The Write Attitude: Cultivate Your Professional Side

By Jennifer Applin

When I was considering a freelance career I would read the bylines of writers I envied, and like the cowardly lion from the Wizard of Oz I’d ask myself, “What do they have that I don’t have?” No the answer wasn’t “courage,” but rather a business plan. As formal as they may sound, business plans are not just for large corporations. Of course writers are creative types, but many of us would like to avoid the “starving artist” label (well at least the “starving” part). Having a list of strategies that direct your progress will help you meet your short and long-term goals sooner rather than later. If you aren’t sure how to construct one, a quick online search of the phrase “business plan” will point you in the right direction.

Launching a professional website is another item on your writing career to-do list that should be tackled early on. Most fledgling writers have been known to peruse the websites of accomplished writers longing to have one of their own to showcase their success. What they may be missing is that a website can actually lead to that success. Although I questioned whether I really needed a website when I was just starting out, I went ahead and put one together. It’s wasn’t difficult or expensive. I simply signed up with an online service and used one of their templates. A few months later I was approached by an editor who stumbled upon my website and this has resulted in ongoing work from a great client. A website can be accessed 24/7 and from a marketing point of view, it will be working even when you’re not. With this kind of exposure the possibilities are endless.

Business plans and websites are not just for writers with high-dollar contracts. Invest a little time early on in your career to develop your professional side and you can be showcasing your success in no time.
·············································································
Jennifer Applin is a freelance writer living in Ohio with her husband and four young children. She is a regular contributor to eLearners.com and writes for many regional publications. She spends her days cooking, cleaning and caring for little ones, and her nights writing about pregnancy, parenting, and the quest for peace (as in peace and quiet). You can also find her at Managing the MotherLoad.

1 Response to “The Write Attitude: Cultivate Your Professional Side”


  1. 1 Shannon May 10, 2008 at 11:37 am

    That’s fantastic that an editor found you through your website! Very encouraging! I’m trying to build a freelance writing business and have temporarily put my novel on hold while I do. One day I hope to have a successful business and a published novel. I have the goals, now all I need is the business plan!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,593 Visitors

