Strep Throat on my Birthday…Phooey!

No wonder I was so whiny yesterday. 😉

Actually, I can always tell when I’m sick because the simplest tasks, like carrying my daughter to the car (don’t do this too much anymore) or going to the hair salon feel so dang hard that I am reduced to tears. That’s usually the first indicator that…uh-oh…something is not right.

But come on, I’ve had three infections this year. Sheesh. And they all just came outta nowhere.

I woke up with a slightly sore throat yesterday and by lunch time I was a wreck.

Okay, I’ve been working very hard. Probably too hard. Ironically I just solicited more help for myself on many fronts before I got sick. And then, just when I’m grooving on book two, Whammo!

Go figure, right. Well the good news is that, so far, I’m the only one is the family who is sick. Don’t you just hate that when everyone gets sick at once or in quick succession? You start to feel like your entire family is subsisting in some alternate murky reality from the rest of the world.

I’m adding some health and life balance goals to my professional goals for 2008. In fact, we have a family visioning board that we are all contributing to, so I’ll have to add some healthy images to it.

But once you’re sick, you’re pretty much sick. And on that note, I think I’ll go lie down.

4 Responses to “Strep Throat on my Birthday…Phooey!”


  1. 1 Rebecca Laffar-Smith December 5, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    I hope you feel better soon. I’ve found when I get sick the only thing to do is give up and go spend the day snuggled up in bed with plenty of water to drink. Since I’ve started doing this instead of trying to force myself through illness I’ve found I recover much faster and can get back to normal without risking relapses or lingering affects. I hope you have the opportunity to do the same. It’s times like this that you can really lean on your family and see with pride how they step up to take care of you and themselves. Get well soon!

  2. 2 Linda Harris December 6, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    So sorry you’re sick on your birthday! But it gives you a very legitimate excuse for doing as little as possible. Take care and get well.

  3. 3 Melissa Garrett December 6, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Do little, and get well soon!

  4. 4 Laura December 7, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    I hope you start feeling better soon! Try hot tea with honey (and maybe a half shot of something..hey, it’s my grampa’s recipe!)…sooths the throat & helps you sleep. Just try to rest as much as you can, and get well. We need you!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,649 Visitors

