Another Gorgeous Book Design From My Publisher: Make A Scene by Jordan Ronsenfeld

I just received this book in the mail and the first thing that jumped out at me is, man, I love this book cover and interior book design.

I was bummed that Claudean Wheeler, an amazing designer over at Writer’s Digest, didn’t win the Preditors and Editors poll for designing Writer Mama. She should have!

So, when I saw this cool design, I just had to share. Can’t get this on Kindle or the Sony Reader…and you can’t even see the contrast between matte and glossy finish like I can in real life. Or feel how think and sturdy the book feels in your hands.

Also, on the inside, the sections dividers are white-on-black. Very hip, especially when combined with the splashy design. Check it out:

Make a Scene by Jordan Rosenfeld

In a brave, new world of flimsy, cheaply made books, Writer’s Digest Books are definitely worth taking down from the shelf and cracking open. Each one has a cool design theme inside and out. Love that!

I’m telling you, mamas, this is not your mama’s Writer’s Digest Books. And I’m so thrilled to be a part of this thrust into hip and helpful territory. [Shout out to WDB editor, Jane Friedman, for all of her splendid work over the years! And kudos to the editor in charge of Make a Scene, Kelly Nickel.]

(P.S. This scan doesn’t really do the colors justice…)

1 Response to “Another Gorgeous Book Design From My Publisher: Make A Scene by Jordan Ronsenfeld”


  1. 1 Jordan Rosenfeld January 20, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Oh how exciting to find this post, Christina! I sent Claudean a note of thanks because I, too, was so impressed with her design. But I didn’t realize she had also designed your impeccably hip cover. I think WD books has moved into a new era!

    Thanks for posting this
    J


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,646 Visitors

