A Mother in the White House?

Think about it, mamas.

I’ll say it again:

A mama in the white house.

A mother in the most powerful political position in the world.

A mom. As president.

It’s amazing to even entertain such a notion…not just a woman, but a mother.

I realize it’s Hilary Clinton I’m talking about. I haven’t forgotten who she is. She’s Hilary Clinton, for goodness sakes. The wife of a former president.

But shoot. What would it mean to have a mother in the White House?

What would it mean to women, here, there, everywhere…around the world?

What would it mean to little girls? To tweenage girls? To teenage girls? To college-age girls?

What would it have meant to you at any of these ages?

Would your life be different? Would your self-esteem have been effected? Would the way you feel about being a member of this country have been changed?

What about women in their twenties, thirties, forties, fifties, sixties, seventies, eighties and nineties?

There will be a lot more of the latter by the time we get there. I can see us all now. A bunch of writer grannies talking about the good old days. 😉

People think they know. You and I might think we know.

But there has never been a mother in the White House before. At least not one who was the president.

Never a mom even remotely close to holding the position.

Never. Ever. In history.

I’m trying to think what to compare it to. Women getting the vote? Roe vs. Wade?

I’m not sure. This seems bigger. It feels bigger. It feels really, really huge to me.

Just the possibility of it.

I know, we’ve had and have queens. But it’s not the same.

Is it?

I asked my daughter during the debate tonight.

I asked, “Which one, of these two, would be the better president?”

She said…”I like the girl.”

I said, “She’s a mommy.”

She said, “I like the mommy to be the president.”

I like the mommy to be the president…I’m going to sleep on that.

2 Responses to “A Mother in the White House?”


  1. 1 KatiN. April 17, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Lift your eyes to see what is going on all across the globe! Why the steadily increasing march of women to posts of power now? Notice the quickening. Are these women standard-issue leaders or midwives of a new time? Maybe men are just more open to sharing power now? Time will tell. It’s fascinating to think about.

    http://www.guide2womenleaders.com/

  2. 2 Shawn April 18, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    I know. I know! Sigh …

    See my latest post!!

    Thanks for writing this. It feels great to see another mother standing up like this.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,646 Visitors

