So…What did you think of the Giveaway?

I’m pretty proud of it myself. 🙂

And I’d love to know how it was for you?

What did you get out of it?

Any constructive criticism?

Will you be back next year?

I hope so!

22 Responses to “So…What did you think of the Giveaway?”


  1. 1 rowena October 2, 2008 at 6:49 am

    I thought it was great although I didn’t win anything 😦

    It was a wonderful idea to ask those questions and get people thinking about their own writing craft and careers.

    This would probably be too difficult for you, but I think there was so much that people actually know that it would be neat to have some sort of collective wisdom post, where you share the best bits of the entrants comments. That would be a lot of work, but it’s hard to keep up with everyone’s comments when your a busy person trying to maintain or start up a writing career.

  2. 2 Mary Jo C. October 2, 2008 at 7:00 am

    I’m proud of you,too, Christina. That’s a lot of work, especially with your newest book being released!

    Thank you so much! I looked forward to each day, not just for the prizes, but for the companionship, tips, laughs and links.

    It’s kind of like a month of motivation and inspiration! I had to really dig deep for answers to some of your questions.

    What I also got out of this party were 2 prizes! The Novel & Short Story Writers Market (perfect for me!) AND The Cup of Comfort for Writers, which I just received in the mail two days ago. Have to tell you, this came at just the “write” time. I was struggling over an essay with a 10/1 deadline and had all but given up, I was so sick of it! But I read a few inspirational stories in Cup of Comfort, went back to my desk, rewrote and rewrote with more vigor and sent off to a former classmate from WPSS for a critique. Jenni (bless her heart) got it back to me within hours! I rewrote a few more times and was thrilled with the result that I finally submitted to Skirt! on time. Even if it doesn’t get published, the experience was thrilling. But, it will get published! : )

    OK, stepping off my soapbox..

  3. 3 Cara October 2, 2008 at 9:12 am

    What I liked best was being gently guided, over the course of the month, to explore my writing aspirations and re-evaluate my goals, and it netted me an entire collection of reflections on just about all aspects of writing. The bonus was all the information sharing from a widely diverse collection of writer moms.

    My suggestions for next year? The first would be not to do a random draw for the daily winner, but rather to give the prize to the person who would benefit from it the most or who offered the most insightful tip of the day. I’m not a big fan of random draws, but I guess as I actually won something for a change, I can’t really complain. 🙂

    My other suggestion, echoes Rowena’s. Why not follow up on the contest, throughout the next eleven months, by using some the daily question and answers for the basis for a column? There was so much information out there to absorb, that it would be a shame to lose it. It’s time consuming to read 30-40 responses every day, but if someone was to summarize it for us…

    I will definitely do it again next year. Thanks, Christina!

  4. 4 Mar Junge, c3PR October 2, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Christina, you did indeed do a fantastic job. This contest inspired me to pay more attention to the creative side of my writing, instead of just the business side. And your questions helped me see what I was already doing RIGHT, instead of just what I needed to do to improve.

    Last year I didn’t win anything and it was rather disheartening to see some people win several times. I know the drawing is random, but I felt so darn unlucky, considering that the odds of winning are high in a relatively small pool of entries. But I had saved my posts and the names of the prize books and found myself referring to the file several times throughout the year.

    This year I was meticulous about not only saving the name of the prize book and my posts, but also copied the posts of others that had good info. So even if I didn’t win anything, I came away feeling like my time was well invested. (I actually did win one book this year, but that was icing on the cake.)

    I’ll definitely be back next year. And throughout the rest of this year, too. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. 5 Pattie October 2, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I really liked it. I didn’t participate every day but it was still fun. I did win this year, which was SHOCKING to say the least! I also did a few promos on my blog about the giveaway, but don’t know of anyone in particular that came here from my blog…

  6. 6 Cathy October 2, 2008 at 10:52 am

    I really like reading the responses of so many writers at so many different levels. Um, yeah, it’s a lot to digest and there were times when I skimmed, but I think I got a few tips along the way. Thanks for the contest AND thanks to all who shared their writing journey!

  7. 7 Wendy October 2, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Christina
    This was the second year for me and both years were inspiring. I didn’t win anything, but everyday I had a new way to think about writing, why I do it, how I could do it better. Both years, I also bought some of the books that I didn’t win and they have been great. I’ll be back.

  8. 8 Cheryl M October 2, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Christina,
    I thought the giveaway was a great idea. It helped me get back into a fall writing routine and gave me a bunch of ideas to pursue. I especially appreciated the tips on writing markets and hearing about how others organize their time. I’m thinking about getting a couple of the books I wasn’t lucky enough to win!

    I did find commenting on the questions helpful and commented when I felt inspired. I did win one day – a book I already have, but a great one to give to a writing friend, The Writer Mama.

  9. 9 nathalie October 2, 2008 at 11:39 am

    I loved it. I didn’t post every day because sometimes the day is over and my morning cup of coffee is still sitting by the computer – but I did log on daily and read the thought-provoking questions and enjoyed reading everyone’s comments.

    I think this is a TON of work on your end and I’d say do what works best for you – it’s fun and helpful just how it is. As far as prizes go, I won nothing and don’t care a bit. I just enjoyed the anticipation of maybe winning and being involved in the conversation.

    Thank you!

  10. 10 Stephanie Craig October 2, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I loved the contest. The questions made me stretch my mind and think about myself as a writer but in a new way than before. I got tips and inspiration from other writers that will be helpful in my career. I won, but I believe that I would have enjoyed the contest even without my books. I will be on the website through next year and I will definately participate next year.

    Thank your for all the work you put into this contest.

  11. 11 Heidi October 2, 2008 at 11:58 am

    I enjoyed the reflection time and benefitted from putting my thoughts “on paper” with respect to my writing goals, habits, and current level of achievement. Although I never won a prize, the tips and tools and inspiration I found reading others’ posts were winnings enough. I’ve already learned of several new markets using others’ strategies for identifying markets. Thanks for doing all the behind the scenes prep work and after-the-fact wrap up. We appreciate it!

  12. 12 jamsmu October 2, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I definitely enjoyed checking in each day and responding. The questions you asked weren’t ones I ask myself each day and I was able to use them as my daily writing prompts, which I loved.

    Being a non-winner was disheartening. As said by a pp, its difficult with such a small pool of writers to come in everyday and see that, once again, you didn’t win. Especially when its being announced that so-and-so just won again for the 3rd time. However, I do think that random draws are the best way for it to be done.

    I do like a PP’s suggestion to take some of the responses and expand on them. Whether its just posting highlights here and there, or asking the respondent to further expand a response as a guest-blogger (what a terrific opportunity for all of us writers!) these would definitely benefit your readers.

    Another idea, purely from a marketing standpoint, would be to nix the 30 prizes in 30 days and switch to 52 prizes in 52 weeks. This will keep people coming back year round, not just for 30 days.

    Finally, a thank you for asking for opinions. Thats not often done!

  13. 13 Celestial Goldfish October 2, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    This was my second year participating. I didn’t win at all last year, but I did buy several of the featured books on my own and found them very useful.

    I love reading the opinions of others and finding out we have so much in common. I’d visit your blog a few times a day, just to read the comments added after mine. Oh, and winning two books was a huge welcome surprise, one I really needed. I was having a really rough day when I found out I won that first book, and it almost made me cry.

  14. 14 Sarah October 2, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Christina,
    I really enjoyed the giveaway even though I didn’t win anything. (Maybe next time!) As a beginner writer mama, it was really awesome to participate because all the questions and posts served as great food for thought. I feel like I really learned a lot from it. Also, it was kind of neat to see so many successful writer mamas out there! I checked out so many cool blogs when reading everyone’s posts that I was inspired to start my own. So thanks for taking the time to do this! Looking forward to next year’s!

  15. 15 anniegirl1138 October 2, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I liked it. I enjoy writing about writing and reading others on the process.

    I look forward to next year.

  16. 16 Erika October 2, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Great contest Christina!

    The biggest benefit for me was just looking inside myself to find my hopes, fears, challenges, obstacles, dreams, talents, and areas to work on. Reading the other posts was informative as well, but for me, a lot of the learning was internal.

    I’m looking forward to next year and thanks for the motivation.

  17. 17 Laura October 2, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Hi Christina! This was my second year on this giveaway, and I feel like I really won this year. What I won wasn’t material, but instead was a lot of inspiration and motivation. Because of everyone’s answers to the questions, I found out a lot about myself as a writer, and have renewed motivation. I have been working more often, and better. The other benefit has been the chance to meet other writers, something I’ve been unable to do in my area. Only downside to this giveaway is that it’s over, and that I have another list of books I want to purchase!

  18. 18 Meryl K. Evans October 2, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I was here last year. I was here this year. I will be here next year.

    It’s hard work and we appreciate the energy you put into it, Christina. It gives us something to write about without pressure (not having to think of a topic), think things through, and read what others have to say.

    Can you ask for anything more? Echo echo echo… what others said, too.

  19. 19 The Writer Mama October 3, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Thanks so much, everyone. Your feedback is invaluable and I am already mulling it all over.

    What can I promise?

    I can promise the WMBTG will be back again next September (although 52 weeks is a good idea, it’s not something I can manage).

    I can promise that you will all make wonderfully thoughtful and inspiring comments as you have the past two years.

    And that I will have new offerings in January 2009 in response to some of your other requests.

    I hope you’ll stay tuned as I work out all of the details!

    Warm writing wishes,

    Christina

  20. 20 Ginny October 3, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    I loved it – I loved the questions, they really got me thinking about my writing practice, my schedule, my priorities, etc. And while I haven’t gotten my writing life figured out,, it was so helpful to have the prod from this contest and your questions. Plus, I have a few things added to my “want to read” list (though if you could find me some more time to read, that would be good!).

    I will be here next year, definitely.

    And thanks!

  21. 21 marnini October 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I love this giveaway. I feel a bit guilty that I won more than once after seeing that a few didn’t win at all. I am very happy nevertheless. My father died in June, so I would like to believe that I had a special angel helping me out with those random drawings.
    September is my favorite month and your giveaway makes it all the better.
    It is always nice to connect to a group of people that you can understand and know they understand you as well. Your giveaway inspires mothers and gives them hope that one day if not already they will see their name in print.
    Thanks for doing a fabulous job connecting us all together.
    Love, Maribeth (aka Marnini)

  22. 22 writethejourney October 5, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Christina,

    I really enjoyed the giveaway. Being a newbie, I felt a little over my head answering some of the questions, and that was a good thing. Thank you for the opportunity to “meet” so many other great writers and parents and for helping people like us feel inspired!

    Good luck with your book publication this month!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,398 Visitors

