A Little Bit Sick

Phooey. I don’t like being sick.

I kicked off the week feeling great! No more presentations for months. A chance to regroup, to write deeply, to NEST.

I love to nest at holiday time.

Then it began to creep into me. First just a little stuffy nose. Then a morning cough.

We call it “the crud” here, because that’s a good name for it.

But this time, the crud has me by the lungs…again. I was hit hard by something like this in the Spring at the kick off of my tour.

Back that took me down quick and sharp, like a tackle. (I played rugby in college, so I’ve been tackled plenty.)

I felt it coming this time and I’m staving it off as best I can. But, unfortunately, I think it’s winning.

Stupid crud.

If I have a burst of energy in the morning, I will catch up on things. Things like mailing books to people, making sure deductible expenses make it into the bin where they belong, returning library books, and getting ready for company this week. My husband’s grandmother is coming for Halloween. Won’t that be fun?

It will be fun, as soon as I kick this crud. Otherwise, I will have the slowly sinking feeling that I’ve been having. Crud. Pulling me into carpet. Like an undertow.

Watch out for it. Those cute little people called “kids” bring it home from school on their hands and in their hair and maybe even in their backpacks.

At the Fall Festival last night the school was positively thrumming with the crud. It was coursing through the halls like blood through veins.

I could hear them rubbing their grubby little miniscule mitts together. So many victims all dressed up for Halloween’s that they could ruin.

“Stupid crud. I can’t stand the stuff,” she said coughing in a raspy voice…and then she slunk off to bed.

4 Responses to “A Little Bit Sick”


  1. 1 Marianne October 28, 2007 at 4:05 am

    Being sick takes on a whole new meaning when you have a family! I love taking care of my kids when they’re sick–clean sheets, Seven-Up, chicken soup, books, and naps–it’s a lot of effort, obviously, but I remember how it felt when my own mom fussed over me.

    I’m still educating my family on how to take care of me when I’m sick! The whole concept seems impenetrable to them at this point.

    Recently I swore to my husband that this was my year for the Flu Shot. He peered at me over his cup of coffee, eyebrows raised, and said, “Are you an at-risk population?”

    “Yes,” I said, smacking my palm on the kitchen table. “I’m the mother of two children whose husband is so busy taking care of everyone else with the flu that he can’t make it home to take care of me!”

    Tim laughed and looked sheepish. He’s an internist, so Flu season is a busy time for him–especially with his older patients, for whom Flu can be deadly. I don’t resent his chosen career. But I’m a freelance writer working from home, trying to meet deadlines and the schoolbus all at the same time. The Flu is deadly for me, too–just not in the same way.

    I remember the last time I had the Flu. I was standing in front of the toaster with a high fever, trying to remember what went into this device. Toast. Yes, that was it! Now, where do I put it in? This slot on the top? Yes, of course!

    I called a friend and asked her to pick Claire up for preschool. A person who can’t run the toaster shouldn’t be driving a vehicle.

    I have learned that the best thing I can do is take care of myself all of the time–rest well, eat well, exercise, play. It helps me work harder and get sick less. But when I get sick, I try to do only the essential things and put my feet up as much as possible. I ask for help if I need it. I used to try to tough my way through viral illness like the Flu and that never worked! I try to give my body what it needs and pretty soon I’m on the mend.

    I’m not sure the family knows exactly what to do yet when Mom’s sick. But we’ll keep working on it.

  2. 2 Heather October 28, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Ugh. It’s going around here, too. Hope you get over it soon!

  3. 3 Laura October 29, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    I recommend warm ginger ale, fuzzy slippers, a toasty fleece blanket and a comfy chair. Then add in a good book or old movie, and don’t move for several hours. Then when just before you head for bed, try my grandfather’s recipe for cough syrup… (keep in mind I don’t drink, but I do make this: hot tea with a healthy dollop of honey, with a half shot of something alcoholic. My grandfather recommended whiskey, but I prefer schnapps. This is the only alcohol kept in my house..just for this purpose! It works.

    Get well soon!

  4. 4 sagecohen October 29, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    I have the crud, too! Raising a cruddy glass to you! xo


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,755 Visitors

