Giveaway! Spring Cleaning The WM Blogroll & Updating the Blogroll Parameters, All in the Spirit of Specializing

Ready, Aim, Specialize by Kelly James-EngerWow. I feel like I need to apologize for letting the blogroll get so far off track.

The old rule was all you needed to do was comment in the blog to get in the blogroll.

But I feel like, moving forward, I want to be more writer-mama specific. I also want the primary objective to be that this blog be a helpful resource for writer mamas, who wish to write professionally.

Therefore the new parameters are:

  • All blogs must be professional writing-related (freelance & nonfiction are priority)
  • All blogs must be helpful or inspirational to writer mamas
  • Any blogs not related to professional writing (ie. blogging related) will be considered if they link to this blog on their front page
  • Former students are an exception to the above (although most of them are freelancers/write about writing)

Obviously, there may be other exceptions, but I want to make the blogroll more focused.

Please help me in this effort by naming your favorite writer mama blogs in the comments to this post.

Feel free to name your own blog if you don’t see it in the blogroll but only enter once.

I will check all of the suggestions out and consider adding them. We may also feature some of them in the The Writer Mama e-zine.

Whoever makes the best blogroll-addition suggestions by Friday, March 7th will win a free copy of Kelly James-Enger’s newly republished book, Ready, Aim, Specialize! Create Your Own Writing Specialty and Make More Money! (Marion Street Books, 2008).

Thanks! I appreciate your input!

[Please note: As of Sunday, I’ve cleaned out/up the “Writer Mamas” category up through the letter “M.” I’ll be sure to let you know when I’ve finished. It’s a lot of work! But worth it.]

19 Responses to “Giveaway! Spring Cleaning The WM Blogroll & Updating the Blogroll Parameters, All in the Spirit of Specializing”


  1. 1 Deb in OPKS March 2, 2008 at 5:59 am

    I’m very new to this profession and as of yet have not done any actual freelance writing work, but I am doing some group writing projects and guest writing gigs. I’ve bought your book and am working through it with Lis Garrett in her Aspiring Writer series. I know that on the surface my blog looks more like a mom blog, but I would like to be considered for your blogroll. I just updated my blogroll and added a link from the main page so I could clean it up some, but I do have you on my blogroll. I would appreciate your stopping by and checking out my blog. I understand if I do not meet your qualifications, but I do appreciate your consideration.

    Also, I would like to recommend Lis Garrett at http://lisgarrett.typepad.com/my_weblog/

  2. 2 monica- books are our friends March 2, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Thanks for leaving me in your blogroll. My heart is in fiction, but I’d be game for a nonfiction book if I had a decent topic.

    I nominate the Mom-Writers Literary Magazine blogroll. It’s a group blog with lots of imput from writer mamas of all different walks of life. Very interesting and I’d love to see more comments posted.
    http://momwriterslitmag.typepad.com/mwlm_blog/

    Ann Kroeker is another writer-mom that I like. Her blog is http://annkroeker.wordpress.com/

  3. 3 lauraw68 March 2, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Sounds like a good plan. My sidebars on my blog were getting so out of hand that they were slowing the loading time for my blog. I’ve rearranged, etc. and it’s loading great now.

    Thanks for including my blog in your Contests/Giveaways section!

    Always appreciated!

    Laura
    Laura Williams Musings

    P.S. Your post is going in my contest roundup for today as well! πŸ™‚

  4. 4 Nathalie Hardy March 2, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I would love being considered for your blogroll but have linked to you already since you pretty much rock. I understand the reasoning behind keeping a professional blog free from personal musings but for me, the idea behind combining writing and mothering and being a Writer Mama is that it really is all mixed in together in my brain and heart so it stands to reason that my blog reflects that synergy.

  5. 5 contentmama March 3, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Hello, Christina and Writer Mamas.

    My blog is still in its infancy but I hope you’ll drop by to explore one facet of food writing in my writer mama world: cookerycontent.wordpress.com.

    I’m a freelance writer mama who writes about food, family, the arts and sports.

    You’ll find The Writer Mama in my modest but ever-expanding blog roll.

    I’d like to blogroll-nominate motheringheights.net for your consideration.

    Many thanks,
    Mary Ann Ebner

  6. 7 Jen March 3, 2008 at 10:31 am

    I’m a writer mama actively writing and submitting nonfiction, and I have had a link to this blog on the front of my blog since I started it: highlinersandhomecomings.wordpress.com.

  7. 8 marnini March 3, 2008 at 10:32 am

    My blog is writer friendly, it’s where I write. The content is not always geared toward better ways to write and writing markets. But,it is what keeps me writing and honing my skills.

    Because your blog was the inspiration for me to start my own blog, I hope to be included on your blogroll.

    I felt inspired by your site because it made me hopeful that one day I would too join in the ranks that you are blessed to be in.

    Setting limits can be discouraging to a lot of people that have insecurities. I know with persistence, I will get to where I am supposed to be. Hopefully the other writer mother’s out there that are omitted from your blogroll will have that same confidence and not take your omission as another setback.

    Thanks, Maribeth

    πŸ™‚

  8. 9 Tricia Grissom March 3, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    You’ve got just about all my favorites already.

    I also frequent MotherTalk at http://www.mother-talk.com/wp/. They are always looking for writer mamas to blog book reviews – and they pay.

    Shrinking Violet Promotions at http://shrinkingvioletpromotions.blogspot.com/ is another one – it’s a writer marketing sight for introverts – sign me up. They discuss mostly book marketing, but a lot of their tips apply to any kind of writing.

    And I just found Catherine Rankovic’s sight Mental Health for Writers at http://theconfidentwriter.blogspot.com/ – she’s a poet who also has great advice about the writing life, including query letters.

    Have fun with the blog roll, and thanks for including Coffeeandcritique.blogspot.com.

  9. 10 Tiffani March 3, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    I’d be grateful if you’d change the address you have for me in the blogroll. πŸ™‚ The one you have is old and now links directly to my professional writing site, not my blog. The real blog is http://thp1723.blogspot.com.

    And I agree with adding Mom Writer’s Literary Magazine blog.

    Thanks mucho!

  10. 11 The Writer Mama March 3, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Keep ’em coming ladies. I likely won’t get back to this task until the weekend.

    I’m very open to suggestions. Nothing is set in stone yet.

    And I’m still only about halfway through the list!

    Nothing ever will be set in stone, btw, either.

    So, no worries.

  11. 12 andreamcmann March 4, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Okay…Here’s what I have so far:

    Angela Booth’s Writing Blog: Tips about writing freelance, non-fiction, and copywriting that are interesting and helpful.
    http://copywriter.typepad.com/

    Eavesdrop Writer: This one is really interesting! It’s written by a writer who uses eavesdropping to fine-tune her observation skills and character development.
    http://eavesdropwriter.blogspot.com/

    Creative Writing Corner: This is a collection of tips and writing exercises. Focuses mainly on fiction, but not entirely.
    http://www.blairhurley.com/

    Women on Writing Blog: This one has a lot of information from the Women on Writing e-zine
    http://www.wow-womenonwriting.com/blog.html

    If I run across any others by Friday, can I submit more?

  12. 13 The Writer Mama March 4, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Sure, go ahead. But send them by email so you won’t be entered more than once in the giveaway, okay?

  13. 14 Laura March 4, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Well, I’m a writer and a mama and I write about both on my blog. I don’t know if I would meet your criteria – have a look and see what you think.

    Your blog is on my blogroll.

  14. 15 Jenn Hollowell March 5, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    πŸ™‚ My writer is about being a working writer while raising three children, ages six, seven, and eight. I offer advice to other working writers, answer questions, post reviews, and rant a bit about the weather. πŸ˜€

    Here are my blogs:

    Jenn Hollowell: Working Writer
    http://www.jennhollowell.blogspot.com

    Jenn’s Total Mom Makeover (how this writer mama is keeping sane through use of a book)
    http://www.sixweekplan.blogspot.com

    Thank you for this opportunity to be listed in your blogroll! Your blog has been extremely useful and inspiring and I’m hoping mine is for you, too. πŸ˜€

  15. 16 Besu March 5, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Might I offer my blog for consideration? The focus is on the progress of my novels, but I’ve also done some freelancing. The “mama” part is prevalent; there is a constant struggle between writing time and my autistic little guy. I’ve plugged your book more than once, too.

    http://celestialgldfsh.livejournal.com/

  16. 17 Jenny March 6, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Hi Christina,

    May I nominate my blog to the blogroll? It’s about being a mom coping with a specific parenting issue, though I do also discuss my writing career. So, see what you think:

    nut-freemom.blogspot.com

    Also, I nominate perfectionistconfessions.blogspot.com

  17. 18 The Writer Mama March 16, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Done!

    Everyone who asked for their blog to be posted or corrected–done!

    The rest, I made some choices. Thanks for the info.

    Sometimes you have to look in all the categories to find a blog.

    I didn’t cross categorize, except for my contributors to my e-zines, generally speaking.

    Former students are only under former students, to avoid duplicates.

    Phew! I can’t believe how much work this was!

    Hope it makes for a great resource. Holler if I missed anything of yours…it’s entirely possible. I was shocked by some of the omissions.


  1. 1 Quick Updates From One Busy Mama « Writer Mama Riffs on Raising A Writing Career Alongside Your Kids Trackback on March 7, 2008 at 1:40 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,655 Visitors

