WMBTSD Giveaway Day Two: September 2, 2007

Comments for the previous day are no longer allowed once this post appears.

Well that was fun! I’m loving the thoughtful way that you guys are responding. I find myself very inspired by your insights and anecdotes. So more like that, okay? 😀

I am making one slight variation on the rules (which I will go post in “Da Rules” tomorrow): Let’s make the word count (and do check, please, so I don’t have to) between 50 and 300 words from here on out.

Also, I noticed a couple posts from overseas… if overseas folks win and want to gift their book to someone in the states, I will allow it.

And now, on with the giveaway! I’ll announce the September 1st winner on September 2nd. 🙂

Today we have two books that would work well for any writers who enjoy fiction, either reading it and/or writing it. Our giveaway books are:

September 2nd: The Writer’s Little Helper: Everything you need to know to write better and get published by James V. Smith (Writer’s Digest Books 2006), Jr. AND Koenig’s Wonder by Linda Kuhlmann (novel, Llumina Press 2004)

First, I want to thank Jane Friedman from Writer’s Digest Books and Linda Kuhlmann for providing today’s books.

The Writer’s Little HelperHere’s the book description for The Writer’s Little Helper, Everything You Need to Know to Writer Better and Get Published by James V. Smith (Writer’s Digest Books 2005):

There are books that address character creation and others that help you craft believable dialogue. Some help you be more creative and others teach you how to attract the attention of agents and editors. The Writer’s Little Helper helps you with all of these things and more!

Packed with valuable advice, new ideas and time-saving tips, checklists, and easy-to-read charts, it’s sure to become the one book you reach for again and again.

The Writer’s Little Helper has been designed to appeal to writers who want to start at the beginning and work toward the end as well as those who feel the need to focus on one area at a time. Bright colors, interesting sidebars and boxes, and easy-to-read print help to make it a pleasure to read. But don’t think for a second, this is a light-on-advice book. Author James V. Smith packs each line with commonsense advice you may not have thought to use before.

And here’s a bio for Linda Kuhlmann:

Linda Kuhlmann grew up in Lincoln, Illinois and moved to Oregon almost thirty years ago. She has been writing most of her life, but her fiction has always had to take a back seat for her job as a Systems Analyst. During her work, she wrote training curriculums and materials for the computer software classes that she taught.

Early in 2004, she retired the technical field to begin her new career as an author. Her first novel, Koenig’s Wonder, was published in October, 2004. Since then, Linda has been marketing her novel, as well as writing a screen play and working on her second novel.

In marketing Koenig’s Wonder, Linda has enjoyed speaking to groups of writers about her experience in writing and publishing. She has also held readings and signings in Oregon, the Mid-West, and the East Coast.

[Ed. Note: If you’d like to see why I use Linda’s website as an example in my presentations at writer’s conferences, please visit: http://www.lindakuhlmann.com/]

Koenig’s WonderHere’s the book description for Koenig’s Wonder:

Family secrets, intrigue, and murder! The year is 1937 when two brothers are forced to leave their home in Germany. They arrive in New York City with only a white Lipizzan stallion and a stolen Friedrich painting. What happens next affects three generations of the Maseman family as they become torn apart by greed, war, and revenge.

Years later, in Oregon, Emma Maseman discovers the harsh truth about her family when she is investigated for the theft of Koenig’s Wonder, a Kentucky Derby winning Thoroughbred.

You can win both books by responding to the following question in your comment: Do you currently write or do you eventually plan to write fiction? Tell us what you love (or don’t love) about fiction (in 50-300 words).

Good luck! If you do as good or better a job as you did yesterday, I’ll add another great book to the giveaway down the line!

33 Responses to “WMBTSD Giveaway Day Two: September 2, 2007”


  1. 1 Shawn September 2, 2007 at 5:11 am

    I was single and 22 years old when I sat down with my laptop and started writing. What came out of me that day, and weeks following, was the first part of a novel. I still haven’t finished it. Life became me. Life consumed me. I haven’t let go of this dream, but time is definitely more limited now. I look back at my non-mom days and realize how my view of time was so restricted. I had plenty of time then. Now, not so much. Or, perhaps what have less of now is energy. Regardless, I will finish it and I have an idea or two for another one. In fact, I am planning to participate in this year’s National Novel Writing Month (NANOWRMO) if our house situation is stable.

    I mostly read fiction. I realized recently that was draws me to novel after novel with hardly a second in between is my constant desire for life to be wrapped up in some sort of closure, good or bad. So much of life is left wide open, and unresolved: past relationships, broken friendships, disagreements that just dwindled, but constantly pop back up. A novel has an ending. We may not love it, but it does end. I find comfort in that.

  2. 2 Rebecca September 2, 2007 at 5:39 am

    I do not currently write fiction and I have not done so since I was about 15 years old. That is more than half a lifetime ago.

    When I did write fiction – at school as part of my assessemnt for school leaving exams – I found it very hard to write non-autobiographically. Somehow I could not put stories down on paper that were not part of me and my life.

    I really like the idea of being able to loose myself in a work of fiction, but it is not really my thing. This may change in the future. Maybe I will be able to write fiction when I am a Writer Grandma rather than a Writer Mama.

  3. 3 Donna McDine September 2, 2007 at 5:43 am

    I currently write fiction and once in awhile I write in non-fiction. I enjoy writing in fiction because it is a great opportunity to make a character soar into depths that he/she may not be able to do in a non-fiction piece. By being able to do this the imgagination is endless in conflict and resolution or at times only a part resolution, depending on the character’s personality and motivation. Happy soaring to you all! :-} – Donna McDine

  4. 4 brainymama September 2, 2007 at 5:43 am

    This past year, I’ve had a lot of success in writing creative nonfiction but I’d really like to try other genres, too. So this semester, I am taking a creative writing class at my local community college. We are just starting our fiction unit and I’m terrified! I fear that my imagination up and left me about the time I entered adulthood! I read a lot of fiction and would eventually like to write young adult fiction, but I haven’t yet attempted to write it mostly because character and plot development feels so intimidating to me. I’m worried about creating interesting dialogue and I’m afraid I won’t be able to handle the complexities of creating three-dimensional characters or manage the intricacies of plot. I anticipate that in some ways writing fiction will be similar to writing nonfiction. In other ways, I know it’s going to stretch me in new and unpredictable ways. I’m learning as a writer that it’s important to face your writing fears, trust the process, and try those things that you perceive as difficult. As a perfectionist, my biggest fear is that I’ll be terrible at writing fiction. But I’ll never know, until I make the attempt! Even if I do fail in the beginning, I think there is always something to be gained from exerting oneself in any creative endeavor.

  5. 5 Phoenix September 2, 2007 at 6:27 am

    While I don’t currently write fiction, I’d love to have a go some day. I have a few ideas running around my head, just waiting for the chance to let them out. However, I’m not yet entirely confident in my ability to craft good fiction.

    Fiction is such a great way to relax and see the world in a different light. I particularly like sci-fi and fantasy, as they’re a great removal from the mundane world and allow my imagination full reign. I believe some things can be said easier in a work of fiction, things which people would have a hard time accepting if someone just came out and said it.

  6. 6 Renee Roberson September 2, 2007 at 6:28 am

    I absolutely plan to write fiction. I have an idea for a novel in my head right this very second, and every day the storyline develops further. My problem is that the characters aren’t named yet and I haven’t written down an outline! My excuse is that I have to finish up my paying assignments before starting a work of fiction, and I have two small children to raise in the meantime! I love fiction because of its endless possibilities for character development, settings, plots and themes. I don’t love fiction because for my work to be authentic, I feel like I have to incorporate part of my life story or people I know in each work. That’s a very personal prospect for me, and it’s what really holds me back on a daily basis. I’ve abandoned a few stories because they were becoming too personal, and I didn’t want family members to read them and recognize themselves!

    We recently renovated our formal living room into an office for me complete with French doors, walls painted in a soothing color, and a gorgeous desk and chair I never even dreamed of owning. Now I have my writing study – and it’s time for my characters to come to life in it.

  7. 7 Meryl September 2, 2007 at 6:46 am

    I am not good at storytelling and tend to fall in the cliché trap when I try. Well, I know that storytelling enhances non-fiction writing and presentations — but using examples for non-fiction comes easier for me than making up things.

    As a nine-year-old, however, I’d jump at fiction as I loved making up stories and songs then. Unfortunately, as we get older — we neglect practicing the art of storytelling and using our imaginations thanks to schoolwork where storytelling tends to be taboo.

    But I think that’s changing as my daughter’s science class relied on mind maps (brainstorming maps) — I hope this continues so our children can retain their creativity which is a valuable skill to have even in the boring business world.

    Thanks for starting fascinating discussions, Christina!

  8. 8 Elizabeth September 2, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Great contest!

    I do currently write fiction, slowly and painfully. If it weren’t for my critique group, I’m not sure I could find the perseverance to stick with it, but they are so encouraging, every step of the way.

    What I don’t love about it: the anxiety associated with writing; the difficulty finding time to write; the frustration of never being as good as I would like to be; the rejection.

    What I love about writing fiction: the thrill of finding just the right word or phrase to describe something; the creative outlet; the characters that populate my imagination and keep me company in my daydreams; the occasional encouragement from an editor.

  9. 9 hope829 September 2, 2007 at 7:39 am

    Put me in the “truth is stranger than fiction” column. I don’t write fiction right now (though I don’t rule it out in the future) because I find my own real-life drama has been better than a sizzling novel (it’s the stuff of Springer episodes!).

    I find writing non-threatening non-fiction more my cup of arsenic.

  10. 10 Andrea McMann September 2, 2007 at 7:56 am

    I am equally interested in fiction and non-fiction. For some reason, my writing seems to go in cycles. For days on end, I’ll do nothing but come up with ideas and write for non-fiction articles, but then I always get to a point where I feel like I need a break from the non-fiction. It’s during these “breaks” that the fiction comes pouring out of me. For me, writing fiction is a release, a creative outlet that is essential to me.

  11. 11 Kelli September 2, 2007 at 8:32 am

    I do write fiction and actually wrote only fiction as an undergrad in college until I took an incredible poetry class that changed everything I thought I knew.

    When I think of fiction, the first thing that pops into my head comes from a radio show I used to listen to, they would say that “Truth is stranger than fiction because ‘fiction’s gotta make sense.'” I think that is one of the things I like about it when writing, I love details and how threads weave through a character’s life and finding ways to progress the plot.

    Of course, maybe that’s one thing I don’t like about it as well. 😉

    Thanks,
    Kelli

  12. 12 Heather September 2, 2007 at 8:37 am

    I started out in writing with every intention of being a fiction writer. I love starting with only a spark of an idea and having that spark grow into a full-fledged story. I love the way a two-dimensional character becomes a living, breathing person, as lines of dialog seem to appear from nowhere and a real voice develops in my mind. From a blank piece of paper, a new world and its inhabitants come to life. There’s a sort of magic quality to writing fiction. Fiction is fun.

    I quickly got the impression, though, that getting fiction published is somewhat akin to a climber reaching the top of Mt. Everest. Only the most fearless writers, with the most endurance for the long climb, will succeed. Deep down, I suspect that this is also an excuse to hide my insecurities about putting myself “out there.” For it seems to me that in fiction writing you reveal your own inner thoughts and ideas more than in any other kind of writing. Revealing yourself can be scary, but it’s a fear worth overcoming. Everest is a lofty goal, but some really do reach the top.

    Thanks for the great contest and thought-provoking questions!

  13. 13 Mary Jo C September 2, 2007 at 8:38 am

    Are you kidding? It’s like make believe for adults! Create a world, breathe life into and flesh out characters. Live vicariously through them: feel teenage love again, pursue a trek in the African safari, stake out a drug deal, and get the last word in a heated argument. You can be a good girl or a bad girl (or boy!) And you bring your readers along for the ride.

    I’m on Chapter five of my first novel, but have been writing fiction since I could hold a pencil; and before that I’d tell my stories to whoever would listen. I escape the mundane to a world unknown and begin a search deep inside for the truth, the truth through someone else’s eyes. Though fiction is make believe, it needs the thread of realism, the world living parallel to ours, the characters you cry for and let into your family, your home, your heart. A good piece of fiction will fill up a hole inside you didn’t realize was empty. A good piece of fiction will resonate in your soul, making you kin to the author. It will bridge cultures, merge political highways, settle into your bones and nuzzle against your heartstrings, making you believe anything is possible!

  14. 14 Kim Haynes September 2, 2007 at 9:18 am

    I guess I went about this whole freelancing thing backwards, because I wrote a novel first (currently out with a couple of agents… keeping fingers crossed!). I went through a series of major life and job changes and found myself unhappy and bored, so I decided to try that novel I’d always wanted to write. Nine months later, I’ve gone through three drafts of it, run it through a couple of critique partners, attended a writers’ conference, and begun querying agents with some small level of success (requests for partials, so far).

    Through another series of job changes (my life’s been crazy lately!), I found myself rather unintentionally embarked on a career that now allows me to pursue freelance writing in addition to my novel, and I’m delighted. I find the different worlds of fiction and nonfiction, and the different demands of a 75,000 word novel and a 400 “clip” to be a great challenge, and I don’t want to give up either end of the spectrum! I’m doing research now for my second novel, and beginning to build a freelance career in earnest (yay, query letters!). I can’t think of a more interesting way to spend my time.

  15. 15 Lea September 2, 2007 at 10:22 am

    For me, writing fiction is the best of both worlds. I can combine elements from my life with experiences I can only dream of and characters I would love to meet. My problem? Letting go of the need for everything I write to be perfect. I’ve started dozens of different novels, only to lost interest once I feel the characters aren’t as developed as I’d like. But I keep plugging away because writing is my favorite way to spend a day, and I know I’ll succeed in the end!

  16. 16 Laura September 2, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Hello again! I just got back from a brief trip with my daughter, my friend, and her teenager. Two moms on a trip with teenagers….what could be more fun? We toured the Ohio Caverns, an amazing underground system. As we wandered back, through fields and small towns, I found myself reaching again and again, for my ever-present notebook, to jot down story ideas, settings, and characters. I was so inspired by this trip, I barely took the time to unpack, before sitting down to write today.

    I have been reading fiction ever since I fell in love with books in the third grade. Since reading The Boxcar Children, my love affair with reading has never waned. I love to lose myself in a new book, becoming so engrossed, I never realize I am actually reading the words, as I simply watch the story unfold. Habitually, I reread old books, enjoying following the same path I have traversed before, visiting familiar sites & characters.

    As much as I love to read, I also love to write. The page is my playground, and words are my toys. I enjoy writing non-fiction. I am working on a collection of stories from my father’s life. My first inspirational article was published in last month’s issue of Guideposts. As much as I enjoy writing non-fiction, my real goal, the one I have only whispered to my closest friends it to write fiction. Creating characters, giving them a world in which to live and interact, what greater joy could there be? In order to put on paper the stories that are always running through my head, I am trying to learn the discipline of daily writing, and the courage to believe in my own dreams.

  17. 17 Tammy September 2, 2007 at 10:43 am

    I love writing fiction.

    I am also afraid of it.

    There’s something far more personal about writing fiction. A story that came from my heart and my imagination—it’s like letting someone inside me with a microscope.

    Even writing personal essays and opinion pieces don’t have that same level of intimacy.

    While my stories come from somewhere untraceable in my psyche, my characters always end up doing what they want. In this regard, writing fiction has almost the same level of discovery as reading. I write my first drafts without an outline. And usually I don’t know how the story ends until I get there. I can’t wait to see what happens to the characters, and so I keep writing.

    Nonfiction is fun too. I write a lot of nonfiction and I’m still not tired of it. But there’s something freeing about fiction. Where I can let myself go, and say whatever I want. Be crazy. Be out there. Create things that never existed before.

    Freedom is also scary. So a lot of my fiction hasn’t seen anything except the inside of my hard drive. Including two NaNo novels (www.nanowrimo.org) and many short stories. If I let them out, who knows what could happen.

  18. 18 movingmama September 2, 2007 at 10:43 am

    Yes, yes, and yes…I write fiction. When I write, I find myself wanting to make things up (gasp!) even when I know I shouldn’t. But, I do hold myself back when I have to write non-fiction pieces. Fiction gives me an escape that every stay-at-home mama needs; time away from the chaos of kidville. I love to write about places, people and things that do not exist in my everyday life, but through my writing I get to “live” with them everyday! Thanks for your wonderful contest. I forgot (gasp, again!) about it yesterday.

  19. 19 Beth K. Vogt September 2, 2007 at 11:47 am

    My writing life is firmly settled in the non-fiction world. Earning a journalism degree beat all the adjectives out of me. I hang out with a lot of fiction writers–and even got talked into attending a fiction writers conference. Once. That’s when I realized I’m missing one mandatory characteristic to be a fiction writer: I don’t hear voices! For three days, I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner with writers saying, “And then he said and she said”–before I realized they were talking about the characters in their novels. I kept thinking, “People, there is medication for what ails you,” but I realized no one would take it because it would inhibit their “creative process.”
    Whatever.
    I confess, I have toyed with some plots for novels … but I’m still waiting for the voices to say something.

  20. 20 Rose September 2, 2007 at 11:47 am

    I have a little black book. I take it out and start writing and anything goes. Sometimes its non-fiction. Sometimes its fantasy. Sometimes it’s a shopping list. Sometimes it’s a fantasy shopping list. When I write for publication, I try to combine the details of the everyday with the flare of juicy fiction. The writers I enjoy reading most are those that write creative non-fiction. The whole delicious truth.

    But when diapers and dishes are piled high and the truth is not looking all that delicious, I need a good ride in the fiction time machine. If Calgon can’t take me away, a good novel is the next best thing.

  21. 21 Laura September 2, 2007 at 11:50 am

    The tale of my fiction writing goes something like this:

    Once upon a time there was a graphic designer who wanted to write fiction. Life slowed her down–something about three non-walking casts in the previous post–and she wrote many stories. In five years she wrote five novels. One was awful and she should never have let anyone read it, let alone try and get it published. But, heck, what did she know? So she took some classes. The next book was better but after eight revisions was still not quite right. Caught the interest of a few agents, but realizing the pacing was slow [read : boring] she hired an editor to help her with the concept of outlines, she would later refer to said concept as a four letter word. The third book was the most fun she ever had writing, but hasn’t been able to polish the first draft. The fourth book was the best one yet. All her crit groups liked it [something about a good voice], but alas there is no ending. The fifth book was the most daring and probably most commercial, but alas it suffers the same fate as book three. Will there be a happy ending to this fairy tale? Or, will our hero end up with multiple manuscripts under her bed?

    What I LOVE about writing fiction is that I leave the real world behind. My first book started from an idea I had about my laundry room being a portal to another world. I’ve met many characters there. I’m sure you have too. Makes doing the laundry more fun. The other thing I love about writing fiction is it gives me something kooky to talk about at cocktail parties.

  22. 22 Rhianna Finnegan September 2, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    I adore writing fiction, I love to inhabit a world I might otherwise never visit, or even choose to learn about. I can even imagine writing non fiction (I don’t feel I glean enough from my research to write about one subject long enough to substantiate something non-fiction, exept perhaps, motherhood, and I don’t have to research that.) I like to take on simple thing (I’ve done this since I was a child) and expand on it, it could be as basic as watching a woman get her mail, and wondering, what did she recieve that day? Was it something life changing? Did I just witness a completely random moment or one of life altering importance. That is fiction, it’s how we see other people, because, we will never really know their heart, but we can guess, and make up a story to make them and ourselves more grand.

  23. 23 Sage September 2, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    For some reason, erotica is the only genre of fiction writing that has ever made sense to me as a writer; though I devour a wide range of fiction as a reader. In Chuck Palahniuk’s interview in Writer’s Digest (October 2007) he talks about how he strives to bridge high art (in which people drive around in Volvo’s, talking) and low art (in which graphical, gritty stuff HAPPENS). I think this is what erotica affords me–an ability to see the narrative arc more clearly. I am better able to understand what happened–and what it means.

  24. 24 Lisa September 2, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    I love reading fiction, lots of it, but have a real hard time putting my thoughts down on paper. It’s like I’m up against a wall, and fear starts creeping into the back of my head, and basically, I become paralyzed. I have a dozen excuses why I’m not writing, but I know them all as that – excuses. The real problem lies within myself and my lack of discipline to clear out the clutter of everyday life, and find the time to sit and just write. I don’t know what I’m waiting for, but I do know that each year is passing me by, and I haven’t written a story or a novel. Perhaps, just this exercise of writing these comments is enough to jump start me…

  25. 25 Tricia Grissom September 2, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    I have a manuscript about a zombie heroine and her Big Fat Greek Wedding family. I started during NaNoWritMo and finished a few months after. That part was fun and satisfying. Now it’s just staring at me. I need a version of NanoWritMo for revising manuscripts.

    I’m taking it my critique group, but it feels like it’s taking forever to revise. I just want to send it out – fly, be free… but it’s not ready yet. This writing stuff takes a long time, and patience is not my virtue.

  26. 26 Kathy September 2, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    I write fiction but have yet to have a piece published. The reason for this is that I have yet to finish any of my fiction pieces. I have always had stories running through my head and sometimes I write them down, partly to keep a record so I won’t forget, and partly because when I do commit them to paper, they can change or grow longer and it is interesting to find out what happens. I feel a huge sense of freedom when I really let myself write a piece of fiction, and while I know that fiction is “not true” I like writing about what I consider to be real situations and turn them into what I think they should be, whether that be a better ending, a better challenge to overcome or what I think would be a more “realistic” situation.

    I enjoy writing fiction, but what I love about it is finding an old story that I started, not remembering what is was about, reading it, and being upset that there is no ending because I want to know will happen next. It thrills me to be so excited about a story that was written by me!

  27. 27 Kathleen Whitman Plucker September 2, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    I have only dabbled in fiction – I’ve written a few short stories for children. The beauty of a 500- to 750-word magazine piece is that you often don’t have to develop characters to the same extent that you do in other fiction formats. And that is the challenge for me – character development. I’m very intimidated by it!

  28. 28 Susan Flemming September 2, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    I started out many years ago writing down the stories that I told our oldest daughter at bedtime. Over the years my writing evolved from those simple stories into a wide variety of different forms of writing. I’ve had both short stories and non-fiction articles published. I’ve been a reporter/photographer, a publication assistant, a freelance writer and a newspaper columnist. And while I enjoy the challenge of those different forms of writing, fiction remains my favourite.

    There are many reasons why I enjoy writing fiction. It gives me the freedom to explore ideas and situations with a depth and latitude rarely possible when writing non-fiction.

    Fiction also allows me one area of my life where I am in complete control. I build my worlds. I create the characters which will inhabit them. And then I determine what happens to those characters.

    But the main reason I write fiction is that I am, at heart, a storyteller. I enjoy the challenge of crafting stories that draw the reader in and engage them in a powerful emotional experience. There is nothing more satisfying for me than to have a reader tell me that one of my stories touched them in some significant way.

  29. 29 Abbey M. September 2, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    I love reading fiction, but don’t (and probably will never) write fiction. I’m not the greatest storyteller and I don’t possess the creative spirit (or patience!) needed to tell a good story. I admire writers that are gifted at crafting an original story.

    I love writing nonfiction. It makes more sense to me. I like the formula, the analysis, and the research involved in nonfiction writing. I express my creative voice by writing about subjects I’m passionate about – and find my escape in stories that others create.

  30. 30 maryboone September 2, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I’ve written nonfiction as long as I can remember. My newspaper, magazine and, now, book work has paid the bills for more than a decade.
    I dabble in fiction and I’ve struggled for years to complete a YA manuscript. I always say I have a hard time flipping the switch from telling the total, honest truth to making things up.
    Just recently, though, I read Birb By Bird by Anne Lamott. She said something that really hit home for me — that the best fiction writing is about telling the truth. She says the stories people relate to have to be rooted in the basic truths of life: birth, rebirth, death, lost love, things that pull us together or push us apart.
    Knowing that I already excel at telling the truth has given me renewed hope … hope that I can weave a fiction tale that builds on the truth and makes it even more interesting to my reader.

  31. 31 Karen September 2, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    I’ll rarely check out a book at the non-fiction section of the library–unless someone claims they can help my children sleep better in ten minutes or less. Then, I can only hope no one is in my way while I’m running to the check out line.

    I’m a non-fiction writer who really hopes fiction-lovers take time to read my stuff. I made a recent decision that fiction is in my near-future. I’m looking forward to being the one who chooses the ending instead of reporting it.

    Thanks for the fun contest!

  32. 32 Diane September 2, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Ah, yes, I concentrate only on middle-grade fiction now. As a mother of two, a past daycare provider and a current grade school secretary, I find imaginary kids are the only ones I can consistently control and count on! For the one or two hours I spend with the make-believe kids, I get to be Boss. I get to decide what happens to the good kids and what happens to the bad kids. I also find an inordinate amount of pleasure in creating heaps of trouble for my characters. But in case this sounds more harsh than I intend, I’d like to stress that I get nearly as much pleasure helping them find a way out of the mess I’ve created.

    Oh and I want to make sure Donna Koppelman gets credit for sharing this contest with me. Without her, I wouldn’t have known about it.

  33. 33 Shonna September 2, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Yes, I write fiction. Prior to children I wrote nonfiction as that was better for paying the bills. But now I’ve got my target audience living with me so I’m giving fiction another go. It’s always fun to escape into another world and live someone else’s life for a time. I think that’s my favorite part. Hmm, that and the research. It’s fun to learn new things.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,593 Visitors

