Thank you Barnes & Noble, Clackamas Town Center

I have been wanting to do a writer mama panel for a long time. So I invited Chelsea Cain, Elizabeth Rusch and Heather Sharfeddin and we did a panel. Diana Page Jordan moderated and she was terrific. The whole experience was altogether enjoyable. I wish I had recorded it!

We’ve all recently published very different kinds of books and yet, despite our individual approaches to process, we seemed to agree on the following:

Childcare is important.

Supportive spouses are key.

Seeking a tribe of believing mirror fellow writers is critical (especially because they may not be the folks closest to you, that last part came from me).

Thanks, to Page Jordan from Barnes & Noble for hosting! And Jerry Isom and Bill Johnson from Willamette Writers!

Diana Jordan, Christina Katz, Elizabeth Rusch, Heather Sharfeddin, Chelsea Cain

Here we are. I will definitely be organizing another one near Mother’s Day. Thanks everyone for coming!

Barnes & Noble Clackamas Town Center, Children’s area

Meanwhile, when she wasn’t in the audience, Samantha enjoyed the children’s section.

She was also pleased to receive a copy of Elizabeth Rusch’s A Day with No Crayons (Rising Moon), one of four books she published this year along with the Oregon Book Award Nominated, Will It Blow? Become a Volcano Detective at Mount St. Helen’s (Sasquatch), The Planet Hunter, The Story Behind What Happened to Pluto (Rising Moon), and Girls Tennis, Conquering the Court.

All in all, it was a good day.

3 Responses to “Thank you Barnes & Noble, Clackamas Town Center”


  1. 1 Abbey December 9, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    Oooh – I think you should plan one for the Seattle area, too! I wanted to try and come down today, but it was just too much with other commitments. Glad it went well!

    Abbey

  2. 2 Rebecca Laffar-Smith December 9, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    It looks like a wonderful event. Did anyone happen to record the panel? I’d love to hear what was talked about.

  3. 3 Laura December 10, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Sounds like it was an amazing event….I just hope someday you venture further east…like to Michigan? We have a great Barnes & Noble here….I go there to write in the cafe, and of course, to read! That’s where I first discovered your book!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,571 Visitors

