The WDB/BEA Writers Conference: Part Two

During lunch at the conference, we had a real treat. Blake Synder, author of Save the Cat, The Last Book on Screenwriting You’ll Ever Need, was the speaker. He was terrific. Funny, entertaining and interesting. Just what a conference attendee needs right after lunch!

I had a chance to chat with Blake later over dinner and he is just as approachable and endearing one-on-one as he is in front of a crowd of hundreds. He also gave me some great tips about how to make the transition from Writer Mama to the author of Get Known Before the Book Deal (which is for all writers).

Thanks, Blake! Be sure to check out his blog and books for screenwriters.

After lunch, I attended Jane Friedman’s talk on The Times They Are A-Changin’: Being a Successful Author Amidst Transformational Change in Book Publishing. Jane is my editor for Get Known Before the Book Deal and she is the Editorial Director of Writer’s Digest Books and many of the other F+W imprints (F+W is the parent company of Writer’s Digest Books).

I’ll tell you what that talk gave me some serious food for thought. But what I walked away with for my readers and students is the same old thing I have been focused on this past year: the future belongs to writers who have and grow a platform. That’s all there is to it.

When I think of the authors I know who are the most successful, the secret of their success is equivalent to the time, energy and money they invest in getting known and staying known. At this time, the publishing industry is changing and fast. But the way it impacts us is that we have to become more well-rounded. Not just good writers but good at everything related to a writing career.

I’m referring to writing, editing, selling, self-promotion, and long-term planning. Any one of these is simply not enough. We each have to either master them all or hire people who can do a better job for us.

The thing is (and this came up during my presentation), you can always hire help AFTER you become an author but no one can discover your best platform but you. You have to do that work (I pretty much lay out how in Get Known). After that, everything that follows is a lot easier.

More about the conference to come…

1 Response to “The WDB/BEA Writers Conference: Part Two”


  1. 1 Stephanie June 4, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    I agree that Blake Snyder’s talk was fantastic! He is a great speaker and his content was applicable to writers of all genres.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,655 Visitors

