Thank You and a Gold Star for the SCBWI-Oregon Conference

What a lovely conference I attended on Saturday. The conference was well-organized, well attended and featured excellent faculty and topics.

And despite the fact that a few things went awry (that were basically things I should have followed up on in advance), I had a wonderful time at the annual SCBWI-Oregon conference and connected with a great bunch of fellow writers.

One thing I have heard about children’s writers lately is that until J K Rowling came along with Harry, they had been left alone in their own little “sandbox” to do their own thing. (Someone else used this term and I thought it was charming.)

I guess I think that this is kind of a shame. Since I benefited from attending the conference, and I’m not a children’s writer, I wonder if more writers wouldn’t learn about interesting options they might not know about and vice-versa. Would children’s writers benefit from attending general conferences?

For example, in Oregon we have the SCBWI-Oregon conference and the Willamette Writers conference. I know I’m not the only one attending both. Does anyone else have anything to add about the benefits of participating in both?

I’ll report more on the conference as the week goes on. It’s another whopper of a week for me. And next week, I’m off to L.A!

3 Responses to “Thank You and a Gold Star for the SCBWI-Oregon Conference”


  1. 1 Stephanie May 20, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Sounds like it was a great conference! I’m interested in the children’s book genre and may look into attending that conference next year…

  2. 2 Kelli Perkins May 20, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    One of my biggest dreams is to see a picture book written by me on the kids’ display wall at Barnes and Noble! But after reading your book, I feel like my options have really opened up. Now I’m dabbling in personal essays, writing tips, coming up with ideas for articles, and still thinking of ideas for children’s stories. I definitely think it would be beneficial to attend both types of conferences. (I haven’t been to any yet…hopefully soon.) And even though I hope to be a children’s writer, I have to say, I’ve never been a big fan of playing in the sandbox. 🙂

  3. 3 The Writer Mama May 25, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Turn that dream into action, Kelli and you will!

    I’m going to attend a mix of conferences from here on out.

    I know I have a YA novel in me somewhere!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,571 Visitors

