The Power of List Articles

In Writer Mama, I dedicated an entire article to the humble list article and for good reasons.

I personally LOVE list articles.

List articles are everywhere in print.

If you publish regularly, I can guarantee that the list form will come in handy.

So, I was pleased and amused to come across this essay in Time Magazine by James Poniewozik called “The Power of Ten.”

Check it out. I think you’ll enjoy it too.

And then, I think you’ll be newly inspired to reread chapter eight in Writer Mama, “List Your Way Into Print.”

2 Responses to “The Power of List Articles”


  1. 1 Andrea January 22, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    I haven’t written any list articles yet. I think I’ll try a few this week and see if I can sell them to Associated Content.

    I prefer to write humor so it shouldn’t be much of a challenge for me but I have heard that it’s next to impossible to sell humor to AC.

  2. 2 Mary Jo C January 22, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Hysterical and true! Why do we get so drawn into lists and numbers?? 1. Like having an addiction to reading license plates…
    2. Seeing how many #’s you relate to
    3. Seeing how many #’s you can relate to someone you know
    4. Seeing how many idiotic, silly or heartwarming things you can list
    5. Something to keep us on track at the grocery store
    6. Feels so good to cross them off…

    : )


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,646 Visitors

