Gold Stars Abound for my Former Class Participants

So, this was pretty cool…

I’m standing in the library, somewhat impatiently, with a bag full of books and a selection of DVDs and Videos for my daughter for the week, trying to decide how many more minutes to tell her she has left to play. And just then another little girl approaches her to play puppet theater, so I didn’t want to interrupt too abruptly. Besides our library is smart enough to put the parenting magazines in the kids section.

Alright, I thought. I’ll flip through some magazines for a few minutes. And right before I did I thought, Wouldn’t it be cool if I opened up these magazines and found my students names in them?

And guess what? That’s exactly what I found.

November issue of Parents: A tip by Stephanie Dethlefs.

December issue of Parents: A tip by Lori Lee.

February issue of Parents: A tip by Kim Linnell

April issue of Parenting: A tip by Janice Kaelin-Kee

I wasn’t even looking hard. I was just standing there flipping pages. So there are likely plenty more. Rock on! Way to follow through, mamas!

A couple days ago, I was blog surfing and discovered an article by Karen Lynch in the April 2008 issue of Parents. That’s probably what kicked off my curiosity.

Admittedly, I’ve been so busy writing my second book and improving and expanding my curriculum that I haven’t had much chance to pitch magazines. But it’s pretty cool to know that my former students are publishing short stuff all over the place even as I toil away on longer pieces.

It made my day. Keep up the great work everyone!

6 Responses to “Gold Stars Abound for my Former Class Participants”


  1. 1 Tiffani April 29, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Yay for the classmates!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Christina. I’ve got more goodies if you’re interested. It is Tuesday, after all. Go, Jason Castro. 😉

    Cookie is good too.

  2. 2 Stephanie April 29, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Awesome! So exciting to hear about all of these writer mamas and their successes!

  3. 3 Meryl April 29, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    I bet that makes you gush and feel so proud. Go mamas!

  4. 4 Mary Ann April 29, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Bravo and great post!

  5. 6 Karen Lynch May 4, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Thanks for the shout out on the Parents piece Christina!

    I’d started mapping out the piece in the WPSS class Christina offers. It took a year to see it published, but that just goes to show you that every exercise in that class can result in a publication if you do ‘due diligence’ to the process!

    Good luck to all of you.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,655 Visitors

