The WDB/BEA Conference: Part One

On Wednesday, I attended the Writer’s Digest/BEA Writers Conference, which was excellent. I highly recommend this conference to anyone who has never interacted with agents before and wants a chance to pitch agents verbally. Whether your idea is fully developed or still brewing, you can assess whether or not you are on track by paying attention to how interested agents are about your idea.

Several people asked me if they should pitch and my response was always, “Yes, you should definitely pitch.” If nothing else, once you’ve pitched once, it’s a lot easier next time. And on the other end of the spectrum, one attendee told me she had nine requests for her proposal.

After the keynote with Jacquelyn Mitchard, I gave my breakout session on Get Known While You Sleep—A Platform Primer. Attendance was great and even though I really hammered home the message that writers must produce themselves every step of the way on the path to authorhood, everyone seemed to get and accept this reality and no one wanted to argue with me. (Darn.)

(Of course, I was preaching to the choir because by the time writers show up at a writers conference they tend to be pretty motivated. But bring on anyone who wants to argue the point, because I’ve got 80,000 words of preparation behind me!)

Many people came up to me throughout the day and thanked me for the presentation. (And this is my chance to thank them. Thank you! Your feedback is extremely valuable.)

Next, I attended Bill O’Hanlon’s session on Effective Use of the Internet for Authors, which was very inspiring and informative. Talk about an author who is making the most that the Internet has to offer and that is Bill O’Hanlon. His latest book is Write is a Verb, Sit Down. Start writing. No Excuses., which comes with an hour-long motivational DVD. You can download an excerpt here.

Stay tuned…my day at the Writer’s Digest/BEA Writers Conference to be continued. I’m still catching up from being gone in the middle of the week last week.

3 Responses to “The WDB/BEA Conference: Part One”


  1. 1 Stephanie June 1, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    The conference was excellent – inspiring, motivating, and informative. My favorite part was the Pitch Slam. I will definitely consider attending the conference again in 2009.

  2. 2 Kerrie June 1, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Christina,

    I look forward to reading more about your recent trip to BEA. I was hoping to go this year and the timing and finances just didn’t work out for me. I am hoping to attend next year for sure.

    Kerrie

  3. 3 Marjorie June 2, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Dear Christina,

    Looking forward to reading about your BEA experiences. I’m already planning for the 2009, my first time attending, and am very psyched about the prospect!

    Cheers,
    Marjorie


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,755 Visitors

