What Role Does Intuition Play In Your Writing Career?

I had an interesting discussion with someone I met at the WDB/BEA conference on Friday.

At the end of it, I said to the person that I hoped she would get “all green lights” on her future plans.

Whatever did I mean by that?

I meant that I hoped that when it was time to proceed, I hoped she would feel the rightness in her gut. I correlate that rightness with “seeing” (but maybe it’s really feeling or both) all green lights.

Am I the only one who can feel green lights? Does anyone out there know what I’m talking about?

For the record, I also “see” red flags. Sometimes they are more subtle. Other times they are like big red flags frantically waving in my mind’s eye as though to say, No, no, no! Don’t go this way.

Apparently, Sue Donckels, Managing Editor over at the Mom-Writers Literary Magazine knows what I’m talking about. In the magazine’s blog, she posted on the topic of intuition.

I hope what she has to say will remind us all to bring our intuition to work with us today.

I think it’s a topic worth discussing further. It’s certainly one I bring up all the time in my books and my teaching. I think I’ll make it a category…

3 Responses to “What Role Does Intuition Play In Your Writing Career?”


  1. 1 nathalie June 12, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Man! I can’t imagine writing WITHOUT my intuition as a North Star. As you said, it goes both ways, encouraging me to reach out to just the right person, clicking on the link that brings new, necessary information, and then also warning me to back off a subject, or not invest more in something that might do more harm than good. The most obvious example I have of this is while writing sort of a feature-obituary for a well-known young man in a small community. In the middle of the night I got up to put something back into the story that I’d cut. After the funeral his aunt came in to the newsroom to thank me for including that part of the story as it was a significant part of his life – I had no way to know that, I just felt compelled to include what I thought was a minor detail. Certainly one I’d normally edit out. Wasn’t it you who recommended reading Gavin DeBecker’s work? Very interesting.

  2. 2 Tiffany James June 12, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Writer Mama,

    I say there is almost nothing better in the world than “feeling” those green lights. And over the years, I have learned that my green light feeling moments can be fleeting, so I like to really savor them…it’s not that I don’t use my intuition. I do. It is just that sometimes I can’t hear it over the noise of kiddos, husband, dirty laundry, dirty house, rapidly approaching deadlines, etc. Then there are times wehn I am in the intuition “zone”. When I’m there, communication is clear and concise. I can feel the green lights so I hit the gas!

    Enjoy your blog!

    Tiffany

  3. 3 The Writer Mama June 16, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    These are great responses, ladies.

    I am thinking that my intuition is telling me to go to bed right now!

    Night!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,708 Visitors

