefully I have addressed the most pressing questions (and won’t have to update them again, but we’ll see). I reserve the right to tweak them as we go.

The list of giveaways is now complete and closed. I’d love to do this again next year and invite more folks to donate to the cause! But for now, let’s take things one year at a time. (I’m talking to myself, of course.)

Yes! I’d love it if you’d spread the word about the giveaway. In fact, if you have the impulse NOT to spread the word so you can have a better chance to win, well…I know you won’t act on it because that’s just bad giveaway karma. ‘Nuf said.

Please be sure to read the part of the rules about what else is being given away besides what’s on the list. I’m speaking about signed copies of Writer Mama and a one hour writing career phone consult. Check it out!

Tomorrow: a little more business and then give it away, give it away, give it away…Saturday!

5 Responses to “Cel-e-brate Writer Mamas, Come On!”


  1. 1 brainymama September 1, 2007 at 4:59 am

    By nature, I am definitely a rule-follower. Right now, as a nontraditional student returning to school for an English degree, being a rule-follower serves me as a writer because it helps me get good grades and attention from the professors. I think being meticulous, particularly over things such as grammar, word choice, and presentation are really important because writers who are careful get noticed and come across as professional. As a beginning freelancer, I think my attention to details and submission “rules” have led to my pieces being accepted for publication. And I think consistently meeting deadlines has earned me brownie points with editors.

  2. 2 Kristina September 1, 2007 at 8:18 am

    I am a rule follower! This can serve me well, as I usually manage to give editors what they’re looking for. But I’m sure it’s hindered me, too. I tend to be so afraid of being a pest, being thought stupid, or being thought a b*tch that I don’t open my mouth. This has lead to book covers I know could have been far better, pay rates that I probably could have increased, and editors thinking of me as a writer only appropriate for a certain type of piece. I certainly need to work on this!

  3. 3 Lea Schizas September 1, 2007 at 9:17 am

    In some respects I can honestly say that I do break the rules. On my! But there are situations when this needs to be done. For instance, I submit my work to more than one publisher. Why? Because if I wait to submit one at a time, I’ll be over a hundread and one and probably two feet in the grave before I get a chance for publication. Publishing houses are inundated with submissions and I understand they cannot respond as quickly as I would like, so I need to send it out to more than one for a chance someone will read and answer earlier than my one hundredth birthday.

    I do follow their guidelines. This is one area I won’t step out of the boundary. As an editor who reads quite a few submissions, one thing that ticks me off is when you request only 2,000 word subs and you get 5,000. I guess some writers believe their work qualifies them to be read. Well, surprise…rejection, rejection, rejection.

    Breaking the rules is not a bad thing when you know WHEN to break them.

    Lea Schizas

  4. 4 Tricia Grissom September 1, 2007 at 10:34 am

    My first response was to say I’m a typical dutiful first child – following all the rules. But looking at my latest queries I realized I’m more of a recovering rule-follower; my queries are usually longer than a page. (I did still read the contest rules as Christina instructed – that’s the recovering part).

    I’ve realized there really are no hard rules. Personal preference figures into so much about the writing business that I do what feels comfortable to me – while still trying to adhere to the specific guidelines of the publication. I think when you use creativity to break the rules – a startling piece of figurative language or something you feel is edgy in your writing tone – it almost always pays off and helps get you the assignment.

    Tricia Grissom
    coffeeandcritique.blogspot.com

  5. 5 Andrea McMann September 1, 2007 at 11:10 am

    I am a rule follower. As a beginning freelancer and mother of two young children, I have to set some strict rules for myself so I will actually be able to get my writing done. To keep myself productive, I have to set time limits for myself so I don’t spend my limited free time checking e-mail, surfing the web, etc. I also try to set goals for what I would like to accomplish each week, which are kind of like rules. So far, my self-imposed rules have been very helpful to me and my writing.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

