Only TEN Shopping Days Left: Practical, Yet Necessary Mother’s Day Gifts for Writer Mamas

Pack of G-2 Pens from Costco
Pick them up at Costco (if you can) in big packages that will last months if not all year. Does she like fine or superfine tips? You’ll need to know. Prices vary depending on where you buy.

G-2 Pen Refills from Wal-Mart
The best price I have seen is at Wal-mart. If you don’t have a Costco membership, get your pens here too. Even if you don’t shop there regularly, you’ll save a bunch of money if you buy in bulk. Does she like blue, black or red? Better get them all. Prices vary.

Fabric Magazine Rack
The Container Store carries the fabric magazine rack I love. It comes in three colors that should suit all tastes. Very cool. Fifteen bucks.

Chair Mat
I love that my chair mat isn’t boring old plain plastic but has a snazzy design. Check ‘em out at IKEA. They are cheap! About fifteen bucks.

Soft and Fluffy Office Carpet
I just got the green one from Target and I love it. My daughter and the cats love to sit or lie on it and play. The dogs are not allowed to touch it! Comes in hot pink, light green, white and more. About sixty bucks.

Journals, Journals and More Journals
I like a certain kind of journal or notepad like most moms do. So sneak a peek before you help her stock up. I go to Rite Aid for my Mead Cambridge Spiral Top writing pads (four bucks) and Michael’s for my large sketch pads (price varies).

White Board with Markers and Eraser
How about one for her to put up high and one for the kid(s) to use down low? Costco has decent-sized white boards for about fifteen bucks each.

Your Recording Needs
A gift card to Radio Shack will be best because mom will need to spend at least twenty minutes talking to the sales guys to make sure the recorder will work with her phone, computer, etc. (P.S. Show her how to use the recording feature on her cell phone, for spontaneous notes to self or polls.) Plan to spend Fifty to one hundred bucks.

Magazines for Writers
Writer’s Digest, The Writer and Poets & Writers. Why not order her all three?

Preparation for 2009 Resolutions
Help mom be among the first to receive copies of my forthcoming book Get Known Before the Book Deal (November) and Wendy Burt-Thomas’ The Writer’s Digest Guide to Query Letters (January) both available NOW on Amazon for pre-order. (Better still get her something wrapped for the big day though.)

Just Right Classes for Writer Mamas
Five great classes for moms with no experience (Writing and Publishing the Short Stuff) all the way through ready-to-write-a-nonfiction book proposal (Craft a Saleable Nonfiction Proposal). If you really want to see mom jump up and down, why not register her for a Fall Writing-for-Publication class? Classes start in late August and early October. Pricey…but she’s worth it! Please visit Writers on the Rise for more info.

A Top-notch Coffee Maker
Yes, this absolutely goes under “Practical.” We like our Cuisinart 12-cup Thermal Coffeemaker. The coffee stays hot and doesn’t get bitter even if one of us gets up super early and the other one sleeps in. The decanter doesn’t shatter or break. However, if I was purchasing again, I’d get the grinder built-in.

Good Coffee/Tea
You’ll get a lot more mileage from your highbrow beans, and spend less money at the coffee shop, if you have a grinder at home and buy your beans in bulk at either Costco or Starbucks (or her favorite coffee joint). Why not treat mom to a few months worth of quality coffee? She’ll love you with high octane. I love a good cup of tea in the afternoon. My favorite, because it’s easy on my tum-tum, is Stash Organic English Breakfast. Available at most upscale grocery stores. If mom is a tea drinker, this tea is for her!

You’re welcome, moms. Send the dads and kids on over!

3 Responses to “Only TEN Shopping Days Left: Practical, Yet Necessary Mother’s Day Gifts for Writer Mamas”


  1. 1 Stephanie April 30, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Fabulous list! I have to say I’d like almost anything off your list (minus the coffee maker – I’m not much of a coffee drinker). My top three picks from your list would have to be the G-2 pens, the white board, and a copy of YOUR book!

  2. 2 Shawn May 2, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Great list. How many magazines does that holder hold? I’m overwhelmed with them right now and afraid to get rid of any for fear I will finally have an idea for that particular publication.

    Also, the grinder is nice, but it makes for a lot more clean up … I’ve just been getting the beans ground and skipping that feature to save for time. I’m lazy, I suppose.

    My phone records??????????????/Holy heck. What would I do without you?

    I wrote a similar blog post about gifts for mom bloggers. Check it here:
    http://www.letterstomydaughters.com/2008/03/5-great-gifts-for-mommy-bloggers.html

  3. 3 Kelli May 3, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Lots of good stuff on that list! What I really want though is time to finish reading “Writer Mama” and to finish my “Cup of Comfort for New Mothers” essay. Wish me luck!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,649 Visitors

