Resolution Two: Be More Like a Housewife from the Fifties

Okay, obviously I’m being a little tongue in cheek about this but bear with me.

One of my goals for 2008 is to cook more tasty home-cooked meals, to keep our place cleaner, and to keep all of our personal records in good order.

I work hard on my career but sometimes things get out of balance on the home-front. In 2007, we spent a record amount of money (for us) on take-out, eating out, and—yep, you guessed it—Starbucks.

What’s the solution? We let our Costco membership run out. That was another source of financial drain. Even if we saved money on a few items, we spent so much more on things NOT on our list that it’s just not worth it. So the discount supermarket is looking like a better, though less trendy, way to save.

We stocked up on ingredients for lots of winter comfort food. And it’s working…I’m cooking more and wanting to go out less.

Which reminds me. Know any good, tasty winter recipes? I’m a little bored with all of our old stand-byes. Favorites for me are soups and anything you can stretch to last for more than one meal.

By the way, resolution number one is going great! For some reason bouncing on the trampoline is fun enough that I don’t dread my workout. I feel stronger, happier, and very up to date on afternoon talk shows. 🙂

Not everyone is thrilled about my workouts, mind you. The dogs lie on the floor and look forlorn like why can’t I do this outside with them? But I just bounce/jog/twist on!

And I’ve already lost a few pounds. Hooray!

How’s your 2008 exercise routine going? Has everyone gotten back on track?

7 Responses to “Resolution Two: Be More Like a Housewife from the Fifties”


  1. 1 movingmama January 8, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Hi Christina – Happy New Year 🙂

    Something that really worked for me was subscribing to a menu planning service. It saved me tons of money because we always had leftovers for lunch the next day. Plus, we don’t eat out as much because I grocery shop 1 time a week, and have all the food I need to make meals. The service I use is Six O’Clock Scramble, and I do rave about it. Lots of very healthy meals that can be adapted for kids – and they are very affordable to make – plus it has a grocery list. You can always try a week out free. This is just Moving Mama giving a recommendation (not a paid one 🙂 I never thought I could stick with it, but it’s been about 10 months, and I’m still doing it and loving it. The recipes are very original, a lot of vegetarian dishes, and high on taste. Plus, I didn’t have to think about what to make for dinner.

    Discount supermarkets never worked for us beyond diapers and trash bags. I just couldn’t cook with what I bought there – too much of one thing! I just began shopping at Trader Joe’s (which I love!) – but not sure if they have them in your neck of the woods beyond Seattle.

    Anyway – good luck with your new year projects 🙂

    Janine

  2. 2 Gabrielle January 8, 2008 at 6:09 am

    Good for you, Christina! Keep it up!

    Exercise continues to happen for me, miraculously (it’s a whole WEEK after New Years!) I’m doing just a basic walking, crunch + aerobic dance class thing, and ramping it up every week. The trick seems to be to make it doable and conducive to my schedule.

  3. 3 Besu January 8, 2008 at 9:20 am

    My favorite place to hunt for recipes is the lovely Recipezaar:
    http://www.recipezaar.com/

    Be warned, you start looking on there and hours will pass!

  4. 4 Mary Jo C. January 8, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Hey Christina,
    I subscribe to the free Better Homes and Gardens Recipe newsletter and get them delivered to my email box I think once a week. Tons of suggestions from lite salads to full on meals, desserts and fun stuff to cook with kids. Lots of stuff I’ve tried for picky eaters.

    At my office someone started a recipe chian, where you send two recipes to x number of people and put yor name on the list and then recipes come back to you from others. Fun!

  5. 5 contentmama January 8, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Christina – I’m all about sharing my love of writing through food this year. I would love to try to help bring you back to the fifties, but in time travel, there’s always the risk in getting trapped — somewhere around 1975 – the casserole decade. I promise to keep an eye on the time clock. Check out today’s recipe on my new (somewhat primitive) blog: cookerycontent.wordpress.com.
    Thank you!

  6. 6 Stephanie January 8, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    It sounds like you’re starting the new year off with gusto! Good for you!

    One of my favorite “cold weather recipes” is beef stew. You can find the recipe here: http://metropolitanmama.blogspot.com/2007/10/easy-crock-pot-recipe-beef-stew.html. Don’t let the coke ingredient scare you. This stew is delicious!

  7. 7 Kristy January 17, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Hi Christina,
    Here are two quick & easy recipes if you like Tex-Mex types of food. They are both really quick & easy & inexpensive…

    Taco Soup
    1 lb browned hamburger
    1 can corn
    1 can diced or stewed tomatoes
    1 can kidney beans
    1 packet Taco Seasoning
    To Make: Simply dump the cooked hamburger, canned veggies (including liquids) and taco seasoning in a big pot. Simmer as long as you want…15-20 minutes is good. Serve with shredded cheese, Doritos, tortilla chips, crumbled corn bread, etc. Yummy!

    King Ranch Casserole
    Chopped, cooked chicken
    1 can cream of mushroom soup
    1 can cream of chicken soup
    1 jar salsa
    corn tortilla chips
    Shredded cheese (Cheddar or Colby-Jack)
    To Make: Pre-heat oven to 350. Spray bottom of casserole dish or a baking pan. Slightly crush enough chips to cover the bottom of your pan. Next, you’ll use half of each soup, and half of your salsa. Dot some of each on top of the chips. Now sprinkle half of your chicken on top of that…follow with cheese. Repeat the layers…chips, soups, salsa, chicken, cheese. Top with foil and bake 25-30 minutes. It’s good! You can make this one low-fat by using low-fat soups and baked chips. Also-don’t add any water to the creamed soups…just spoon it right out of the can. I usually use this when I need to use up leftover chicken, or when I have a couple of bags of chips that I need to get rid of!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,646 Visitors

