Dear Mamas, (from April’s The Writer Mama Zine)

I know what I’ll be doing this weekend.

That’s right: Taxes!

Nothing like waiting until the last minute. Of course, that wasn’t the plan. It’s never the plan. But when it happens, there is only one thing to do. Roll up the ol’ sleeves and dig in!

Truth told, I kind of enjoy the feeling of satisfaction that comes…when the taxes are all through.

How about you?

In the writing-for-publication spirit,

Christina Katz
The Writer Mama

P.S. If you were hoping to get into one of the April classes, there is still room in Pitching Practice! If you have taken WPSS and/or Targeting Your Best Writing Markets, I’d love to have you. Please read more about all the upcoming classes including a brand new one, Personal Essays that Get Published with Writers on the Rise managing editor, Sage Cohen. Head over to the Classes Registration Page to learn more.

To read more about how I’m springing forward this April, please read my “Dear Fellow Writers” column from Writers on the Rise this month.

P.P.S. If you are a former student of mine and you are interested in writing book reviews (typically books on or about writing or writers that you procure for free as “a review copy”) for my new blog Christina Katz Recommends, please contact me at writersontherise@earthlink.net and let me know.

I often receive requests to write for my zines, but columnist selections are made by September of each year for the entire next year. So review-writing is a great way to get your pen in the door, so to speak.

2 Responses to “Dear Mamas, (from April’s The Writer Mama Zine)”


  1. 1 Marjorie April 3, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Hi, Christina! Well, I used to do my taxes literally the night before. A few years ago, though, I fixed it so that I was getting bigger refunds (and yes, I realize that they’re free loans to the government, but it’s sooo nice to see those funds drop in my account!). That provided enough incentive for me to do my taxes as soon as I get my W-2’s. I usually get my money within 2-3 weeks. Very nice.

    And yeah, there’s nothing like that feeling of immense satisfaction once all the taxes are done. I’ve been using Turbo Tax for about 4 years and highly recommend it to ANYONE. It’s literally shaved hours and hours off my tax work, going from an average of about 7-8 hours doing my and my husband’s taxes, to about 1-1.5 in total. It almost makes it…fun…especially because you get to see your refund (or tax liability, depending on your situation) increase or decrease on the top right hand corner of the screen as you progress through the program.

    By the way, are you only looking for former students to write book reviews? If you decide to broaden your search, I’d love to apply!

    Cheers,
    Marjorie

  2. 2 The Writer Mama April 3, 2008 at 10:05 am

    For the time being, former students get first dibs. But feel free to chime in here if you are also interested.

    🙂 C


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,649 Visitors

