Downshift Spending & Keep Your Writing Career In Grow Mode: Part Three

3. Clean Less, Create More
When I was growing up in the suburbs of Massachusetts, there was one home and yard on our street that you could always count on to be messy even while my own family’s home and yard was always clean and orderly.

Turns out that this was the home of a divorced mom who launched several successful companies while raising her four sons. We didn’t have too many moms on our street launching companies back then. But these days, we have a lot more moms who create their own jobs and working from home. Some freelance, some telecommute, some invent things, and some start companies.

One of the things you find out when you attempt working from home is that everything around you is likely to become a bit messier, while your energy is committed to other priorities. I just want to say that this is how it should be. Because anything else likely means you are working too hard. So that mom’s house was messy. Big whoop. She was (and is) a happy, loving mother of four boys.

If you could use some help in the loosening up about mess in and around your home or office (or if your spouse could use a crash course), listen to or read A Perfect Mess, The Hidden Benefits of Disorder by Eric Abrahamson and David H. Freedman. If nothing else, you’ll feel a whole lot better by the time you are done.

By staying loose in the face of a slumping economy (and refraining from judging others, which also wastes creative energy), you’ll notice that others are affected while your business continues to happily thrive.

6 Responses to “Downshift Spending & Keep Your Writing Career In Grow Mode: Part Three”


  1. 1 emsgeiss June 30, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Great post Christina. I love that we’re given permission to not have perfectly clean houses and well-manicured lawns. And I love the sentiment about wasting creative energy. Sometimes we need a reminder.
    -Erika

  2. 2 Sugar June 30, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Well, Hallelujah and pass the crumpets! I am so happy to hear that there is a good side to my lifestyle! I live in some disorder that disturbs me to know end… when I actually take time away from my writing and photography and living to even notice. But there was a time, not too long ago, when everything had to be in it’s place. If it wasn’t, I could feel my skin crawling. But at the same time, I was losing all ability to be creative. I’m finally giving myself a LOT of grace for not having an orderly home. I know now that it comes with living my life the way I want.

    How funny: I actually have a magnet (that I blogged about *ahem* on http://asksugarjones.blogspot.com) that says “I dreamed my whole house was clean.” hahaha

  3. 3 The Writer Mama June 30, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I have a pretty relaxed attitude towards cleaning which doesn’t really lend itself to “entertaining” much.

    But it works for me.

    🙂 C

  4. 4 threeundertwo June 30, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I really need to read this, but can I hide it from my husband? He’s worse than I am.

  5. 5 Abby July 2, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I agree in theory, but I find that if my house gets TOO messy it stresses me out. Bad feng shui, or something.

    threeundertwo, you HAVE to read “The Lazy Husband: How to Get Men to Do More Housework & Parenting,” by Joshua Coleman. Far from just slamming guys, it offers really helpful tips & ways to adjust your attitude & expectations.

  6. 6 Kelli July 2, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I TOTALLY NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!!! My house drives me crazy!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

