What I’m up to

Phew! It’s summer and yet it doesn’t ever get any less busy in my home office.

Especially now that we are officially in, what we call hell week for the play my husband is directing and my daughter is playing a small role in.

So, it’s official. I’m a stage mom. I’m spending 4-5 hours a night over at the theater, along with the other parent volunteers.

And I’ll tell you what, even though we’re not big on too many activities for Samantha,  she has sure loved being a part of “Daddy’s show.” I have a feeling this is just the beginning…so I’d better get used to it. 🙂

On the writing front, I am putting a big push into spreading the word about Writer Mama before back to school time, which means back to writing for many mommies. Is there anything you can do to help? Feel free to drop me a line with the name of any mama-related media contacts you have in your Rolodex. Be sure to let  me know if I can use your name. Thanks in advance for your ideas at writer mama at earthlink dot net.

I’m also organizing my Northwest Author Series for the upcoming seaosn. Looks like we are going to have a great line-up, wonderful door prizes from Writer’s Digest, supportive sponsorship from the Wilsonville Public Library, the Friends of the Wilsonville Library, and the Wilsonville Arts and Culture Council. Now all I need are refreshments…

Something else I’m organizing this week is the Writer Mama Back to School Givewaway for the month of September. It’s going to be a blast again! I’ve already lined up dozens of books from dozens of authors. Please help spread the word! I’ll announce the list of giveaways in early August. Special thanks again this year to Writers Digest Books.

I just wrapped up my new class, Crafting a Saleable Nonfiction Book Proposal, which will be repeated in January. I’ll tell you what, it’s a good thing I can still remember how intimidating/challenging/confusing drafting that first book proposal can be. It might be easy to forget after writing and selling a few books, but I assure you, I remember. The students did great. They each finished the class with a clearer understanding of what they need to do to ready themselves to pitch their book concepts and land the deal.

And last, but not least, I’ve got a new blog banner and a new blog badge to match. Feel free to post it willy-nilly all over blog land. 🙂

That’s it for me and it’s only Wednesday. I’m off to the next task on my three-page list.

What are you up to this week?

1 Response to “What I’m up to”


  1. 1 Mary August 3, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Your daughter looks adorable. And you certainly seem busy. I know what you’re saying about back to school time being back to writing time for mommies – I can’t seem to get anything done this summer!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,841 Visitors

