Riding Out the Rest of the Year

Love and Murder by Jodi Picoult

The past couple of months, probably since the Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway, I got pretty loaded down with work commitments. And it’s really hard to create well when I get bogged down.

It’s also easy to get in survival mode, which is what I did, putting my classes, appearances and book writing preparation at the top of the list and just doing the best I could.

And although I did a nice job laying the groundwork for 2008—I have a second book deal, an awesome new zine and more professional opportunities than ever—apparently I needed to be reminded that I am not Wonder Woman.

Besides, I don’t think Wonder Woman had any kids, right?

Survival mode is not sustainable. I try to teach intuitive, sustainable business practices that come naturally. Unfortunately, in my enthusiasm, often for my own ideas, I overdid it.

And I didn’t have enough help because I didn’t ask for it.

I’m pretty sure, this week, my body has been letting me know, in no uncertain terms, that it does not take kindly to my default survival mode.

I am always so humbled when my health up and quits on me. I am reminded that being in alignment is everything and when I’m out of alignment the whole shebang can just collapse.

I think that times of illness or setback are intended to help us get back into alignment on all levels, whatever that means to us. I’m glad it’s the holiday season, so I can turn inward and reflect and even rest a little.

Sure, I have plenty of work to do, but for the remainder of the month, I can ride out the efforts that I’ve been pouring forth all year. They could take me way past the New Year.

And I’ve solicited some extra help. Hooray! I have a friend and a neighbor watching Samantha alternating afternoons and a friend and former student assisting me with my workload. Everything feels so much more manageable.

Manageable is a good rule of thumb for writer mamas. I do a lot already. I think I’ll coast for awhile and not go chasing any more of my inspirations off into the sunset…at least not until 2008.

And then I probably will. But I’ll take care to honor my limits, listen to my body, and be sure to take time for rest and fun.

What did you learn this year? Inquiring writer mamas want to know…

P.S. I may not be Wonder Woman but isn’t it cool that Jodi Picoult (a mom) can write novels and several WW comic books? The image above is the hardcover edition of Wonder Woman: Love and Murder by Jodi Picoult. Available at fine booksellers everywhere.

5 Responses to “Riding Out the Rest of the Year”


  1. 1 Rebecca Laffar-Smith December 7, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    I hope the holiday month gives you that boost of energy and enthusiasm to push you on into the New Year! It can be exhausting to be inspired. It is one of the drawbacks of being a writer. Sometimes we’ll fall so deeply into a project that we don’t surface for months on end. When the creativity cycle saps or we wrap up that project everything seems to just fall apart.

    I’ve often wondered if we live on two hours sleep for a month would the world let us sleep seven days straight to catch up on the sleep debt? Of course not, it’s hard enough to get kids to sleep past seven in the morning on the weekend. 😉 But women have remarkable coping capabilities. It’s how we survive having newborns.

  2. 2 Marjorie December 7, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    I’m in the same boat you’re in at the moment. This is the 2nd time in a month that I’ve come down with a horrible flu; it’s very unusual for me, as normally I only get sick once or twice a year, if even that much. I’ve been super-busy juggling writing, a one-day-a-week office job, and the holidays, not to mention keeping on top of our household, so I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that my body would rebel.

    Yes, it’s so important that we take good care of ourselves! The whole Wonder Woman dilemma is so difficult to overcome, especially in this day and age when we’re bombarded with images and stories of women who “have it all,” yet what’s often not written about is what DOES get sacrificed (health, time with family and friends, sanity!) when they try to chase after everything in their lives. I remember feeling betrayed once when I read about the depression that Terry Tempest Williams went through as she tried to be Miss Perfection. I had always admired her for her achievements and marveled at how she juggled everything in her life. When I read about her depression, I pitied her at the same time that I was angry at her, as I felt that she was partly responsible for the perpetuation of the Superwoman Myth that has us believe that we can have it all without sacrificing a darn thing.

    Do take care of yourself! I love your blog and your book and look forward to more of your work in the near future. Have a wonderful Christmas!

    Cheers,
    Marjorie

  3. 3 The Writer Mama December 8, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Thanks, Marjorie and Rebecca. It’s a good reminder to turn inward and reflect. Since it’s been a slow recovering, I’m doing my best to listen to my body…and rest.

    Happy holidays to you!

  4. 4 Eileen December 8, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Hello Christina, Always I enjoy your blog and visit often. Have to say *thank you* for being so real about the battery needing to be recharged. Along that line, I’m learning the value of a sabbath rest – regularly and whenever it works, for me it’s on Mondays. Also there’s so much we can learn from nature – now at rest, under a blanket of snow (well, it’s in the forecast anyway) quietly recharging for the next growing season. Cycles and seasons and “a time for everything…” All simply by way of reminder… 😉 EE

  5. 5 Dabbling Mum February 11, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Of course I found your post months later. But I had the same thing happen over the holidays and had to cut way back on work and busyness. Why must we women always assume the task of Wonder Woman? Gotta wonder what God had in store when He implemented those chromosones in us.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,866 Visitors

