New Year’s Resolution #1: The “E-” Word

I was going to do a list of resolutions for 2008, but I think I’ll just share them throughout the month, as I put them into action.

You know how I love action. 🙂

On New Year’s Eve day I began resolution #1. I’ve been getting ready for a couple weeks now and wouldn’t you know, other folks have been pitching in too. So it must be a good idea.

I’m talking, of course, about the only “e-” word that I didn’t indulge in enough in 2007. That’s right…exercise.

As a result, I have never been so heavy. Well, if you don’t count when I was pregnant with Samantha, which I really do not think should count.

I know many of you know what I’m talking about. Sitting on one’s rear end up to eight hours a day doesn’t tend to burn lots of calories.

I need to lose about twenty pounds and I don’t have a lot of interest in dieting. So here’s what I’m doing.

I’m taking one part Oprah Show and adding one part mini-trampoline. At four p.m. Monday-Friday I’m adding me in my new workout pants (the ones my parents gave me for Christmas as a not-so-subtle hint) and bouncing, jogging, or twisting for at least thirty minutes.

I get motivation to work out, inspiration to keep me going, and the payoff of feeling good during and after.

Now that’s win-win-win. What are you doing for exercise in 2008, writer mama?

10 Responses to “New Year’s Resolution #1: The “E-” Word”


  1. 1 Renee Roberson January 1, 2008 at 7:54 am

    I’m right there with you Christina! I never knew becoming a professional writer would cause me to pack on the pounds. I have about ten to fifteen pounds I could stand to lose myself. So today, I will plop the kids in their wagon and we are going for a nice, long walk around the neighborhood!

  2. 2 Lis Garrett ~ a writer's woolgatherings January 1, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    While I don’t need to exercise to lose weight, I need to exercise to get FIT. Walking up and down the stairs and playing outside leaves me winded, and I am simply TOO young to be out of breath. For the month of January, I will walk on the treadmill for 15 min each day. In February, I will up the goal. Each month will add a bit more, and so on . . .

    Good luck to us all!

  3. 3 Stephanie January 1, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    I’ve been running 3-4 times a week. December’s been my toughest month is terms of motivation though. Hopefully, this month (January) will be easier…

  4. 4 Merry January 1, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I have the same problem going on here – though it’s part diet (in the rush to get the kids ready for their day and fed I sometimes forget breakfast myself and then my metabolism is all screwed up) My goal is to make sure I eat a small breakfast, even if it’s just a piece of fruit, so that I don’t snack on something completely terrible mid morning… I’m also trying out a new Pilates tape to go with my regular exercises.

    Let us know how the jumping is going, that sounds like more fun than a workout tape!!

    Happy New Year!

  5. 5 marnini January 1, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I always loved Weight Watcher’s. I felt like I could eat tons of food and still lose weight. I’m pregnant right now so I will have to put that on the back burner for a bit.

    P.S. Got your book for Christmas. I’m really enjoying it.

    Thanks, Maribeth:)

    Happy New Year!

  6. 6 Pattie January 1, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    I joined Curves last January and it really helps me stay motivated to work out. Then, I got a job there mid-November, so the pressure’s on to keep up with the workouts…and it’s actually harder for me to do this when working there, ironically. The month of January is all about recultivating that habit for myself.

    Now getting into the habit of writing every day, well, that’s the second habit I want to recultivate…….

  7. 7 Jen Schile January 1, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I’ll be attending and teaching Jazzercise, my favorite workout. A great place to go to get out of my house and see others, the kids get to play at a nice daycare for one hour, and it’s my one chance to dance and burn calories all at once. It’s not your mother’s workout! Happy New Year.

  8. 8 Besu January 2, 2008 at 10:20 am

    We joined a gym back in August and have been dutiful about going 3-4 times a week. Mind you, it’s hard to keep that up during the holidays, especially when the gym childcare is closed half the day! We would have gone to work out on New Year’s Eve if the childcare had been open. I’m by no means an athlete, but I love feeling strong and seeing the changes in my own body. It’s good for both of us to have a brief retreat from the temperamental toddler, too. I use my time on the elliptical to work on writing ideas.

  9. 9 The Writer Mama January 2, 2008 at 10:49 am

    It’s great to hear everyone chime in!

    So far the Orpah-carrot is working really well.

    Even when I was late to my workout yesterday, it’s so easy to jump into my workout clothes and jump on the trampoline that I didn’t miss it.

    So far, my biggest challenge is dealing with getting choked up while jogging. That’s tough. I might have to switch to “Ellen” during intense shows like those that have been on the past couple days.

    I’ll tell you what, though, watching Oprah is very inspirational. And who can’t use more of that?

    Exercise on, mamas! I’m determined to drop twenty pounds by bathing suit season.

  10. 10 Linda Harris January 2, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Pattie, I also work out at Curves. I joined over a year and a half ago. But I’m stuck–can’t lose any weight, can’t get rid of the middle-age tummy bulge. So I’m upping my workouts to 4 a week. My goal for 2008 is to work out at least 16 times a month. (But the weight isn’t as much a concern as the body fat percentage–not good!)


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

