Rocky Mountain High

If you’ve ever listened to the songs of John Denver than you are probably familiar with the phrase, “Rocky Mountain High.” I am writing to your from six thousand feet above sea level so this variety of high fits for me today.

There was a time, especially during my roaring twenties, when I was enticed by other kinds of elevated states but today natural highs suit me just fine. The joy of snuggling with my daughter, my husband’s hand on mine while he drives, the satisfaction of a student’s insight into her own process, lunch with a good friend, publication of my words, buying my mother-in-law a web cam for Hannukah, a message from a reader, the personal satisfaction of professional growth, the concentration of creatives in the town where my husband and I met, the warmth of a home full of pets, the lush landscape of Oregon, and in sharp contrast, the stark Southwest.

You gotta love a Rocky Mountain high. There’s really nothing else like it.

Today, we’ll take Samantha to the North Pole after lunch at Adam’s Mountain Café. We’ll stroll the shops in Manitou Springs, the town where my husband and I met.

Maybe we’ll drink some mineral water from the springs.

I know we’ll relax…

4 Responses to “Rocky Mountain High”


  1. 1 Stephanie November 20, 2007 at 9:19 am

    Sounds nice! We’re heading to a cabin in the mountains with some friends for the Thanksgiving holiday – and I can’t wait!

  2. 2 a writer's woolgatherings November 20, 2007 at 9:48 am

    My grandparents took me the the North Pole when I was five years old. For years, I was convinced that I had actually gone (never mind that it was summer!). I told all of my friends, and not one of them believed me. In my sophomore year of college, a friend and I drove to Colorado Springs for Spring Break. Imagine my surprise when I pulled out a few travel brochures and found an advertisement for the North Pole! It finally dawned on me that THAT is where I had gone!

  3. 3 Linda Harris November 20, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Welcome to Colorado! I’m just a few miles away from the places you described. I hope you enjoy them. Just don’t get chilled by the storm front moving in.

  4. 4 Megan November 20, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    Lovely post! ENJOY…


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,755 Visitors

