Dear Writer Mamas, (From the September Issue of The Writer Mama E-zine)

It’s harvest time, mamas. Can you feel it?

In his blog, author J.A. Konrath (we went to the same school), has this quote that I like:

“There’s a word for a writer who never gives up… published.”
This perfectly describes my experience as a writer. I have accomplished a lot since my daughter was born six-and-a-half years ago and perhaps it would be inspirational to share it with you, mamas, so you can catch a glimpse of what is possible:

  • I’ve written 2 published books.
  • I’ve worked my way up steadily over 7 and a half years to teaching over 100 students each year.
  • I personally offer 8 classes, from total beginner nonfiction writer to how to land a book deal and market your book.
  • I am helping 2 other hard-working writers with high-quality e-mail classes of their own.
  • I’ve developed several channels of giving through: my scholarship program (4 per year), a month-long book giveaway (thanks to all the participating authors/writers!), and 2 e-zines (in conjunction with several other hard-working writers).
  • I’ve written more articles than I can count for promotion and pay. Ditto given interviews and quotes.
  • I average one or two public appearances a month.
  • I’ve built three websites and two blogs.
  • I’ve met and gotten to know more amazing writers than I could possibly count!

And if you notice the repetition of the words, “hard” + “work” above, that’s not a coincidence. Writing career success is not about talent or luck. It’s really about whether or not you are willing to work consistently until you succeed. And believe me, I have worked.

And suddenly, I have 6 hours a day to work now that my daughter, Samantha, has entered first grade. I’ve been working so hard for so long–as a writer friend put it recently–around the edges of everything, that I’m not sure if I can remember how to manage a big chunk of consecutive hours.

But don’t worry. I’ll be fine. And it won’t take long to adjust to this new, expansive rhythm. I’m excited to see what it will bring next Fall. And I’m excited to rediscover more time for self-care, not to mention more time for my friends and family.

Maybe autumn isn’t technically the beginning of a new year, but it always feels that way to me. Happy harvest time, mamas!

In the writing spirit,

Christina Katz

3 Responses to “Dear Writer Mamas, (From the September Issue of The Writer Mama E-zine)”


  1. 1 rowena September 8, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Thanks for your inspiration. I am 3 years in to my SAHMness, and am just getting to a place where I can concentrate enough to really work. They aren’t joking when they talk about mom brain. Having kids makes your brain smaller! For a while, then it comes back and we are … better than ever. ? Hope so.

    But looking at what you accomplished makes me have hope for my future as a creative and as a business woman.

    Wha? Did I just say that? Me? A business woman?

    I think so. I think that’s the way I’m going. Thanks again for blazing the trails and giving back to those not quite as far along on that journey.

  2. 2 krysk September 8, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Having been a student, then teacher, now student again – September definitely marks more of a new year for me – much more so than January. September has always been a time of hope, of new beginnings, of getting back into the groove. Thank you for taking the time to be such an inspiration to others!

  3. 3 sandrar September 10, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,843 Visitors

