What’s Cookin’ For Me Around Here

Oh my goodness, I’ve been so busy organizing the giveaway, I’ve hardly had a chance to post. So here’s a little update:

Tomorrow, I join the ranks of moms whose kids are finally in school. Thank goodness! A lot of moms have mixed feelings about this. I definitely don’t. 🙂 I am a big-time school-lover and so is my daughter. She might explode with excitement any minute now, in anticipation of the first day of school.

These past few weeks of transition to back-to-school time have been fairly bumpy and after tomorrow I will have the first six straight hours to get my work done every day — the most I’ve had in six and a half years! We are so fortunate to live in an exceptionally good school district (the same one my husband works for) and we’ve also been very fortunate with all of Samantha’s teachers, so far. I feel like she is going to have a great school year. 🙂

If I continue to be a bit quiet this month, it’s because I am devoting mega-energy to all things Get Known Before the Book Deal-related (see the new blog design here). I’m working on the website and media materials and basically getting all of my ducks in a row so I will be prepared for the influx of requests for my time, which have already started. 🙂 Not that I’m complaining! (I’m just not quite ready.)

When Writer Mama came out, I thought I was prepared, but, ha! I was not prepared enough. So I might go a bit overboard this month, preparation-wise, just to make sure I get to fully enjoy the release of my second book. Speaking of Get Known, the book blurbs are in! I look forward to sharing them with you soon.

Since there is no other book like Get Known on the market, I’m expecting that there will be A LOT of interest in the book (crossing everything). If you are a reviewer and you are interested in reviewing Get Known Before the Book Deal when it comes out in October, now would be a really good time to let me know. Also, I am already planning travel for 2009, so if you are involved with writing conference or book festival planning, just give me a holler and we can talk. If you’d like to interview me or have me do a guest post or anything like that, we can also schedule now…preferably for October. (E-mail your request to writer mama at earthlink  dot net.)

You might have noticed that I’ve completely updated my old Writer Mama Stuff shop over at Cafe Press. This has been something of a labor of love, since my intention is to offer cool writer mama-related products for the upcoming holiday season, while at the same time keeping them affordable. 🙂

I’d felt a little stymied on this front in the past, but I’ve found that partnering up with a local freelance designer has really helped enormously. Writers often ask me about how to create a better look for their blogs or websites, and I think working with a local freelance designer is a great choice if you already do most of the tech stuff yourself (as I do).

Finally, it’s a good thing that I’m going to have more uninterrupted time to work because I’ve really got my work cut out for me this fall. I’m launching several new classes in the next year, including two new live workshops and a curriculum development class. As per usual, I am overseeing my two e-zines, Writers on the Rise and The Writer Mama (sign up for them by clicking on the envelope-subscribe button in the upper right hand corner of each blog page). And I’m excited to attend some great events this fall, including the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Trade Show. I’ll also be hosting the second season of the Northwest Author Series (you can keep up with my appearances here). So, I guess you could say I’m pretty busy this fall, but not so busy I can’t enjoy my favorite time of year.

If you would like to offer your support, I would love it if you would pre-order your copy of Get Known Before the Book Deal from Amazon on Monday, September 22nd when I’ll be hosting a pre-purchase party right here, during the giveaway. That’s going to fun, but the fact is that this whole, entire month is going to be fun! Thanks for adding your voice and your energy all month long.

And if you’ve got a sec, let me know what’s new with you in the comments. I’d love to hear. Also, alert me if you need to be added to the blogroll.

Happy fall, mamas!

8 Responses to “What’s Cookin’ For Me Around Here”


  1. 1 Gabrielle September 1, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Hello, Christina!

    Congrats with Book Dos coming out and Samantha on her way to the big world of school! I run a blog for writing teenagers and YA enthusiasts, and I would love to review “Get Known,” interview you, have you guest blog or any combination of the three. Your website is fantastic and I can’t wait to read the book.

  2. 2 Sage September 1, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Whew! Sounds like a heaping plate over there, Writer Mama! I will be wishing you much delight with it all. And I can’t wait to place my order for “Get Known” on Sept 22! Happy Labor Day!

  3. 3 anniegirl1138 September 1, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    I hear you on child going back to school. My little one will be all day for the first time and I am excited but a bit overwhelmed. So far writing has been catch as can but now I need to organize, schedule and really devote myself to getting published. It’s like starting a new job only I am the boss. How does one boss oneself around?

    I would love to be added to your blogroll by the way.

  4. 4 Megan September 1, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Congrats on all the big stuff! Very exciting. 🙂 I’m happy to report that an essay of mine is in the Sept/Oct issue of Mothering Magazine, for any “natural mamas” who get it or want to check it out! Happy writing everyone… Megan Pincus Kajitani (www.having-enough.com)

  5. 5 The Writer Mama September 1, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Congrats, Megan! Way to go.

    And Annie, if you are looking for lessons in bossing yourself around…I’m afraid you’ve come to the right place.

    Thanks, Sage. I appreciate your support. Happy birthing!

    And Garbrielle, let’s touch base over e-mail at writer mama at earthlink dot net.

  6. 6 Meryl K. Evans September 2, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    My baby started kindergarten last week and my oldest started high school. Then the middle one is in 4th grade. I’m in no hurry for my kids to grow up and yet it is happening fast anyway!

    I hope that I get caught up by next week. The end of summer was swamped (non-work related).

  7. 7 Tiffani September 2, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Hooray for school! I hope Samantha has a wonderful year. Enjoy those hours … and take an occasional break!

    I’m happy I finally made it back here, just in time for the giveaway! Yay!

    Happy fall!

  8. 8 The Writer Mama September 2, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Well you are here in the nick of time, my dear.

    And Meryl, aren’t you smart to space your kids out so evenly.

    Today was so awesome. I could really get used to this!

    🙂 C


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

