2008 Resolution/Second Book Update

I’ll tell you what, when you set an intention and act on it consistently, it’s amazing how quickly you will get results. That’s what I teach in Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids, in my classes, and in my presentations. But it’s nice to apply those same proactive principles to other areas of my life and witness the transformation.

For example, simply from exercising four times a week (while I watch Oprah!), I have lost about five pounds. I look better. I feel better. And this just motivates me to keep exercising.

Notice, how I’m not hyper-analyzing it or becoming obsessed with dieting or losing weight. All I did was start exercising, incorporate it into my daily routine, and I’m seeing results.

At four o’clock, I simply say, “Oh, time to exercise.” And one day a week I get to take a pass, which is nice to either save for the end of the week or use if I have an appointment or something.

I’m even adding additional exercises over time to increase the results. Because, as I always say, results lead to results.

Speaking of results, we are eating healthier because I am cooking more. We are shopping less because we are buying in bulk for the month at the local discount supermarket instead of Costco (where we always spent more than we needed/wanted to). We get some healthy frozen option from Trader Joe’s (we’re a small family, so we can get away with that) for nights when I don’t want to cook (which still happens for one reason or another). And this provides flexibility for when things come up, which is nice to have.

I’ve worked out a positive childcare situation for my daughter since her childcare provider stopped taking part time kids last June. She stayed home for the summer, but in the fall, since we chose a half-day Kindergarten instead of full-day (which suits her better) I needed to find more help. I was not able to get all of my full-time job done with her home half-days (actually more because “half-day” is a misleading description). So I found a neighbor who does in-home childcare for two afternoons a week and a friend, who I offered to pay (because I’d have to pay someone else if not her), to watch my daughter three (soon to be two) afternoons a week.

Samantha is very social by nature and she’s happy to have these opportunities to see so many friends each week.

Of course, things will change, they always do. But by knowing what my priorities are, I can identify and address my needs, ask for help, and keep my eye on my priorities.

On a sidenote: I’ve been tagged for memes and am receiving a high volume of networking e-mail over the past weeks. Please bear with me while I am under my 60,000-word deadline. I take a great deal of pride in my work, which work goes through many stages and revisions, and it doesn’t look like I will be doing much “socializing” online or in-person until classes start mid-February. Sorry!

I’m looking forward to announcing the winner of the first Writer Mama Scholarship tomorrow, though.

I just wanted to share that I’m working hard and I’d love to hear how you are too, and what kinds of results you are seeing, so far, in 2008.

8 Responses to “2008 Resolution/Second Book Update”


  1. 1 Randy Nichols January 25, 2008 at 10:44 am

    I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

  2. 2 Tiffani January 25, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Don’t worry about us; you just keep writing! 🙂

  3. 3 The Writer Mama January 25, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks, Tiffani. A little understanding goes a long way!

  4. 4 Shawn January 26, 2008 at 11:38 am

    I think child care — or lack of — is going to keep me at a standstill right now. I’ve taken on all that I can handle. I feel this year is a great year, though, and I’m seeing GREAT result that are direct results from last year’s efforts. I’m building on that this year … just how much will depend on whether or not child care will be needed or not.

  5. 5 Mary Jo C January 26, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Keeping lists, giving each goal a priority and having an accountability partner has kept me focused.

    Knowing my energy levels and when to give myself a break is key!

    I’ve been sticking to my healthy eating plan and exercise routines (lost 6 lbs since Jan 1!!) Feel positive and confident. Have met with the library director to get the children’s writing group in gear; have had “writers dates” with my 8-yr-old son (proud mama!)and a girls night just last night to laugh and let go!

    2008 – Year of Success!

  6. 6 Andrea January 26, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I am trying to figure out how to rearrange our homeschooling to make room for my writing. Outside child care is just not an option in our family but dad is home on weekends and in the evening.

    I’m thinking about moving some of the school time to the weekends and letting the kids play or watch TV while I write for a few hours during the week. As long as we get the school work done it shouldn’t matter when we do it.

  7. 7 Planet Mom January 26, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Hello Writer Mama:

    You have no idea how helpful (and how wonderfully timed) this post was for me personally. Thank you. Thank you. And thank you. It was just what I needed to hear–a tonic for all that ails this wannabe. With any luck, I’ll soon rise to a willbe.

    Incidentally, I loved your entire site (beyond the blog). There’s something of value on each and every page for those of us to strive for more.

    Happy sales to you! 🙂

  8. 8 Wendy Burt-Thomas January 27, 2008 at 9:26 am

    I’m a sucker for New Year’s resolutions. I know, it’s pathetic to need a new year to make a serious change, but it helps me. I, too, have lost about 2 pounds per week without being psychotic. I’ve done moderate exercise 4-5/week and am cooking much more healthy food. I’ve got my husband eating almost everything, too – though he is still resisting the ground turkey. I think the exercise helps me stay more energized and focused to work on the book.

    Daycare is my saving grace in terms of writing time. Gracie loves the social scene and I can get quite a lot done with the baby next to me. He likes to watch me work. Maybe he’ll be a writer too.

    I think my biggest challenge (again) this year will be saying “no” to people. I tend to let my guilt overwhelm me. Anyone have advice???


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,649 Visitors

