Early Influences: Any Natalie Goldberg Fans Out There?

I love Natalie Goldberg. Always have. Used to read her writing books at the café on the corner of Clark and Orchard streets when I lived in Chicago. Even though I’ve found my niche teaching writing-for-publication, I still think that Goldberg’s writing-for-the-sake-of-writing advice is pure gold.

And, man, I love her accent. It is so similar to my husband’s grandmother Ruth. They must be from the same neck of the woods (I think it’s Brooklyn).

Listen to her talk about her book Old Friend from Far Away here.

If you are inspired by these short videos, why not subscribe?

3 Responses to “Early Influences: Any Natalie Goldberg Fans Out There?”


  1. 1 TheOtherIvy January 12, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Hello!
    I was sent over here by The Antimother.

    It must be Natalie Goldberg week.

    I posted a piece on my blog today called Keep your hand moving which was inspired by another post at red Ravine that had a video of N.G. talking about her upcoming book.

  2. 2 Tiffani January 13, 2008 at 6:45 am

    I love Natalie Goldberg; “Writing Down the Bones” is a wonderful book as is “Wild Mind.” She makes me feel like anything is possible in my writing. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. 3 Jenny January 13, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    I LOVE Natalie Goldberg and have many of her writing books. Many years ago, I attended a reading she gave for her novel, Banana Rose. I agree–she has a very endearing New York accent, which I appreciate since I have (I’ve been told) a strong regional accent myself (Chicago).

    Her books, Writing Down the Bones and Wild Mind, are contemplative and inspiring with many great practical writing exercises. She expresses a deep understanding of the creative process that is rare. Truly, “keep your hand moving” is great advice that I have used many times when I’m stuck with something I’m working on. I’m glad you mentioned her!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,866 Visitors

