Magazine Giveaway!

Because I often sometimes make mistakes, I have ended up with two magazines already in my possession.

So, I figured, why not just give them away on my blog? What a great idea. 🙂

If you are interested in a free copy of the Utne Reader, The Best of the Alternative Press, and Writer’s Digest Magazine, both July 2008 issues, please leave a comment below and tell me how your writing is going this summer.

I will choose from your comments on Monday and send the issues on out!

By the way, I obviously love these magazines very much or I would not have mistakenly purchased them when I already have a subscription. Check ’em out if you get a chance. They are always full of good stuff.

The Utne Reader

Writer’s Digest Magazine

17 Responses to “Magazine Giveaway!”


  1. 1 Carla Pullum July 9, 2008 at 11:22 am

    My writing is going slow since I got caught up in reading books! The heat wave has gotten to me where I feel lke I can’t do anything.
    I would love to win maybe I can get back in the mood to write!

  2. 2 Angie Reedy July 9, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    What a perfect day to answer this question! I just submitted my very first ever article for consideration to be published! So I’m feeling it today, my writing life is going well!

  3. 3 Cheryl July 9, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I have days when I’m writing a lot, and days when I’m reading or writing book reviews instead (or just having a crazy-busy day). But I see the days off as ways to replenish me, getting me ready to write again. (That’s what I’m telling myself right now, any way, when I’ve had a number of days in a row of not writing.) I’m on the first draft of a new project.

  4. 4 Jennifer July 9, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I had a dry spell in the spring, and I used the time to rest and refresh (and read A LOT). The dry spell is over, I’m following the tips from Writer Mama, and I currently have SIX anecdotes I’m polishing to send out!

  5. 5 anniegirl1138 July 9, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Writing is going well. The blog is gaining readers. I have three short stories under construction and a new angle on an old novella that I am going to rework for the Canadian Literary Award contest. Topping it off, I had a magazine request to see a short story for a second look!

    A great writing summer thus far.

  6. 6 Wendy G. July 9, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Writing is going….hmmmm….I need a good word. Where is my thesarus? I’m working on a few things; July is the slowest month of the year for me at the newspaper…and my editor there…let’s not go there. I still haven’t mailed out any of those drafts that keep nagging me. I keep finding other things to do. I suppose nothing will ever become of them if I don’t just send them. Maybe tomorrow….

  7. 7 Deanna Godman July 10, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I am mostly journaling about my toddler’s daily life right now. I’m having trouble deciding on topics to write about. I’m hoping to get Writer Mama soon to help me in my quest. I’m doing a lot of writing, it’s just than none of it is publishable. I am percolating a blog idea, though, and hope to join the blogging world soon.

    Deanna

  8. 8 blueeyegirl July 10, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    This hurts to admit, but I’ve been writing about not writing (if that makes any sense). I have all these wonderful ideas and goals for myself but zero motivation beyond blogging about my “writer’s wishlist”. I could use some inspiration (and a good kick in the you-know-where!).

    -Lisa

  9. 9 coffeehousemom July 10, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    The actual writing is going well. This is due largely to the fact that I was able to join the Writers’ Guild in my area. With weekly meetings and scheduled submissions, it’s great accountability and encouragement. I have a submission I am revising and getting ready to send to a magazine, and have published a few articles online this summer.

    Now all I need to do is figure out the “writer mama” part: write on a schedule (when possible), give the writing thoughts in my head a rest, and better organize my work space so that it works for me and my family.

  10. 10 Jamie DeMumbrum July 10, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Well…It turns out that teenagers are maybe as distracting as younger children! (Sorry to those of you who thought the opposite would happen…and yes, I know…that sounds sadly like an excuse.) I am admittedly struggling with consistent, every day writing. I feel very scattered–what to write, when, and where to send it. It’s time for a solid routine, a shot of motivation, and some positive thinking–and probably another class!

  11. 11 Lori Russell July 10, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    I’m enjoying a busy summer writing newsletter copy and feature stories. Two newspaper articles published last month and a feature article. With three profiles due in the next two weeks, I’m grabbing the few minutes while waiting to pick up my kids from basketball camp and reviewing an old favorite, “How to Write Fast While Writing Well” by David Fryxell (Writers Dgiest Books, 1992). His chapter 8 on writing leads is something I return to again and again when stumped about where to start my story.

    Last week, I took a morning to review my previous clips, put them in catagories and was delighted to see that I have a growing selection of writing speicalties. Gee, one of those magazines would really come in handy in making that leap to more markets!
    For now though, this wrtier mama is off to make homemade ice cream with the kids.

  12. 12 andreamcmann July 11, 2008 at 6:35 am

    I have a feature and a book review in the current issue of Natural Life, and another book review coming out in the September issue. Mothering has retained one of my articles, so I’ll have to wait and see about that. In May, the statewide rural electric company published one of my articles, which was really exciting, since I grew up reading that magazine! Most of the work I’ve been doing is online, though. I’ve been writing a weekly fitness column for PeekabooPicks.com, which is fun and fulfilling. I’m also in talks with a very well-known green living blog, and may possibly be a contributor to their upcoming green parenting/baby blog. Very exciting! 🙂

  13. 13 Theresa July 11, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I enrolled in a Writer’s Bootcamp this summer run by Suzanne Lieurance. It’s going well. She’s taking us through a step-by-step process to get our freelance writing careers up and running. The first step was to create our own blogs and to submit articles to ezinearticles.com. Mine was just accepted. Now we are looking for online jobs, and I’m a bit discouraged. It’s hard to separate the legit jobs from the scams. Any hints?

    I loved your book Writer Mama. It was so well organized and so very helpful.

    Thanks,
    Theresa Schultz
    Stress-FreeParent.blogspot.com

  14. 14 karen-o July 11, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I’ve allowed my summer writing to go forth at a snail’s pace, and you know what? Because I let myself off the hook, I’ve produced more than usual. How about that?

  15. 15 Sarah July 12, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Would love some of the fabulous magazines!

  16. 16 Evelyn Mosley July 14, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Journaling and listing every writing idea that pops into my head, plus reading are my main writing activities this summer. I’m looking forward to my first class (August), expecting to learn a lot and to gain in confidence. Receiving the 2 July magazines would be wonderful!

  17. 17 The Writer Mama July 14, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Hi ladies,

    The giveaway is closed.

    The winner was Carla Pullum!

    Thanks for your participation!

    🙂 Christina


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,646 Visitors

