Writer Mama Scholarship Winner

Wow, ladies, that was a tough job. But I am pleased to say that after hours of consideration I have chosen a recipient of the very first Writer Mama Scholarship.

Drumroll and fireworks, please!

The recipient of the first Writer Mama Scholarship is…

Maureen Schuster of Mableton, Georgia

Hearty congratulations, Maureen!

To everyone who submitted an application, I just want to say that it was a very competitive group of writer mamas to choose from and it was not an easy selection process AT ALL.

I wish I could give everyone who applied a scholarship! Certainly everyone was worthy, but I’m going to hold myself to my  word and wish everyone good luck next time around.

You are welcome to keep applying. The next round of scholarship applications will be accepted from Sunday, March 9 – Saturday, March 16 (only) for the April 16th Writing and Publishing the Short Stuff Class.  I will post an announcement with the application on Friday, March 8th.

12 Responses to “Writer Mama Scholarship Winner”


  1. 1 Andrea January 26, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Thanks for considering me. I’m wondering if I file my taxes in the next few days if we might get our refund in time to pay for the class. I’m still waiting on a 1099 from Google but it could come Monday. I’d love to be able to take it now instead of waiting until April.

    Are the Writer Mamas on the Blogroll all women who have taken the class or are they people who have read the book?

  2. 2 Kristin January 27, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Congratulations, Maureen! And thank you, Christina, for making the scholarship available!

  3. 3 Merry January 27, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Congratulations, Maureen!!!!

    Thanks for considering my application, Christina. Hopefully I’ll be able to take the class the next time around.

    Andrea, I’ve never taken the class but I’m on the blogroll… I think she added me after I linked her at my place.

  4. 4 Maureen January 27, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Thanks for the congratulaions! I am thrilled and shocked that I got the scholarship. I am looking forward to the class. Christina was generous to provide a scholarship.

  5. 5 Maryellen January 27, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Congratulations, Maureen! I would love to read your entry. Have you posted it somewhere?

  6. 6 The Writer Mama January 27, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Hi ladies,

    Andrea, I wouldn’t put too much pressure on yourself. There’s on one spot left and I’m sure it will fill in the next couple days. But then again, who knows?

    Maryellen, I’m fairly certain it wouldn’t help anyone else to view the application as I’ll reslant the application next time to help those who apply to give me the info I’m looking for. It’s a bit of a learning experience, since it was the first time…and like everything I do, I’m sure the process will evolve.

    Due to the sensitive nature of the questions, I’d prefer that folks didn’t share their applications.

    You’re welcome! I feel happy to be able to provide the opportunity.

    Good luck next time!

  7. 7 The Writer Mama January 27, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Oops, sorry. I do update the blogroll every blue moon and will be sure to add you!

  8. 8 Laura January 28, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Congratulations Maureen! I’m glad you’ll have this opportunity.

  9. 9 Mary Jo C. January 29, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Congratulations, Maureen! Make us proud, mama!

  10. 10 kathy burns February 1, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Hi Maureen:

    :applause :applause

    BRAVO – I sent my congrats on the day it was announced you were the winner – but it DID NOT post. My computer and I have been at each other’s throats for a week or so now and I think I’m winning. Let’s see if this will post. Have a wonderful time in the class. You’ll be on your way.
    katy burns

  11. 11 kathy burns February 1, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    this is a test – I’ve been trying to get my reply posted ever since Maureen was awarded the scholarship, but I’m doing something wrong, or it’s just that my puter and I are going through a ruff spot. Anyhow this is my third attempt so:

    Maureen:

    :Applause :Applause :loud whistle

    BRAVO BRAVO – congratulations. Enjoy the workshop and let us know how it’s going along the way. I’m keeping this short in case it doesn’t post again.

    kathy burns

  12. 12 kathy burns February 1, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    YEA It posted. I can go get a good nights sleep. have a good weekend.kathy


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,646 Visitors

