Bookmark These Winning Sites, Mamas

Christina Katz, photo by Mark BenningtonBy Christina Katz

Tiny Sips of Tough Love = Good Medicine

In my opinion, all writers need to find a way to find and heed the advice that we might rather avoid and resist. For years, all I wanted to read was writing inspiration. I didn’t like it when I had to hear anything that was a cold, hard dose of reality like, “Writing is a businesss, so you have to treat it like a business,” or “Nobody cares if you’ve written a book,” or the number of books that go out of print each year (ouch!).

But what I’ve found is that the more willing I am to take in and absorb these realities, the better prepared I am to respond to the fact that is my writing career.

Beats living in a fantasy, any day.

So, I’d like to share the resource I turn to for a steady of trickle of things I may (and may not always) like to hear: There Are No Rules, a blog by my editor, Jane Friedman, who is Editorial Director at Writer’s Digest Books.

Jane is extremely knowledgeable about writing-related issues of every stripe and the big-picture of what’s happening in the publishing industry. I hope you will subscribe and imbibe the publishing industry wisdom that comes through her blog.

·············································································
Christina Katz, author of Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids, is working on her second book for Writer’s Digest Books, Get Known Before the Book Deal, Use Your Personal Strengths to Grow an Author Platform. She has also written over two hundred articles for magazines, newspapers, and online publications and has appeared on “Good Morning America.” Christina is a popular writing instructor who has taught hundreds of writers over the past seven years. She blogs daily at The Writer Mama Riffs and is publisher and editor of two zines, Writers on the Rise and The Writer Mama. More at http://www.thewritermama.com/.
·············································································

1 Response to “Bookmark These Winning Sites, Mamas”


  1. 1 janefriedman September 22, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Thank you for the link-love! 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,756 Visitors

