WMBTSG Day Two (Make comments to this post to participate)

Welcome to day two of the annual Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway. One lucky winner will walk away with this gift set from Ninth Moon:

Writer Mama Gift Set

Loaded with value and information, this kit has everything you need to grow a freelance writing career alongside of your kids. The perfect part-time or full-time work for mothers. Kit is centered around the book Writer Mama, an up-to-the minute, fun-to-read guide written by successful, well-known freelancer (and mom) Christina Katz. Kit includes:
Writer Mama book, 296 pages
Ninth Moon Writers Relaxation Spritzer
Bluebird “Mom Terrific” bath salts
Purse-sized notebook & pen (design may vary)
$10 Ninth Moon Gift Certificate
A $50+ value!
Attractively packaged in cream/leaf box with eflute wrap and Ninth Moon gold seal.
A great gift for a friend, a baby shower . . . yourself.

Bio:

Laron Glover is owner of Ninth Moon (http://www.ninthmoon.com), a boutique store that provides “gifts to delight and tools to inspire” writers. Ninth Moon specializes in treasures (not trinkets) and has recently added a line of author promotional items (bookplates/labels/stationery). Laron is a writer mama herself–her “baby” will be starting kindergarten this year, which means she no longer has to compete with a 5-year old for her laptop. She admires all parents who manage to write around jelly-coated keyboards and temper tantrums in pursuit of their dreams.

***

Today’s question: How has motherhood informed your writing career? I posted yesterday about how giddy I am to have 6+ hours to get my work done. My husband said, “You must have been looking forward to this,” but I could not have even imagined it until it was almost time for it to happen. Long story short, motherhood has been a huge blessing to my writing career—sleeplessness, less time for myself and all. Would you share 50-200 words on how motherhood and writing mix, for better or for worse, for you?

If this is your first post in the giveaway, please read “Da Rules.”

You can comment until midnight PST each day. 🙂

43 Responses to “WMBTSG Day Two (Make comments to this post to participate)”


  1. 1 Elizabeth M. September 2, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Motherhood has given me endless material for writing and a greater sense of humor. I appreciate the little things in life and the smaller moments of life. The wonderment in my children’s eyes over the simplest things has renewed my interest in life, nature, and my purpose. I’ve developed a greater patience and sense of determination when working on projects and I’ve learned to take advantage of time because it’s fleeting.

  2. 2 Monica- Paper Bridges September 2, 2008 at 5:55 am

    My situation is a little (!) different.

    I home school my three eldest children and I have a 3 year old toddler, so I don’t have that large chunk of time during the day to write.

    So as a busy mommy and home schooler, I really need to focus and discipline myself to get any quality writing done. It’s tough, because I’m a social person and get easily distracted by blogs, Twitter and other things on the internet.

    Hopefully I can show my kids that if you work hard at something (writing in my case), and don’t give up, you can succeed. I want to teach that self discipline to my kids, I bet all writer mamas here do too. What an important skill to have in life!

    I love being a mom. I would be a completely different person – and writer – if I wasn’t. I love being with my kids all day (usually!). I love writing. I’m learning to love finding the balance of writing/mothering/teaching too. 🙂

  3. 3 Cathy September 2, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Hi Christina!

    I’m so ready to jump into the Give-Away again! As for your question, I’d have to say that without my kids, I wouldn’t have half of my freelance career. I write articles, yes, but I also write humor columns. And, I’m not sure this is a good thing, but I often write about my kids’crazy goofs and/or my crazy parenting goofs. Sometimes, I run a column past them. But since they’re mostly grown (not exactly “grown up”), I just write away and let the consequences fall where they may. I mean, it’s not like they ever read anything I’ve written 🙂

  4. 4 Jolynn R. September 2, 2008 at 7:27 am

    I’m really glad school has started, it gives me more time at the computer to write and research.
    Motherhood has helped with writting because I’m trying to write something that will entertain kids. It’s great to read a story I wrote, to them and see their reaction. Are they laughing at the right places in the story? Are they completly bored? It’s good to go to the library, and check out children’s books. After reading them my children say “Your story is better that that”! I’m glad to hear them say that, and I keep trying to get my stories published.
    Jolynn

  5. 5 Linda September 2, 2008 at 8:04 am

    When my boys were younger I never had long hours of solitude to write. If I turned my back they’d be rappelling off the deck or melting something in the microwave. So I learned to write in little bits and pieces — while I waited for the car pool kids to pile in after school, during violin lessons, bathtime, doctor and dentist waiting rooms… When you only have a few minutes to jot down ideas or work on revising, you make them count! Now that they are older, I still get a lot of writing done in bits and pieces — but it all adds up. It’s not how LONG you write each session, it’s what you get down on paper that counts.

  6. 6 Heather September 2, 2008 at 8:09 am

    When I started freelancing, my youngest was just a toddler. I dealt with a lot of mommy-guilt about my longing for time alone to write, yet somehow, I got a lot of writing done back then. Today, my kids are all school age or older – and I have a hard time focusing on my writing at all. What does this mean? I guess it means that I work best under pressure and with constant interruptions! Having only bits and pieces of time to work forced me to pick something, anything, and start writing while I had the chance. Peace and quiet and solitude make me lethargic. I think my muse enjoys chaos. LoL

    I’m eagerly awaiting the birth of my first grandchild later this month. He’ll be living here with his mama for an indefinite period of time, and I’ll be caring for him while she’s at work/school. Let the interruptions begin! Maybe my dry spell is coming to an end… ;o)

  7. 7 Beverly Smith September 2, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Christina,

    Thank you so much for hosting this giveaway! I’m only sorry that I missed the first day. I was thinking the other day how blessed I am to be a mom who writes. I was walking to the mailbox with my daughter. A trip that would have normally taken me three minutes grew into a fifteen minute long adventure. My two year old daughter marvelled at every flower, the green in the blades of grass, and the spinning of a pinwheel on someone’s lawn. Without my daughter, I wouldn’t appreciate the moon so much. I wouldn’t appreciate the subtle humor that comes forth in every sentence from her mouth!

    The time factor hasn’t been too much of an issue wither. My daughter will spend an hour in her room playing and looking at books, and I’ve learned to use this time to my advantage!!

  8. 8 writerinspired September 2, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Well, motherhood has changed everything about me, including my writing and writing goals!

    Of course it was an adjustment and continues to be as my boys get older and need different things from me and my time.

    But I have to agree with many of you mamas, we do what we do because we’re not doing it only for us anymore! When my 9-yr-old knows I’m submitting a piece to a magazine or for a contest, he checks up on me, I cannot let a deadline slide. He even “edits” some of my pieces if it’s a family or kid topic.

    David was also my inspiration for starting the young writer group I teach now. And I cannot believe how much I love doing it! I never would have tried it without his persistence.

    I also have to say: Monica!! Holy Moly! You write and homeschool three kids?! Plus have a toddler underfoot? Well, I think there’s a book in the making right there.
    You are truly an inspiration to us all!

    Christina, thanks again for the giveaways. I was really looking forward to this month!

  9. 9 Melissa Blue September 2, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I was a mother long before I decided I would write. The main thing I’ve learned from being a mother is that you have to take time for yourself, but at the same time not get so caught up in your WIP. Being a writing mother is definitely teaching me the important of balance.

  10. 10 Deana Nall September 2, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I write for 6+ publications and have exactly eight kid-free hours each week to get all my interviews, writing and polishing done. (That’s two, four-hour days my youngest is in preschool.) This can create a lot of stress and has been known to frustrate me to tears. But the flip side is that my kids have given me so much to write ABOUT. I wrote a weekly humor column in a small town for several years for which I won an award from the Associated Press. I even got comments such as “You’re like a modern-day Erma Bombeck,” which was an even bigger honor to me than the AP award. I could not have come up with funny stuff to write about week after week without children living in my house.

  11. 11 Cheryl M September 2, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I don’t think I’d be a writer if I hadn’t had kids. Of course, in my former life I wrote, but scientific articles are not quite the same thing as personal essays. It wasn’t until I had kids that I had the chance to read some of the great writing out there on motherhood. It inspired me to write about some of my own experiences. Now after taking one of Christina’s classes, I’m working on articles at the intersection of science and parenting.

  12. 12 Amie H September 2, 2008 at 10:39 am

    As much as my daily adventures with my toddler son have inspired me to get back into writing, joining the scrum of other mothers has inspired me too. I find support and encouragement and the occasional kick-in-the-bum from the many writer mamas out there. http://www.literarymama.com/

    Another writing gift-in-disguise of motherhood has been learning empathy. My son helps me (forces me) to look at the world from someone else’s perspective. That translates to a better appreciation of the nuances of my characters and a better understanding of the audiences I am targeting.

  13. 13 Annette S September 2, 2008 at 11:00 am

    I’m in the “almost a mom” category–expecting a baby in November. However, I can already see how it’s going to change how writing fits into my life, mostly in how it’s changing my focus. My biggest interests have been spirituality, exercise and politics, and while these still have a pull for me, I’m now looking at them with a mother’s lens.

    I’d taken on an office communications job because I’d found freelancing lacking too much structure and team camaraderie, but I have a sense that my maternity leave will be a big time of reassessing priorities. Will I want to go back to this job or return to freelancing again? The idea of homeschooling intrigues me–teachers run in the family–and maybe I’ll want to shift to writing about educational topics. Who knows? I’m trying to keep an open mind and see what rings true for me.

  14. 14 Celestial Goldfish September 2, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Before having a kid, I would have arrogantly thought that I knew about children already and it wouldn’t impact my writing. HA!

    Foremost, having a child has made me regard my writing more seriously and confront my fears of rejection. Being home alone all day with a baby made my brain feel like it was rotting; writing enabled me to feel somewhat-intelligent and work towards a greater purpose than mere survival.

    The theme of motherhood often creeps into my writing. Some of my best stories look at the isolation and sacrifices of being a modern-day mom. My 3-year-old son is autistic and just started preschool, giving me a huge chunk of time during the day to work on writing. I’m still getting used to that, but I thoroughly enjoy it… and I like knowing he’s in good hands and making his own strides forward.

  15. 15 Rosemary Lombard September 2, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Motherhood, well, not exactly. My 15 hand-sized charges are more like brothers and sisters, with all respect due to their capabilities. Box turtle matriarch Diode and pancake tortoise matriarch Willow–family, fine friends, and even research colleagues since 1971 and 1975, respectively–are probably older than I am; and that’s going some. They, with the rest of the colony, mostly their offspring, sparked my journey away from teaching music literature into specializing in animal communication. They have amazed me again and again, leading me to write daily research journals that shaped precise writing and led to my book-in-process about the 30-some years of exploring relationships and kinds of communication possible between captive reptiles and their humans.

    Nevertheless, having 15 dependent beings is much like motherhood. How many things are the same! providing and furnishing their room for their special needs, making their dinners, taking them out to play, keeping them from fighting, cleaning up after them over and over, photographing their cuteness and exploits, socializing them, running their home schooling, and, of course, exchanging those Eskimo kisses and cuddles. I have the same problems of exhaustion and organizing time for writing of any writer mama. I guess I am one.

  16. 16 Jenn Hollowell September 2, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Being a writer mama has certainly opened a lot of doors of opportunity for me. Not only have I written about a lot of parenting topics, but I’m not working on a parenting book. This book, which is specifically for dads, is written based on both research and experience. It’s amazing how my children have enriched my writing career. In addition to the book, I’ve also written dozens of how-to craft projects based on what the kids and I have completed together. I have an agent shopping around a “maternity leave” book for me now, which will also be based on my writer mama experiences. It’s been such an exciting (and exhausting – I have to balance reality in here, too) ride! 🙂

  17. 17 Abbey September 2, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Motherhood is entirely responsible for my writing career. It was the impetus to get me started and offers endless ideas and insight.

    When my oldest son was just a babe, I was trying to figure out what I could do to make some extra cash that was both enjoyable and flexible. After lots of research, freelancing seemed like a perfect fit!

    Now I have a 3 1/2 year old and a 2 year old and I’m so glad I decided to pursue writing professionally. I “officially” launched my career one year ago this month and I’m thrilled with what I accomplished over the past year. I regularly write for a monthly community newspaper and contribute to our regional parenting publication. Now that I have some solid clips, I’m aiming higher!

  18. 18 Richelle September 2, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I was not particularly serious about writing until after I became a mother. (O, the wasted years!) Having my first child was, for me, an awakening to the type of person and mother I wanted to be, the life I wanted to model for my daughter. And writing was part of that life. Like other mothers of small children, I write in fits and starts and consider it a good day when I get something — anything — down on paper. I cheat on my children, on my husband, on my employer, with my writing. But I’ll take that guilt any day over the guilt I had before, when I knew I loved writing, but was just too lazy and unmotivated to do anything about it.

  19. 19 Anne September 2, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Being a writer didn’t occur to me until after my second child was in preschool. I needed something to keep from going crazy but I wanted that “something” to be flexible to work around being a mom, challenging, and fulfilling. Inspiration came from listening to a favorite author’s podcast and her crazy day of being a mom and writer. I figured if she could do it then so could I. My writing consists of writing exercises and ideas for stories. So I’m not a paid/professional writer (yet), but I am making progress each day I write (which is not always when I want, but every little bit helps). And my way of thinking has shifted so instead of seeing a chore for the kids to get done, I see it as a to engage an audience to see the story as I see it.

  20. 20 TheVQ September 2, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Motherhood has been a mixed blessing for my writing. Until my son was almost 3 years old, I was so sleep deprived that I could barely complete a sentence but somehow managed to do most of my freelance writing for major magazines then. I think that being a bit dingy took the fear of rejection away. Once I came to my senses, after a year or so of better sleep, the rejection really stung and I gave up querying but never stopped writing.

    I found other publishing arenas and finally a few years ago I worked on, and published, a cookbook, The Veggie Queen: Vegetables Get the Royal Treatment. That was an amazing feat, and I included some cute stories about my son, who is now an alarming teenager.

    Writing, even just for moments, has been my salvation throughout my mothering career, and I am sure that it’s made me a better mother.

  21. 21 Frances September 2, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    I’ve got a long answer to the question of how writing and motherhood mix for me, but the short answer is motherhood led to my first published piece, a flash fiction about a mother and child. All the difficulties I’ve experienced balancing my time between my child, homelife, aging parents and writing seem less insurmountable now that I’ve achieved what I set out to do. The story came to me exactly a year ago, a gift dropped in my lap, while I was sitting in a metal folding chair in the tiny waiting area outside my daughter’s ballet class. Another mother told me about an unhappy incident involving her daughter in kindergarten. That night the story came to me almost instantly; a completely different version but clearly inspired by this mother’s story. It was one of those everyday, throwaway moments in the life of mothers, sitting around between driving kids places, and it proved to be a turning point for me: after years of writing, I felt discouraged and the stress of finding time to write was wearing me out. With the acceptance of my short piece by an online literary magazine, I saw that I could mine my life for stories and I could get them published. I may not always have the time to write, but now I know that even when I am not writing, I am collecting material for more stories that I will write when I have the time.

  22. 22 rowena September 2, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Once upon a time I could write and write and edit and read and stare off into space. I could do that all day long. And frequently would. Today, though, with two toddlers, those days are long gone, and all I can do, if I really really want to write…is just do it.

    Having kids, I think really puts things into perspective. My writing is less for myself and more for them. My purpose is less about me, and more about the world. Plus, I’m almost a little desperate to write, to save my sanity… to have something for myself. Is it possible that writing is even more for myself at the same time it is more for other people?

  23. 23 elizaj September 2, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    I’ve been a mother for 20 years, youngest is 15 now. 3 kids and home schooled.

    Motherhood has enlarged my heart and world in ways only motherhood could. When I became a mother I suddenly felt out of control. Here was a person I cared about more than myself, and I was not in control! It has led me to the very edge of every emotion and back again. That’s gotta be good for writing eh? 🙂 I’ve filled journals aplenty, anyway.

    A real bonus has been sharing books together over the years, whether it was the family nightly read-aloud (which we still do) or handing them a special book and then seeing their eyes lit up, afterwards.

    Being exposed to such fine writing (and dumping the duds!) has challenged me and only enhanced my own writing and goals.

    The biggest “cons” have been the endless dishes, noise, clutter, busyness, and needing to be too many places at once. We try to simplify, but it can still get harried and that seems to zap my creativity and will to write.

    It’s a real juggling act and it’s easier for some than others.
    I wish I had been born organized .. or at the least,
    an expert juggler!

  24. 24 Beth@MommyComeLately September 2, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Motherhood caused me to veer off the writing road–and motherhood led me back to the writing road. I stepped away from writing when my first three kiddos were born–and stayed away for 12 1/2 years. Then, a surprise pregnancy at 41 threw me into reverse–and back into writing. I figured if I waited to write until my “caboose kiddo” grew up, it would never happen.
    Now I’m editing a magazine for moms, freelancing, and I wrote a book for late-in-life moms, Baby Changes Everything. So true!
    Motherhood–it’s the reason I write. It’s crazy making it happen with 3 twentysomethings and a 7-year-old, but I make my deadlines–somehow! Usually by staying up late into the night and praying for inspiration.

  25. 25 Mar Junge, c3PR September 2, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Reading the posts from young moms brings back memories of powering up my laptop in the hospital two hours after delivering my son so that I could meet a story deadline. Or getting up before dawn to work on a feature article so that I could spend a few hours volunteering in the classroom. Or wandering around San Juan Capistrano during a California Missions field trip trying to find an Internet Café so that I could transmit the edits to a news release while the other chaperone watched the kids eat lunch. Now that my three babies are in high school and college, I can honestly say that I wouldn’t have changed a minute of being a writer mama. And one of these days, I’ll probably be a writer grandmamma!

  26. 26 Cara September 2, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Well, I like to think of the last twenty-two years, since my oldest child was born, as my training ground for becoming a writer. Sure I wrote before then, and since then, but I didn’t really develop my “voice” and write in earnest, until I joined a writing group for cancer survivors two years ago.

    Do my kids interfere with my fledgling writing career? Not at all! They’ve given me my very best writing material (all names disguised to protect the innocent!) and with my youngest one having officially entered the ranks of teenagers earlier this year, I wish my kids would all “bother me” more. I have all the time in the world to write now, and not enough distractions!

  27. 27 Kelly September 2, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    I didn’t take my writing truly seriously until my second son was born. It made sense financially for me to stay at home, yet the days spent caring for a toddler and newborn pushed me over the edge at times. So I wrote about it. First, just personal essays I believed never would see the light of day. Then a few short stories. I joined a local writers group for some adult interaction and this opened even more doors. Through them I learned that my work was valid, that rather than keeping it hidden in drawers, I should start sending out. My first published piece was a long essay about life staying home with my boys, the terror of grocery shopping with two unpredictable beings. Since then, they are a constant source of material. As they’ve grown (now ages 5 and 3) I have more time to fit in articles and work on my novels. I write to stay sane. I submit my writing to prove to myself that I’m a real writer…and to make my family proud of me reaching toward my dreams.

  28. 28 Christine Silva September 2, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    The moment I first held my firstborn still slippery from birth I gaped in shock that she was human. Blame it on hormones but in that instant I felt the power and awe of creation and an incredible weight of responsibility. That realization and wonderment still overwhelms me on occasion as I gaze at my children sleeping, smiling or smearing themselves with some questionable concoction of mud or shaving cream. Motherhood is filled with joys and sorrows and whether by biology or other means our children are ours to coach and coddle and raise up to be participants in our world.

    Writing harbors similar highs and lows, a similar power of creation and similar responsibilities of authenticity, accuracy, and truth. Nothing compares to holding my child for the first time. And nothing teaches me more about being human than learning about the world through their eyes. It is this authenticity—-this joy of living and this sense of shared responsibility to humankind—-that I wish to share with others through my writing. I guess I could have become a writer without becoming a mother first. I just can’t imaging how.

  29. 29 Tricia Grissom September 2, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    I’d have to agree. My kids are major material for writing. The funny is in the kids. Plus if I can’t find an article on a parenting issue I’m having, instant query material.

    I also think it’s good to model my dream for them. Sure, I have a regular job, but they also know I want to be a writer, and it takes time, work, and dedication to get published. And lots of chocolate.

  30. 30 Chris September 2, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Motherhood and writing mix, for me, kinda like pancake batter…sometimes it comes out lumpy, sometimes smooth. I don’t have a regular regimen (but would like to get to Christina’s 6 hours one day), but the times I do take them, they are periodically interrupted by noisy naps. I do get good think-time to and from work, which is always productive. Like anything else, it’s about making the time, and it’s not so much about quantity time for me, but quality.

  31. 31 Heiddi September 2, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Being seven-year-old Andy’s mom has showed me many things. I learned to be stronger than I ever imagined I could be because of him. I realized that I did not have to give up my dreams because I had him. In fact, I learned to go after my dreams because of him. My two greatest mommy moments were at my undergrad and grad school ceremonies. He saw me through both events. I’ll never forget the look on his face both times when my name was called. “Yea Mommy!” My son is my fuel, my fire, my drive to succeed. What better way to go for my dreams than to be an example for him. 🙂 My son taught me patience, diligence, tenacity and strength. My writing success is a result of that. Seeing my name in print or online would probably not have happened if it wasn’t for my child. Here’s to my cocohead. 🙂
    Thanks love Mami.

  32. 32 Dena Dyer September 2, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    I, like many of the other moms who have commented, can’t imagine my life without two of my biggest passions and callings–writing and motherhood. I’m much more disciplined now, because I only have two days a week to get stuff done (when my four year-old is in preschool). Before kids, I had all the time in the world, so I took it. I’d go to lunch with friends, nap, etc. Now, I know I only have a few minutes here and there, and a few short hours a week, so I make every second count. Sure, I’m looking forward to next year and all-day kindergarten (Christina, what’s it like?!), but for now, I’ll take my two days a week and make them work. It’s a challenge, and as a professional writer who has endured TONS of rejections along the way to hundreds of article credits and five book contracts, I’m always up for one of those!

  33. 33 nathalie September 2, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Well… without being a mom, I wouldn’t have conceived of my “Baby on Board” column. Pun intended. And then there’s the fact that before I got pregnant, I considered freelance writing a dream for Someday. When I worked as a reporter, I got even less writing done because I was always covering my beat and not doing much creative writing. Somehow, getting pregnant was my wake up call that if there was ever going to be a time to stop wishing and start doing, it was now!

    I have written covered in puke and pee because I chose work over showering during the precious moments he slept until I got enough money going on to get some babysitting help. While I was an awesome multi-tasker before the baby, Motherhood has taken my multitasking skills to the next level!

    There were a million reasons launching my freelance career while I was pregnant was a bad idea, but as Sam rounds the corner to his first birthday, and my desk is covered in assignmnets, I can honestly say I’m finally livin’ the dream!

  34. 34 krysk September 2, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Motherhood has forced me to become really good at writing within time limits and cramming work in. When I find an extra 20 minutes in the day – I need to be ready to run with it – no more sitting around daydreaming, although that still happens. I always have my writing broken down into chunks – much more manageable than the entire thing! I have not reached the 6+ hours a day – but it is good to know that there is a silver lining somewhere.

  35. 35 Mommy Cracked September 2, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Quite simply, becoming a mother has inspired me to write again. Back in my single and child-free days I had plenty of time to write down my thoughts and dream of being published. Somewhere along the way while working on my college degree and having a demanding teaching job, all of that fell by the wayside.

    When my son turned two I was bitten by the writing bug again and started blogging. I’m still working up the confidence to take my writing to the next level and my son is my inspiration for my blog. My writing focuses on juggling the many roles I play as a mother and wife. While those topics aren’t earth-shattering or original in any way, becoming a mother has inspired me and that is the first step in accomplishing my dream of writing for a living.

  36. 36 Laura September 2, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I have always wanted to be a writer, but never acted on it until I became a mother. Having kids, raising them, somehow showed me that I could achieve my dream. Having kids, showed me that I had to try to achieve my dream. How can I be telling them to work hard for their future, to believe in themselves, if I don’t myself?

  37. 37 Kristin September 2, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Before children, I’d foolishly complain that “I’d like to write more, but I just can’t find the time.” I was always waiting. Waiting to graduate from college, waiting until I was established at work, waiting for a better schedule…I’d spent so much time waiting for the perfect time to write that time passed me by – until I had children.

    There’s no waiting with children. Their schedule became my schedule. Their demands were mine to fill. I finally learned what free time was – and I no longer had it. What a motivator that was. I felt compelled to etch out writing time. Now that my daughters are 6 and 2, I believe in time travel. I have to, because I can’t otherwise explain where these past years have gone.

    Having children, ironically, gave me the freedom to write. It also changed my passion from fiction writing to non-fiction, where I hope my writing can help make life easier for many busy families with strategies I’ve learned solely because I’m a mother and that’s what mom’s do. We try to make our busy lives less hectic, so we can enjoy our children.

  38. 38 karen September 2, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Great question, and thanks for doing another give-away. I love it. Had I not become a mom, I don’t think I’d be writing today. I may still be contemplating the notion. Being a mom has taught me time management, humility, patience (always a work in progress), but most importantly to pay attention. Not just to my kids or myself but to nearly everything around me. Boy, does that come in handy.

  39. 39 Pattie September 2, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I can’t imagine not being a mother, and I can’t imagine not being a writer. I don’t know if it is easier to be a writer when a mother, or harder. I know that with family activities and school and work and their dance classes, it’s tough to make time for everything I want to do : write, read, think, be. But I wouldn’t trade in my beautiful girls for a novel on a shelf, even though being a mom and a novelist are both dreams of mine.

  40. 40 Julie P September 2, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Motherhood? Writing? Can I do it ALL? You bet.

    Before becoming a mother, my writing was sheltered. It assisted parents through a teacher’s eyes, and teachers through a teacher’s mind, and even students through a teacher’s pen. And prior to that, I wrote on the visions of my youth. But as a mother, my eyes have been opened to a vast opportunity of ideas. There are challenges beyond any I imagined prior to mommy-ing, and with 2 kids, aged only 5 and 3, I know doors of writing opportunities will continue to open in the future.

    Of course, the biggest opportunity that opened for me is my “job.” I’m attempting to freelance, but have an ongoing gig writing mommy, child, and baby reviews for a well-respected blog. Gotta owe that all to my real job, where they call me “Mom.”

  41. 41 Karen Mihaylo September 2, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    How has motherhood informed my writing career? Motherhood (and grandmotherhood) have given me many stories and ideas for my writing. In addition to the wealth of both funny and horrible things that happen in a household full of children, there have been the educational opportunities.

    I breast fed all my babies, and became a breastfeeding peer counselor for WIC. I have chaperoned field trips, and received first-hand knowledge of asthma, food allergies, scoliosis and other child health issues. The arts and crafts, cooking with children, music making and dancing all have opened my heart and mind.

    All of these things have given me a never ending source of things to write about. Most important of all may be the desire to make the world a better place for these little hearts and minds, and the effort to spread the good stuff through my love of writing.

    Time management, patience and perserverence are also lessons of motherhood that have benefited my writing. My children and grandchildren have brightly colored and enriched my life and my writing.

  42. 42 Kristal L. Rosebrook September 28, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Interesting posts

    Kristal


  1. 1 WMBTSG Drawing Number Two: And the winner is… « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 3, 2008 at 3:27 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,756 Visitors

