A Few Good Perks: How to Feel Good Right This Minute

1. Don’t know where to pitch that nasty used ink cartridge? How about in a plastic mailer that you can pick up at any Petsmart store? Just toss them in until you fill the mailer and then drop in the mail for instant good karma. Your trash helps save the lives of homeless pets. (Like the one living with in my office who is about to have kittens. There’s more where she came from!)

2. Change your screensaver image to suit your mood. In one week alone, I’ve had daisys, dandelions, an orange rose, a pink dalia, some kind of underwater plant, and an unfurling green leaf. Why am I changing it on a daily basis? Because when I have a lot of work, the change in scenery gives my senses a lift.

3. Hop in the tub or sprawl in bed or head to the local cafe with this month’s issue of Writer’s Digest Magazine. It’s a good read. And stop saying, “I could’ve written that!” and pitch editor, Maria Schneider, instead. Guidelines are here. (And congratulations to a familiar face—Melissa Hart! She wrote well on a topic that we can probably all relate to…but you’ll have to read it to find out what it is.)

4. Now quick, turn right around after taking in all that inspiration and do something brilliant. Come on, you’ve got a lot of great ideas. If you don’t know what to do with them, pick up my book Writer Mama. I’ll walk you through it. That’s what I do, when I need guidance. Yup. I read my own book. Why not? It works!

5. When all else fails and you are slumping over at your desk try any of these: Hang out with a child, go on an artist date, order something absurdly caloric at Starbucks, take a walk in the sun, rain or whatever, or call a writer friend. Any of these always works.

3 Responses to “A Few Good Perks: How to Feel Good Right This Minute”


  1. 1 spotcomm August 21, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Thanks for a great post – I haven’t finished all five yet, but I’m almost there!

  2. 2 lisammiles August 21, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Great ideas, thanks!

  3. 3 Pema August 22, 2008 at 8:48 am

    I love the desktop image idea – I’m trying it right now.

    P.S. I’m a big fan of the “highly caloric” option. Especially if it’s got whipped cream. Inspires me right up. 😉


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,567 Visitors

