Hard to Concentrate with Disasters Ablaze?

So, I thought, What can I do? Don’t you just wish you could DO something?

So I found this information at www.redcross.org and I’m sharing it here, for anyone who feels the same way today:

All American Red Cross disaster assistance is free, made possible by voluntary donations of time and money from the American people. You can help the victims of thousands of disasters across the country each year, disasters like the California wildfires, by making a financial gift to the American Red Cross Disaster Relief Fund, which enables the Red Cross to provide shelter, food, counseling and other assistance to victims of disaster. The American Red Cross honors donor intent. If you wish to designate your donation to a specific disaster please do so at the time of your donation. Call 1-800-REDCROSS or 1-800-257-7575 (Spanish). Contributions to the Disaster Relief Fund may be sent to your local American Red Cross chapter or to the American Red Cross, P.O. Box 37243, Washington, DC 20013. Internet users can make a secure online contribution by visiting www.redcross.org.

If you are snug and cozy and unthreatened in your home right now, please reach for your wallet and make even a modest donation (the minimum is $5.00). If everyone with a secure home gave a little, it would truly help a lot!

I just gave and I feel better already.

5 Responses to “Hard to Concentrate with Disasters Ablaze?”


  1. 1 JC Carvill October 24, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    I do find it hard to concentrate…there is so much going on in the world today…fires, war, the economy…I don’t know sometimes how I get up in the morning. But may be if I can help someone I will feel better…thanks!

  2. 2 Megan October 24, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Hi Christina, We’re evacuated and I don’t have your email address with me, but we fled to.. Portland! We’re staying with my brother-in-law near PSU. We’re here at least through Sunday. Give me a call on my cell if you’d like to meet for a quick playdate or something (?!). My cell is 760-xxx-xxxx. (Please delete after you’ve gotten this — sorry, just had five minutes and can’t think of another way to contact you!) 🙂 Megan P.S. Bought an affirmations book at the amazing Powell’s this morning!!

  3. 3 Mrs. Jones October 24, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    Christina:

    Thank you for leading your readers to help any way they can.

    I wanted to share some thoughts for those not familiar with our little bit of paradise. Our recovery effort is being compared to other disaster situations, which doesn’t quite seem fair. See, this is what San Diego is all about. The World’s Largest Cul-de-Sac, we call it. Even with all the ash and being locked indoors with a full house, we feel blessed to be here.

  4. 4 Karrie October 25, 2007 at 5:53 am

    Best wishes to you and your family, Megan. I will think of you as I go through my day and donate to Red Cross.

  5. 5 marnini October 25, 2007 at 6:47 am

    My parents house caught on fire when I was in high-school. It was because of the Red Cross that we were able to get some clothes to replace the ones we lost. They were on the scene immediately and I will always remember their generosity.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,655 Visitors

