Writer Mama Book Giveaway Ends Sunday Night!

My forthcoming book!As promised, I’m giving away a copy of Writer Mama today through Sunday to celebrate 50,000 visitor to the Writer Mama Riffs blog. Hooray!

All you need to do to enter to win is answer the following three question poll in your comment. Just list 1., 2., and 3.—you don’t need to repeat the question:

1. Which do your turn to for writing support more often, traditionally published books or e-books?

2. What online community-building technologies are you most excited about (blogs, e-zines, chat rooms, forums, teleconferences, or others)?

3. What writing information do you want most that you can’t easily find either yourself or offered by someone else?

Thanks! I appreciate your thoughts! Please respond to this poll by Sunday night at midnight PST.

And don’t forget the deadline for The Writer Mama Scholarship is Saturday night, January 19th at midnight PST!

25 Responses to “Writer Mama Book Giveaway Ends Sunday Night!”


  1. 1 Bernadette January 17, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    1. Hard copy books

    2. Social networking sites (ning, facebook, etc), blogs, and collaborative tools for creation.

    3. Structure and essay markets.

  2. 2 Rose January 17, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    1. traditional books

    2. blogs

    3. interviewing and etiquette

  3. 3 Stephanie January 17, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    1.I stick to traditionally published books, although I don’t mind listening to audio versions.
    2.Blogs – they’re a great way to connect with people from around the world.
    3. The specifics about book publishing and the best ways to “network” your way to a book deal…

    Thanks for the opportunity!

  4. 4 Melissa B. January 17, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    1. Traditionally published books
    2. Blogs, social networking sites
    3. so far I’ve been able to find what I’m looking for

  5. 5 Andrea January 17, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    I already own the book so I don’t need to win it. Don’t choose me but I’ll still answer the questions.

    I strongly prefer traditional books that I can curl up on the sofa with or take along when waiting in a doctor’s office. I sit at the computer too much as it is. I don’t want to read books there too.

    I belong to a social network and that is where I was first encouraged to pursue writing. I have friends there who are Real Writers. I’ve also recently started a blog and got myself a feed reader so I can keep up with other blogs. I don’t think I could choose which is my favorite. I don’t do chat rooms. Ever.

    I’d love to know how to write a good book review. Sounds simple but I can’t find a single how-to source out there. I’d also love to know what to do with my talent for humor writing. I can’t write a serious article without humor creeping into it so I may as well use what I’ve got.

  6. 6 Linda Harris January 17, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    1. Traditional books (for now and forever!)

    2. Blogs (of course!)

    3. Platform building, especially in ways other than speaking (which is alwasy touted as the best and–sometimes only–way to go)

  7. 7 Sarah S. January 17, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    1. Traditional books

    2. blogs

    3. I’m too scared to start looking! (Which is why I want the book! 🙂

  8. 8 Marjorie January 17, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    1) Books, mostly, but I also subscribe to about 20 different feeds related to writing.

    2) Blogs! Blogs! Blogs! Forums are a close second.

    3) Information on writing retreats. Also interviews with more novelists and published authors, not just freelancers.

    Thank you!

    Cheers,
    Marjorie

  9. 9 Tabitha January 17, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    1. Traditionally published books
    2. Blogs
    3. How to write a book review

  10. 10 lovedandamazed January 18, 2008 at 9:40 am

    I’d love to win this book!

    1. Traditional books

    2. Blogs

    3. I am just starting out in the writer world and I am only now starting to look for information. Writing has always been a passion and I have had no problem getting articles published but now that I’m beginning to work on a novel I am looking into finding more info in that realm.

  11. 11 Dodo O January 18, 2008 at 10:27 am

    1. Published books.

    2. E-zines

    3. Contests and writing positions

  12. 12 Besu January 18, 2008 at 11:53 am

    1. Traditional books, no question.

    2. Blogs. I don’t have time to read through forums most of the time, but with blogs I can follow specific people and learn from them.

    3. I’ve been able to find many answers through books or asking professionals through blogs. Finding out about writing opportunities for brand-new freelancers would help me along, too. More specifics on tips/fillers or specific markets for them, stuff like that.

  13. 13 Robin R. January 18, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    I also already own the book and do not need to win it, but couldn’t resist adding my own two cents here!

    1. Absolutely traditonally published books, with an appreciation for not only the beauty of the words, but the feel of the paper stock and the look of the cover design and typefaces used!

    2. Blogs…and I am still amazed at how many people out there think and feel the same way I do about things…things that I think I am the only one that even thinks about those things! (Too many things in that sentence, I know…)

    3. Editors’ points of view on subjects like how to impress them or make an impression on them, quickly and favorably.

  14. 14 Mama Zen January 18, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    1. Traditional books!
    2. Blogs, of course.
    3. I’m always interested in learning more about potential markets.

  15. 15 Margay January 18, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    1. Traditionally published. It’s a lot easier to sit on the couch with a book than reading off the computer (I usually print everything to read it!).
    2. Blogs – I think they’re the most user-friendly.
    3. I would like to know more about query and synopsis writing. A good tutorial with clear-cut examples of queries that sell/sold would be ideal.

  16. 16 warillever January 18, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    1) Traditionally published books
    2) Blogs
    3) I don’t know enough to know what I don’t know!

  17. 17 Cindi Hoppes January 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Hello, Here are my answers~ 1.) Traditionally published books,
    2.) Blogs and 3.) Learning how to review a book! Thank you very
    much…..Cindi

  18. 18 cindyfey January 18, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    1. Real books!
    2. Blogs, often those written by groups.
    3. Editorial advice for longer works. How do you assess a book doctor?

  19. 19 Deanna January 18, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Let’s see…

    1) Traditionsl Books (as my bookshelves can attest to!)
    2) Blogs and e-zines (or anything that will help, encourage, or motivate me)
    3) the thing I’m always looking for is help getting started (yes, I know – just start) and point of view. Also, journaling vs notebooks vs computers (the problem here is that every book has a different opinion and I’d love to find a book on this subject only. Pretty much anything for a new writer who desperately wants to get going!

    ~Deanna

  20. 20 Mary Jo January 18, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    1. Physical books that I can hold in my hand.
    2. I love blogs!
    3. I’ve read so many conflicting opinions about whether or not to get an agent. I still don’t know what to do!!!

  21. 21 hollironquillo January 19, 2008 at 11:14 am

    1. I’m all about traditional books. e-books don’t appeal to me at all.

    2. Hands down, blogs!

    3. Right now I’m looking for information on improving my queries.

  22. 22 Karrie January 20, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    1. One more vote for traditional books.

    2. I love the blogs but also like the connection of my email support group that we formed after one of your classes. Both have their plusses and I just can’t say which I like more.

    3. I am finding way more than what I need. What I’d love is a way to better break up the information into manageable chunks. The excitement of so much to learn can also be overwhelming.

  23. 23 Joelle January 21, 2008 at 12:32 am

    1. Traditional books

    2. I have a tough time keeping up with forums, plus I’m too shy to post much. I hate chat rooms and have a tough time with teleconferences due to scheduling (kids’ schedules and being in a different time zone). I guess that leaves me with blogs and ezines.

    3. I just landed my first two (small) assignments. I’ve found myself looking for help with up-to-date nuts-and-bolts best practices info on researching and interviewing. I’m learning from my own mistakes, but would love to speed up the process — the learning process, not the making mistakes. Also, I need more organizational ideas, for ideas, files and papers. I’ve found some, but none have resonated enough with me to change my current MOH (Maxed Out Harddrive) and DPH (Desk Piled High) system.

  24. 24 Joelle January 21, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Oh, I have that it’s just after 11:30 PST, not 12:30. Am I too late?

  25. 25 Tara January 22, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    1. traditional hardcopy books
    2. blogs
    3. turning ideas into realities


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,867 Visitors

