Winner of my One Year Blogoversary Book & The Writer Mama 2008 Scholarships

My forthcoming book!Okay, the winner of a signed copy of my book, Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids (Writer’s Digest Books) is…

“Abbey”

Congratulations, Abbey! Send me your shipping address at “writer mama at earthlink dot net” and I’ll ship your signed copy this week!

See? It pays to visit this blog on the weekend and comment! Thanks for participating!

Okay, it’s time to talk about my new 2008 Writer Mama Class Scholarship Program.

This will not be the official post, because it will take me a few days to get that written (I learned my lesson when I did the giveaway rules—be very specific!).

But I can go ahead and make the announcement: I will give away one full scholarship for each Writing and Publishing the Short Stuff class that I teach this year to a writer mama, who qualifies and applies.

That’s at least four scholarships this year worth $175 each! Yahoo!

I will announce the scholarship rules one month before each class begins and accept applications for only one week. (So that starts on January 13th for the next class.)

I’ll announce the scholarship participant two weeks before class beings, which is about the same time I start collecting preliminary info from class members.

Sound good? Then stay tuned!

5 Responses to “Winner of my One Year Blogoversary Book & The Writer Mama 2008 Scholarships”


  1. 1 Mary Jo C. January 8, 2008 at 11:23 am

    How exciting!!!! I have this on my list for 2008, though I’ve been trying to figure out where the tuition money would come from…

    Now’s my chance!

  2. 2 Besu January 8, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    The scholarship sounds wonderful. I would love to take your classes, but being a stay-at-home-mom, well, the budget is tight. I’m eager to find out the details of your give away.

  3. 3 Stephanie January 8, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Oh, I’m excited! Thanks for offering this opportunity!

  4. 4 Kate January 9, 2008 at 7:18 am

    That sounds like a wonderful opportunity. I’ll keep an eye out for the official post and application procedure.

  5. 5 Teia Collier January 11, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Sounds great! I’m looking forward to the scholarship opportunity, as for comfort food fast — I’m loving Nigella Lawson’s new cookbook, Nigella Express. It is filled with recipes that are easy to prepare, taste great and bring a smile to my hubby and daughter’s faces.

    The Banana Butterscotch Muffins are fast and fabulous, we sub dark chocolate chunks and add vanilla at my house though. I also enjoy the Mellow Meatballs and the curries are easy and delicious too.

    But one of my own that gets good reviews is my Black-Eyed Pea Soup.

    2 tablespoons olive oil
    1 medium sized onion chopped
    1/2 green bell pepper chopped
    1 carrot chopped
    2 big cloves of garlic, chopped
    3 links of sweet Italian turkey sausage, casings removed to make about a 1 cup of meat
    1/2 lb lean ground beef (or add another link of sausage)

    Heat oil on medium heat in soup pot. Add garlic, onion, and meat. Brown and cook together until sausage and beef is done and broken up into small, dime sized pieces. Add carrots and bell pepper. Stir well.

    2 chicken boullion cubes, plus 4 cups water or 1 box chicken stock
    1 small red chille diced (or 1/2 to 1 tsp of red pepper flakes)
    1 tablespoon dried Italian seasoning
    1 can black eye peas drained
    1 chopped white potato (1/2 inch pieces)
    1 chopped sweet potato (1/2 inch pieces)
    black pepper to taste

    Add to meat mixture and cook over medium low heat until potatoes are done. Serve with cornbread or thick toast to sop up juices.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,867 Visitors

