Ear-ly to Bed, Ear-ly to Rise: Ear Ache Aids You May Not Know About

You know that feeling when your kids are sick and you get NO sleep and then the next day you are expected to function as though everything is perfectly normal.

It’s no fun for anyone.
I was reminded recently when Samantha had to be whisked to the emergency room for the first time for ear pain. (I can’t wait to get that bill.)

Turns out, she was fine. But it was another one of those nobody gets sleep kind of nights.

I think my husband had three or four of them last week, poor guy, between Samantha’s ears (we were up again last night with her) and the dogs.

I haven’t mentioned the dogs lately have I? That’s because they have fallen into my husband’s care and I don’t want to jinx it. (Shhh.)

They will be turning one on the 25th and I’ll be sure to post a photo of them. They are great dogs. Very high-energy (like some others around here) but also very sweet.

Two nights ago, though, Izzy got his tag, which was attached to his collar (!!!) caught in the slats of his kennel. It could have choked him, but luckily it didn’t. PHEW!

Luckily, it’s Thanksgiving break. So we can all catch up on our sleep and hopefully Samantha can finally kick this cough/ear crud she’s had for weeks.

Normally, I don’t like to give parenting advice because we all have our diverse points of view, as we should. However, for those of us who do not eschew Western medicine completely, I’d like to mention three earache-related aids, so we can all get more sleep.

Use them, if it fits for you. Otherwise, please don’t have a cow. (Moms did this on the Writer’s Digest forum when my article excerpt from Writer Mama came out, because I mentioned–gasp!–letting your child watch a television show in one of my tips.

I’m just now recovering from the trauma of that even though it was about a year ago. I’d never experienced the mob-mentality “Let’s get her,” like that. One kind fellow writer who was leading the witch hunt suggested that maybe I should get a houseplant instead of being a mother.

Because clearly if you allow your child to watch any television you don’t deserve to be a mother, right?

Naturally, I was horrified. Apparently, I am still horrified. If she is reading this blog (which I’m sure she isn’t), I hope she likes Western medicine. Personally, I find it to come in handy once in a while. At any rate, I’d like to dedicate this post to her and her lynch-mates.

Aids for Ear Aches you may not know about:

1. Autodex Otic Solution
We were given this at the emergency room. A few drops in each ear and ear pain goes away. Amazing, right? This medicine is by prescription only. Where has this stuff been all of Samantha’s life? I don’t care what’s in it. I’m going to keep using it. (Take that plant lady!) Why didn’t anyone tell me about it sooner?

2. Natural Antibiotic Ear Drops
We have occasionally beaten early onset of ear pain with an over the counter anti biotic (I think, who knows though, really). You’ll find it at the drug store with the rows and rows of other products for ear aches. Mine contains grapefruit seed extract and tea tree oil.

3. Fever All brand suppositories
Couldn’t live without these things. My daughter has quirks and among them is her aversion to taking medicine (the plant lady feels smug now). The best way to beat an over-active gag reflex that we’ve found is acetaminophen suppositories. Woe is us in the middle of the night the box runs out. The doc at the emergency room said my five-year-old could take up to 300 mg. (The night she was screaming, we’d only given her a third of that.)

Disclaimer: This is sharing, not medical advice. Please consult your family doctor to determine the best choice for your family.

Happy sleeping through the night! We’ve all been there, in the trenches, trying to scape through the sleeplessness and our children’s pain. I wish the plant lady could have remembered them…before she came after me.

5 Responses to “Ear-ly to Bed, Ear-ly to Rise: Ear Ache Aids You May Not Know About”


  1. 1 Marjorie November 19, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Bah. Don’t worry about those nosy busybodies. They’re probably wallowing in guilt because they occasionally (!) do the same dastardly deed when they’re too tired to care. Personally, I think it’s your own business how you raise your kids (so long as there’s no physical or emotional abuse, natch), and no one should make you feel guilty because you want some time for yourselves.

    Moms here in America get way too much blame for so many things, and oftentimes, they’re their own worst enemies, excoriating each other when they should be supporting each other. Frankly, I think the argument is classist anyway — a lot of moms can’t afford to get even really cheap babysitting, so the TV may be the only option. I know my single immigrant mom (raising three kids) had to rely on it more than once, and I think we turned out pretty well.

    By the way, love your book, and I’m not even a mama! (Although I am a writer.)

    Cheers,
    Marjorie

  2. 2 Melissa R. Garrett November 19, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Luckily, my children are not prone to ear infections (knock on wood) but thanks for the advice. I felt compelled to comment because of what you wrote in your book about letting kids watch TV. When I read that section, I thought, “Thank goodness! A mother who lets her kids watch TV.” I live in Ithaca, NY, a very hippie-ish sort of “green” college town where I often feel I am in the minority for owning a television. I *love* evening TV. It is my vice. And although I don’t let my kids sit plastered in front of it, I do let them watch some. In fact, my youngest (almost 2.5) is enamored with Noggin’s Wow Wow Wubbzy!, and I have it on digital recorder. I promise, it’s what allows me to get a little bit of work done each day.

  3. 3 Megan November 19, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Ugh, so sorry to hear about S’s continuing crud and ER visit (double ugh). We should chat late-night, as we’re up with our S’s continuing crud, too! (sigh.) May your holiday be restful. Hang in there.

  4. 4 Mary Jo C. November 20, 2007 at 7:17 am

    Wow! What is going on with the negative comments and opinions?! Hope Clark is going through the same thing, per her latest editorial on FFW newsletter.

    I am appalled that someone (especially a mom)would use their liberal freedom to voice such a nasty comment, and over TV?! Give me a break! And when someone judges your parenting, well, “them’s fightin’ words!”

    But, as writers, we can channel that frustration and negative energy into streams of powerful words on the page, the pen is mightier than the sword, eh?

    And, Christina, I sympathize with the earaches – they’re the worst! Thanks so much for the meds tips!

    Enjoy turkey day!
    ~ Mary Jo

  5. 5 Renee Roberson November 20, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    If letting your child watch t.v. makes you a bad mother, then I am the worst mother in the world! 🙂

    I felt sort of like you guys last night. My husband and I kept going back and forth between the kids’ bedrooms dealing with my poor daughter’s nightmares and my son’s coughing fits. I just wanted to throw everybody in our king size bed and just snuggle! I might just have to next time, even if it’s not high on my husband’s list!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,567 Visitors

