Rearrange Your Office! I’m Lovin’ Mine…

It turns out I spent a good part of the weekend rearranging my office but it was SO worth it.

I feel like I can breathe again in here. And all I have left to sort is one measly two-inch pile of misc. papers.

Hooray!

Three smart things I did for where I’m at right now in my writing process:

I recovered my view out two windows. I had my back to them before, which was supposed to help me concentrate. Phooey on that! Now I have my back slightly to the door (bad Feng Shui, I know) but I’ll get a mirror and put it in the corner as a cure.

I kicked my six-year-old out and moved her table back into her room. Samantha is playing so much more independently now that she doesn’t mind. I asked her first, of course. I recovered a whole corner of my office! And I’m happy because she’s taking her six-year-old mess with her!

I moved the second computer away from me on my huge IKEA desk (it reminds me of an airplane) to create two workstations. This makes space for a possible assistant (still deciding) and moves Samantha away from me a bit so I can still monitor her occasional computer use (PBS Kids only, so far) without feeling like she is right on top of me.

Did I mention my daughter sings all the time?

She thinks life is one big musical, which is great…except when you are trying to concentrate. 🙂

I’ve got a huge amount of open space in the middle of the room that I gained by moving my huge desk into the corner, which feels amazing. I’m going to get a colorful rug at Target to put there. And if the dogs are really good (I said IF), they can come in here and lie on it and we can keep each other company.

So long as they don’t start singing! 🙂

Have a great writing week, mamas!

4 Responses to “Rearrange Your Office! I’m Lovin’ Mine…”


  1. 1 April April 21, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I love to rearrange my office space. Though living in a small apt. I don’t have many options, but I like to do what I can. Mostly I rearrange things that are on my desk, lol. Which reminds me, it does need some decluttering.

  2. 2 Jennifer April 21, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    I don’t feel like I can breathe, either. Unfortunately, it’s going to take decluttering several rooms in my house to make me feel better. I’m thinking major spring cleaning is in order, and I already feel a few article/tip ideas coming out of organizing/decluttering!

  3. 3 anniegirl1138 April 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Is rearranging code for “cleaning”? I did start that but was interrupted by my life again.

  4. 4 The Writer Mama April 24, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I had to let everything else not in my office pile up in order to spend the whole weekend working in here, but it was SO worth it.

    The difference is massive. My daughter loves her new fluffy rug to play dollies on (instead of the craft desk that always looked like a tornado had hit it).

    And now I can have the whole room to myself when I need it.

    This weekend: Clean the rest of this place!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,567 Visitors

