Inspiration: Olympic Mothers

Thanks to Abby over at Diary of a New Mom for posting this link to Olympic Mothers.

I confess, I haven’t been watching the Olympics. But the idea of moms competing inspires me.

And is it just me, or do many of these moms seems like older moms?

Do we have any idea how fortunate we are to be living during these times, when moms can be anything, do anything, and succeed at any age?

When I was a rugby player in college, there was a lot of contention between the men’s and women’s teams, because the men’s team took all the money that had been bequeathed to “rugby at Dartmouth.”

Years later, in the nineties, the two teams started to finally share the money despite the fact that Title IX had been around since 1972.

That means it took twenty years for the amendment to stick.

So, I guess what I’m saying is, when you see those moms competing in the Olympics, think about Title IX, because it probably opened doors for them and it may open doors for our daughters someday, as well.

Our daughters have opportunities our mothers could not have dreamed of, opportunities that we were told we had while still having the proof withheld.

[Boy, give me a weekend off and I get all women’s-rights-activist on you. 🙂 ]

2 Responses to “Inspiration: Olympic Mothers”


  1. 1 nathalie August 11, 2008 at 9:12 am

    You go, girl! That slideshow of pictures was really moving for me. Maybe I do have time to work in a few crunches …

  2. 2 The Writer Mama August 12, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Ha! If I did one crunch that would be great!

    🙂 C


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,708 Visitors

