Things are a little quiet around here…

I’m laying low, working on book two.

Remember, the top-secret one? I’ve been very good about not talking about it. VERY good.

I plan on keeping it that way until after the New Year, so if I sound, oh I don’t know, maybe a little cagey, here’s why:

Talking uses up precious writing energy for me to talk about my next book. I wish I had heeded this more when I was working on Writer Mama. I’d talk, talk, talk about it and then wonder why I couldn’t focus on writing. Talking can dissipate the words…

I’m on a tighter deadline than I was last time. So needless to say, the less I talk, the better! The second time around is so much less full of ANXIETY. The first book is hard, hard, hard. Not because the writing is hard. I knew how to write. It was the combination of nerves and excitement that often rendered me…useless. Just moan softly if you know the an anxiety cocktail of which I speak.

And lest you think that the all the hush-hush means I’m going away or I’m not just as committed as I was on Writer Mama, not true! I’m just immersed in the writing and I LOVE being immersed in it.

So much so that it’s tough to come out and play sometimes.

In the meantime, we’ve got an awesome Writer Mama Ezine launching in January. I’ll be back in classes come mid-February. And my second book will be out by the holidays next year.

Can you believe it? Yahoo! Back in tunnel I go.

Happy holidays!

4 Responses to “Things are a little quiet around here…”


  1. 1 Stephanie December 3, 2007 at 8:40 am

    I completely understand your need for silence. Somehow if I talk about my writing, the passion dies. It’s a weird phenomenon…

  2. 2 Alyson December 3, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    That’s me moaning softly, ruefully right along next to you. The tricky thing is I’ve learnt already that talking undermines my process, but there are so many darned people who HAVE to ask…’So, how’s the next book going? What’s it about?’ Some even go so far as to roll their eyes at me for not wanting to let them into what I’m doing. Like it can’t be that hard, what’s the big deal. I get a real nice smile on me then, and my teeth grind another 3mms away. The worst person is my Dad he never fails to ask…’So, how’s the book going?’ and when I finally blew up and told him it was the worst question you could ask a writer, he came back with ‘Oh, well, how many books have you sold this week?’. OK aneurism averted, thanks for the opportunity to weep! 🙂

  3. 3 Kristen King December 4, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Congrats on your nomination to the Top 10 Blogs for Writers!

    Kristen

  4. 4 sagecohen December 5, 2007 at 2:43 am

    Soft moans…escalating to Woo-hoos!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

