The Birds Return

If you are snow-bound, I apologize for this post. But I just have to write about the taste of Spring (!!!) that we are getting here in Oregon.

We live on an  fertile stretch of land known as the Willamette Valley that goes all the way from the Washington/Oregon border to Eugene.

What that means is you can actually garden here all year round. I’ve seen some college friends do it in Eugene with the assistance of plastic tarps. Amazing!

For days I’ve been hearing birds twitter, not just in the morning but throughout the day. After a long, gray winter (which actually has not been all that bad) it’s so lovely to glimpse a few subtle signs of Spring.

Especially, when you have spent months computer bound, working hard on your next book! The other day, I got the bird feeder out and Samantha scooped in the bird seed. Yesterday, the finches were feeding!

How could something so simple be so exciting? Perhaps this explains why bird watching is such a popular hobby these days.

My friend Carol Frishman has written a book on the topic  I want to suggest to all of you bird-lovers out there. It’s called:

Attracting and Feeding Backyard Birds By Carol Frischmann

You can visit her site here.

Happy almost Spring, mamas!

4 Responses to “The Birds Return”


  1. 1 Kris February 22, 2008 at 6:49 am

    When I woke up this morning I heard some birds and thought, spring’s coming! Then I came downstairs and noticed it’s snowing. I checked the weather: we’re getting 7-10 inches today.

    Spring will come, though. Eventually. 🙂

  2. 2 Laura February 22, 2008 at 10:43 am

    So nice to hear about the birds in your yard…gives me hope that in the coming months they might be back in my area… but for now, here in Michigan, we have snowy conditions, and slippery roads..and more snow coming tonight. I take joy in simply noticing the beautiful blue sky & fluffy white clouds that I occasionally glimpse outside the window. Such a relief when I see that wonderful view, instead of the almost constant gray bank of snow laden clouds. Spring will come soon…. enjoy the birds, and please describe some of the varieties you are seeing!

    Laura

  3. 3 Abby February 22, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I’m sooo jealous! Here in Baltimore, we got hit with an ice & snow mix … after a freakish 70 degree day on Monday!! No wonder everyone’s sick. 😦

  4. 4 Laura February 26, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Must be your positive thinking…but yesterday, as I stepped out of my snowy car onto the slush covered pavement, I heard bird song. The sweet twittering of happy birds. I had to stop, despite the chill, and enjoy the beautiful sound. Spring must be coming! Next thing you know, I’ll be hearing the gentle roar of harleys as they motor down the street. (A sure sign of spring in Michgan).


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,646 Visitors

