WMBTSD Giveaway Day Fifteen: September 15, 2007

Today’s giveaway is quite a savings. And I know we have some poets and poetry-lovers out there. 🙂

My friend and colleague, Sage Cohen, is generously giving half off her upcoming Poetry for the People e-class AND a copy of her newly minted poetry collection, Like the Heart, The World.

I have an inside line on some exciting news about Sage’s writing career but I am not at liberty to reveal it without her permission. So, I’m waiting to hear back from her about how many beans I am allowed to spill.

Let’s just say that after years of commitment and hard work, Sage’s efforts are paying off, in many directions! Yahoo! She has been a boon to Writers on the Rise and a positive and supportive writer in my life.

Sage has so much going on that just today, we discussed postponing her class until the NEXT round of Writers on the Rise classes, which is in February. In fact, I haven’t even updated the classes page yet, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. 😉
The very first Poetry for the People class will start on February 13th, 2008 and this is your chance to win a half-price reduction in tuition (which is transferable) as well as a signed copy of Like the Heart, The World by Sage Cohen.

Here’s the scoop:

Sage Cohen is an award-winning poet and essayist. Author of the poetry collection Like the Heart, the World, Sage’s work also appears in more than 30 journals and anthologies including Poetry Flash, Oregon Literary Review, blueoregon.com and San Francisco Reader. In 2006, she won first prize in the Ghost Road Press poetry contest. Sage holds a MA in creative writing from New York University where she was awarded a New York Times Foundation fellowship. She has taught writing at universities, hospitals and writing conferences, as well as online. In Portland, Oregon Sage hosts a monthly reading series at Barnes & Noble. Visit Sage at www.sagesaidso.com.

Like the Heart, The WorldAbout Like the Heart, The World:

Sage Cohen’s first full-length collection of poetry explores the concentricities of inner and outer landscapes. Like the Heart, the World accompanies the reader through the blighted streets of New York losses, the oceanic melancholies of San Francisco and Portland’s orchestral embrace of the ripening, welcomed self.

Here’s your question, should you choose to answer it for these fabuloso giveaways:

Poetry. How do you make room in your life for it? Or how did you used to make time for it? Most importantly, what is your life like with it vs. without it? (Feel free to wax poetic, toss in the names of your favorite poets, or share how you live the poetic life.)

Are my questions getting more open-ended or is it just me?

New around here and want to get in on today’s giveaway???

Click here for “Station Identification.” It will help you find the posts with the list of giveaways and the rules.

And stay tuned for tomorrow’s historic, half-way through the giveaway drawing. 🙂

I’ll try not to be so gal-darned late. What a week it’s been around here! Whew.

A good week. But a tiring week just the same. I’ll share more when the giveaway isn’t taking up so much bandwidth.

10 Responses to “WMBTSD Giveaway Day Fifteen: September 15, 2007”


  1. 1 Heather Haapoja September 15, 2007 at 10:02 am

    I think there’s a certain amount of poetry in almost all writing. Just last night I was reading, “The First Five Pages,” by Noah Lukeman. Here’s a short excerpt from the chapter on “Sound:”

    “Accomplished poets often make the best writers of prose because they bring to their art years of paying close attention to the sound of language, to its rhythm, breaks, to subtle elements like alliterations and echoes. They can spend years working on just one line, and this devotion to the craft of the individual word almost always translates into immaculate prose, beautiful to hear and beautiful to read.”

    I enjoy poetry, and I think a certain amount is learned just by reading and hearing it, but aside from rhyming poems for children, I don’t have a lot of confidence in my own poetry writing. It’s something I’d like to do more of, for sure.

  2. 2 Darren Lipman September 15, 2007 at 11:00 am

    Poetry. I love reading it and I love writing it. I use poetry to express my thoughts and feelings that are too hard to put into words anywhere else. I read poetry every time I get the chance to, because its beauty entrances me and its softness soothes me.

    However, I don’t actively fit in time for poetry. When I find some, I savor it, and that’s good enough for me. I got quite a bit of poetry in a few literary journals I was subscribed to, but I can’t say I’ll be renewing all of them as the subscriptions begin to wane, so excursions to the library for poetry may become more common for me. When it comes to writing poetry, my practices tend to wax and wane as well. It seems the more I journal and write fiction, the less I write poetry, and vice versa. Nevertheless, there still comes those times when prose simply won’t work and I’m left bawling in out in paper stanzas and verses.

    And was that second one a trick question?

  3. 3 Erika D. September 15, 2007 at 11:58 am

    I’m only beginning to really explore the role of poetry in my writing life. I’ve just taken my first online poetry class; I’m signed up for another this fall–and Sage’s would be perfectly timed for the third!. I think I have enough student experience at this point to know that classes (and their assignments) can really help you “make time” for things! And I think my renewed interest in poetry is stemming in large part from a need to infuse some new approaches (and maybe subjects, too) into my work. Poetry’s role in my life is changing, it’s a “work-in-progress,” and I’m looking forward to seeing how it continues to develop.

  4. 4 Rose September 15, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    I find poetry in unexpected places these days. In the subject lines of my spam. Or poorly translated furniture assembly instructions.

    There is a line in Marianne Moore’s poem “Nothing Will Cure The Sick Lion But To Eat An Ape” that talks about smothering us with fresh air. To me, that’s what poetry does. It’s life and death in the same breath. Absurdity and beauty. I try to keep poetry books around the house so that I can just grab one and open it up and blindly thumb my way out of a mental cul-de-sac. I can get a hit off of even a few lines. Inspiration. Oomph for flaccid paragraph.

    Parenting and poetry are a good mix. Both proof that the simple and sublime happily coexist. For me living without poetry would be like living without the pain of hope or the pleasure of failure.

  5. 5 Laural Ringler September 15, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    I’m now carpooling to work with a poet who writes from 3-6am every week day and then meets the carpool at 7am. Now that’s commitment. I’m learning about current poets and poetry through talking with him on our commute, and I’m remembering when I was a hig school kid, I dabbled in the medium. He’s even loaned me a poetry book, which would probably be the first book of poetry I’ve read since T.S. Eliot in college. And I like it.

    Representing slices of life in measured words is all writing, really. Poetry is just more so. I think I might be going to learn something for my writing from poetry this year.

  6. 6 Heiddi September 15, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    I have recently attempted to write poetry. Being a songwriter for years, I have found music in poetry. My first poem was a challenge to myself explaining why I hate poetry when really I’m quite intimidated by it. The poem I wrote seemed offensive at first, but if the reader stuck with me, the reader would have found out how much I admire poets. It takes guts to make small collections of words come alive and bring melody and music to the reader. I hope that I can make music with words using poetry.

    I have no idea who wrote this but it is one that speaks to my heart.
    “Your absence goes through me like thread through a needle. Everything I do is stitched with its color.” My heart melted when I first read this, given to me by my boyfriend. 🙂
    I don’t know where poetry fits into my life. It is still very intimidating as a genre, but I do write poems probably every three months or so in the last year. I think if I took a class to understand poetry as something that I can write, then maybe I can be a poet.

  7. 7 Karrie September 15, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    I have a poetry exercise book that I don’t make enough time for but when I do it is soul-satisfying. I especially liked taking an article out of the newspaper and transforming it into poetry by breaking up the lines and rearranging the words. It amazed me what it sounded like. But then I’d never show it to anyone because they weren’t originally my words.

    I have the website poems.com set as my homepage and like to read through them as I open my browser. It helps me to look at a wide range of poets. Some I adore, others I have no feeling for and some I can’t stand. In any case I learn something I didn’t know before.

    Finally, I like to memorize poetry. I sustains me in difficult times to have good sounds on the tip of my tongue waiting to soothe me.

    As a genre it calls to me.

  8. 8 Cath September 15, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    I have always loved poetry, but there is poetry and then there is …poetry.

    When my children were small I read to them from books like “Sing a Song of Popcorn” and “A Child’s Garden of Verses.” They loved it and so did I. Now, I write children’s poetry, and sometimes some funny, Roald Dahl-like poems, and I think most people would read my poems, understand them and even enjoy them.

    BUT, my oldest son, The English Major, LOVES poetry, does poetry slams and performance poetry gigs, and such, and I try, I really do. But I have no idea what he’s talking about most (okay, ALL) of the time.

    Still, I guess all that poetry reading as a child had an effect. I just wish I knew what it was.

  9. 9 LauraE September 15, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    I was introduced to poetry by my daughter’s love of Langston Hughes. I began to read his poetry and became inspired by the way he saw the world. My mom loves Walt Whitman. I read his poetry and became inspired by his perceptions of nature. Somehow poetry eluded me most of my life. I’ve never tried to write a poem. But the feeling I get when I read poetry is unlike any feeling I get from reading the words of a novel or short story. It’s more emotional. It’s a kind of epiphany combined with knowing something was true all along. Seeing something old in a new way in a split second.

  10. 10 Shirley JonesLuke September 15, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    My life is like an Epic poem – call it the modern-day “Odyssey”. Like it’s erstwhile hero, I am searching for a way back to my writing life. I began my journey long ago and with many victories – a desire to write, winning school writing contests, and receiving many accolades from teachers about my writing. I was a child then filled with the wonder and hope for a burgeoning talent. When I was a teen, reality set in. My desire to write was still there but the need to find a career that would pull me out of poverty became the dominant goal. I soon fancied myself a future psychologist, working with those who needed help finding their way. All through high school, my desire and goal ran side by side. I would submit poetry to my school’s literary magazine and look for colleges with a strong psychology program. After graduation, I found myself at the university. Again, I was filled with hope and wonder for my career endeavors and again, I continued to include writing in my life. But it soon became evident that my writing passion was dwindling as the need to earn money grew more dominant. After a year at the university, I had to leave and help support my family. I worked during the day and eventually qualified to participate in the company’s tuition reiumbursemenmt program. I enrolled in a local college and again my career path changed. I focused on a career that would be lucrative but included writing – I settled on law. I had found a new passion and my journey was on a new path. For several years, I took pre-law courses, earning the highest grades in those classes that emphasized writing. I also began subscribing to writing magazines so that I could stay involved in the writing life. Eventually, with an undergraduate degree in hand, I was on the verge of entering law school, but a chance comment and a newspaper ad once again set me on a different path. I could go on and on, but as of today, I am back on the writing path and this time it’s to stay. Like the hero in the “Odyssey”, I have made it back to what I desire.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,867 Visitors

