WMBTSD Giveaway Day Twenty-Two: September 22, 2007

You know, I write these posts between 9 – 11 p.m., which explains the preponderance of errors and typos.

In case anyone was wondering. 😉

Today’s giveaway is…

Poet’s MarketSeptember 22nd: Poet’s Market 2008 by Nancy Breen (Writer’s Digest Books 2007).

Here’s what editor, Nancy Breen has to say on www.poetsmarket.com about what poets want and how they can find it in Poet’s Market.

What do poets want? Foremost, they want to write good poems. (At least, that should be their primary goal). Then they want publishing opportunities—magazines, journals, and presses that will print their work and make it available to readers. They want contests, where they can test their skills against fellow poets, gain recognition for their poems, and maybe even earn a few dollars in reward. They want to hone their talents through conferences and workshops, and to connect with other writers, seeking feedback and support while offering the same.

Poets want submission tips, advice from the seasoned and successful, inside views of the poetry-publishing world, and ideas to spark their creativity and reinforce their motivation. Those just starting out want directions and instructions: Where do I submit my work? How do I prepare a manuscript?

At Poet’s Market, we try to give poets want they want—and what they need. In the 2008 edition, we offer over 400 pages of market listings alone, broken out by section: magazines/journals, book/chapbook publishers, and contests. We also provide sections on conferences, workshops, and festivals that include programs for poets, as well as organizations for poetry-writers and -lovers alike. Our resources include contact information for state arts grants and poets-in-education programs, lists of publications and Web sites of special interest to poets, and glossaries that define terms that appear in the listings as well as poetry forms and styles.

Poet’s Market isn’t just a book, it’s also a free newsletter delivered via e-mail twice a month. Anyone can subscribe. Please visit http://www.poetsmarket.com/ for more information.

Your question, should you choose to answer it is: What’s your favorite poem either today or for all time and why? What does this say about the role of poetry in your life? [Please do not cut and paste the poem into this blog, as we don’t want to run into copyright issues. Instead, reference the poem by title and poet and respond to it in your own words. 50-300 of them to qualify. Thanks!]

Things are getting very DEEP around here. True poets will not balk. 😉

Man, I am punchy tonight. Somebody hand me some poetry.

19 Responses to “WMBTSD Giveaway Day Twenty-Two: September 22, 2007”


  1. 1 Amanda Hyatt September 22, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Oh, absolutely no contest from me here. I have many favourites that I will read and re-read, but the clear winner will be ‘Remember Me When I Am Gone Away’ by Christina Rossetti. What words more subtle, more consoling, more true, more soul-filled than these on the passing of a loved one? I’ve come back to this poem many, many times on the death of those close to me – and would wish nothing more than for these words to be read, heard and taken to heart by my family, children and friends on MY passing. It’s good to grieve, but it’s OK, too, to forget for a while. Why is that so rarely said?

  2. 2 tastycake September 22, 2007 at 7:01 am

    My favorite poem is a Jack Prelutsky poem from The Random House Book of Poetry for Children.

    I’ve had it memorized since I fell in love with it as a six- or seven-year-old. Then I decided I wanted to write poems like Jack Prelutsky’s, so I started. I’ve since changed gears to focus on prose, but every so often I will sit down and write a poem for old time’s sake. It feels like home, like fresh bread, like a shabby and luxurious couch… it’s so comfortable.

  3. 3 Kelli September 22, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Here’s one of my all time favorite poems: A New Poet by Linda Pastan.

    I like the poem because it reminds me there are always new poets to discover who are alive and well and writing right now. One of my favorite things about poetry is discovering a poet who I’ve never heard of.

  4. 4 Beth Browne September 22, 2007 at 7:58 am

    My favorite poem is William Carlos Williams’ The Red Wheelbarrow

    I love this poem for its mystery and its simplicity. Originally trained as a photographer, I see the poem like a photograph, a crisp slice of life, from which much else can be derived.

  5. 5 Stephanie September 22, 2007 at 8:18 am

    How can I choose just one? I almost selected Emily Dickinson’s “I Died For Beauty,” but decided to opt for “The Four Quartets” by T.S. Eliot at the last minute.

    This poem reminds me that time is “unredeemable” and that I should strive to savor every single moment in my life. It’s the little things that matter – long walks with my family, snuggling with my little girl, writing from my heart, and enjoying the beauty of my surroundings.

  6. 6 Mary Jo C September 22, 2007 at 8:39 am

    I will show what an amatuer I am here! I LOVE Dr Suess and Shel Silverstein, the silliness! Deep poetry is lost on me…
    But of course I melt with lines from the romance master Shakespere and the lyrical rhythm of W B Yeats.

  7. 7 Meryl K. Evans September 22, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Oh my goodness, what a tough question. The funny thing is that I hated memorizing poems in school, but those poems stuck with me after all these years. “Eldorado” by Edgar Allan Poe of which I still know all the words. “The Highwayman” by Alfred Noyes (only a small part of it — the rest is gruesome), “If” by Rudyard Kipling and “All the World’s a Stage” by Shakespeare. I think these drew me in because their words just flow. “If” and “All the World’s…” have the most meaning as they reflect life. I also love Shel Silverstein’s stuff. The first poem I ever memorized was his “Captain Hook” — in 2nd grade for our play.

    I guess what these say about poetry in my life is that I’ve read very few poems since going to school. I don’t dabble much in poetry in terms of reading or writing them. The only time I ever write poetry is to celebrate a special birthday or anniversary. I wrote one for my husband’s 30th birthday and again for his 40th. I’d love to try my hand at greeting card writing, but just haven’t found the time to study and practice.

  8. 8 Cath September 22, 2007 at 9:36 am

    It’s hard to name a favorite, so I will just go with a poem that’s been on my mind lately: “To a Friend Whose Work Has Come to Nothing” by Yeats.

    When I pour myself into something I’ve written, and it’s rejected, I honestly feel like someone has kicked me in the gut. And when it’s something I’ve worked on for years, that’s even worse, isn’t it?

    I think of Yeats’ words…and I try again.

  9. 9 Heather Haapoja September 22, 2007 at 9:36 am

    I don’t have a favorite poem, but I do enjoy poetry that soothes, uplifts and inspires, as opposed to the dark and depressing. Reading or hearing the right poem at the right moment is good therapy. As a child, I adored reading and writing poetry. I still love to write in rhyme, especially for children, but I struggle when it comes to expressing deep down, gut feelings. I may need some more therapy. (grin) Thanks for the recommendations, everyone. I’m off to read…

  10. 10 Audra September 22, 2007 at 9:39 am

    When I was a kid, I fell in love with A.A. Milne including “Halfway Down”. I was the kid who found obscure spots like on a step and would ponder life and create my own worlds (probably why I write huh?)

    I don’t take the time to read poetry much anymore, but I do write it. I write poetry to express my emotions especially when I’m hurting. I also like to write poetry that shows people on the inside – the things they don’t want others to see.

    What does this say about the role of poetry in my life? I guess I like poetry’s ability to get in there and show life’s beauty and passion; pain and betrayal. It brings vulnerability in both the poet and the reader it touches.

    I definitely need to explore my own poetry as well as other poets much more than I do. I’d like to share this with my children, too. I guess I should bring out the A.A. Milne book and share the ones I fell in love with first. 🙂

  11. 11 Tricia Grissom September 22, 2007 at 9:56 am

    I’d have to go with Dorothy Parker’s “Indian Summer”. It says when she was young she wanted to please all the men she dated, but when she got older, she said if they didn’t like her the way she was then to hell with them.

    She’s one of my favorite poets – probably because she’s a smart ass -totally unlike mysef, of course.

  12. 12 Rose September 22, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Elizabeth Bishop’s Four Poems.
    Her poetry helps me to look at everyday objects and experiences with new appreciation and to see the complexity of what lies beneath the surface. As Philip Booth says of her – “Miss Bishop looks at, and into, the world with an eye so individual that to share her vision is – gratefully – to revise one’s own”. Poetry helps me to revise my vision. To borrow someone else’s eyes for awhile. And reminds me how to use my own.

  13. 13 marnini September 22, 2007 at 11:38 am

    Hands down my all time favorite Poem is -Nothing Gold Can Stay-By Robert Frost
    It has so much meat behind the words that you can interpret it in many ways. To me it represents our youth and how when we are young everything is possible. The older we get we lose dreams and convince ourselves that the possibilites we once thought were attainable are now impossible. So we look back at our youth and think why didn’t we enjoy it more.
    I think he symbolically used a tree to represent the human body. The older we get things start to change color or fall off all together(eg. Hair)
    I love poetry and have dabbled in it. This book sounds like a keeper

  14. 14 Laura September 22, 2007 at 11:51 am

    My favorite poem is The Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll. Despite the nonsense words, or perhaps because of it, the imagery is so vibrant. I can see the action in my mind. I actually have this poem posted inside a cupboard door, so that I can work at memorizing it each time I go for plates.

    I have a preference for epic poems. As a teen I read Shakespeare and Homer, for fun. (I have always been a bit of an eccentric reader). One of my favorites is Paradise Lost, by Milton. Again, the imagery is so real, and the cadence of the words is like music.

    Poetry for me is a release. Many times when I have been feeling down or depressed, I have written myself out of that mood. I have written other types of poems (even one for a Women’s Day event at my church), but my best poems are the ‘spurious verse’ written at my darkest moments.

  15. 15 Lorie September 22, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    My favorite poem of all time is “Fire and Ice” by Robert Frost. I’ve always enjoyed the contrasts in the poem and its simple structure. I think it speaks to my own preference for simplicity in poetry. While my English degree means I can dig for meaning with the best of them, I prefer a poem with a more straightforward meaning. On the rare occasions when I write poetry, I also tend toward the straightforward, although I don’t do it with nearly as much elegance as Frost.

  16. 16 Jeremy Voigt September 22, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    My favorite poem of the moment is “Eating the Peach” by Henri Cole from his new book BLACKBIRD & WOLF. Cole’s poems are beautiful, both contemporary and classic in their feel and while I read this poem months before the book came out in the New Yorker it haunted me enough that I felt a physical pang of excitement when I saw it in the book. It is my new memorization project.

  17. 17 Skila September 22, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    Hmmmm. Hard to narrow it down to one. But one of my current favorites is “I Write in the Laundromat” by Marcy Sheiner. About a mother’s quest to find the time and place to write. It reminds me to keep plugging on with the rest of my life, even though being a mom takes up most of my soul at the present. And maybe forever?

  18. 18 Bet September 22, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    I couldn’t possibly pick one favorite poem! I have different favorites depending on my mood, the time of year, and what’s going on in my life. One of my favorite fall poems is “The Seafarer”, which is an early Anglo-Saxon poem. It is full of loneliness, longing, and wisdom. I feel like I understand the poet on some level, and to feel that kind of connection with someone who lived over a thousand years ago is mind-boggling!

  19. 19 Darren Lipman September 22, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    I do not have a single favorite poem, now or of all time. The poetry I’ve read in literary journals has been beautiful and I’ve always enjoyed it, though few of them have ever had lasting effects on me that make me wish to call them my favorite.

    One poet whom I enjoy much, however, is Muriel Hoff. Her poetry speaks deeply of one’s personal relationship to G-d, and its truthfulness and ability to capture such extraordinary feelings in such eloquent words has always amazed me. Her poems have been featured on my congregation’s high-holiday programs for as long as I’ve been a member of it, and always they lift my spirit and set my mind towards heartfelt prayer.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

