Chicago Trip: Next Time I Need to Stay for a Week…

…and bring my family with me. 🙂 But I can honestly say I made the most of every moment. I was all over that city (even though the Red Line wasn’t running). It’s amazing what you can jam into 48 hours when you (kind of) know your way around.

Here’s a photo of me and my college roommate and good friend, Susan Marshall Abraham. Sue is a pilates instructor, which is why she is in such fabulous shape and looks so great.

chris-sue.gif

Here’s some photos from the reading that kicked off Columbia College’s Creative Nonfiction Week. It was great to see my old, advisor, Randy Albers, who is now the chairperson of the Department, to hear how the program has grown, and to hear the awesome readings.

Here’s Arnie Bernstein reading from his gripping work-in-progress, “Killers are Made, Not Born” about the Bath, Michigan School Bombing in 1927, which was the first known incident of terrorism in schools. Whew! It was intense.

arnie-bernstein-reading.gif

Here’s Molly Each reading from her hilarious essay titled, “Plan B.”

molly-each-reading.gif

The student readings were excellent (and often funny) and a good time was had by all…including Mary Jo Campbell, who showed up for the event and brought along her mom and sister. Thanks for coming, Mary Jo! (She commented in the last post, if you’d like to hear her official review.)

And here’s a photo of me with my graduate school advisor, Randy Albers. He knows I think so, but I think it’s okay to say it again: Thanks, Randy. You’re the greatest advisor a writer could ask for.

christina-katz-randy-albers.gif

I wish I could have stayed for the entire event! Thanks Columbia College, Chicago’s Fiction, Journalism and English departments for a fabulous kick-off event for Creative Nonfiction Week 2007.

Oh! And a couple things I almost forgot…

Amazing African food was catered at the event by Tricia’s Tasty Treats. Yum!

And…I did make that trip to Thousand Waves Spa (on Belmont). It’s the one I was raving about here.

Home again, home again, as soon as I get picked up at the airport. Can’t wait to see my messy home and sweet family!

4 Responses to “Chicago Trip: Next Time I Need to Stay for a Week…”


  1. 1 Megan October 15, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    So glad the trip was wonderful! And next time I ever get to Chicago, I WILL visit that spa! 😉

  2. 2 sagecohen October 16, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Wow! I feel vicariously refreshed and inspired reading this. When I return to NYC where I was in graduate school, I get a similar jolt of energy. Turning our sails into familiar wind can add an exciting momentum! Thanks for sharing yours!

  3. 3 Marina October 17, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Hi, Christina!
    This is Marina – we spoke briefly after the kick-off evening of the CNFW at Columbia. I am glad I’ve discovered your blog – lots of practical and insightful advice.
    Thank you.
    I hope you come back to Columbia again. 🙂
    Sincerely,
    Marina.

  4. 4 The Writer Mama October 17, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    Hi Marina,

    Thanks for coming by the blog.

    I hope I come back too! And soon.

    Happy writing!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,654 Visitors

