I know people…who know people…who…

Over the years, I have gotten to know a LOT of writers. I’m going to update my Rolodex next week and I am already scared by the sheer volume of people I need to input to my database. Tonight, standing in front of my book shelf, cracking open titles and scanning for signed copies, I was amazed at how many I have. How many books I have by authors I personally know.

How did this happen? When did this happen? I mean, it’s a little spooky.

I know an author on the opposite coast, who recently found out that her first book is going out of print. (This is not the first time I’ve known an author this has happened to and it’s always a bummer, though she’s handling it well. AND she has two books coming out in the next two years, so take that!)

I know an author on this coast, who is dealing with some serious permission hurdles between her and the publication of her first book. Ouch. Ouch. Ouch.

I “know” (from blogging) an author on the opposite coast, who just made the NYT Bestseller List for the first time. How freaking cool is that?

I know another author, again on this coast, who is happily starting to draft her first book. I’ll tell more soon.

I know a soon to be author in another country who doesn’t know which book deal is going to become official first.

I mean, I’m not sure if anyone knows it, but I am a very lucky girl! I am surrounded literally and virtually by a glowing tribe of success stories.

How did this happen?

And I’m just talking about what’s going on today. I mean, who knows how many authors I will know by this time next year or in five or ten years. I can’t imagine.

I guess I practice what I preach. Slow and steady wins the race and helps you meet really cool authors and all that.

But seriously, it just hit me, like tonight. Boom.

I think I am having belated success syndrome. When you have a book coming out, you are working so hard for so long that it’s easy to kind of lose perspective. And then one day, there it is, book two, and you kind of take it for granted, maybe like a second child.

And today I realized that I am a two-time author. Holy crap! I have TWO books and I like them both.

I like them a lot. And they are SOOOO different.

Amazing.

Someone tell me how it happened.

Of course, in the moring, sitting at this desk again, I will remember.

I won’t be able to avoid remembering.

It will all be waiting for me bright and early. Let’s go. Chug that coffee and get to work!

But now, in the late hours, it seems pretty cool. It seems like a miracle of some sort.

THIS must be how tales of publishing success become so crazy-romanticized.

Those authors must be up late at night, starry-eyed, and writing them down for the press.

Like they were the immaculate conception or something. Like the books just wrote themselves.

Show me an author who says that. Seriously, C’mere. I dare ya.

But don’t be fooled. It’s all good ol’ fashioned hard work. Nothing more. Nothing less. 🙂

Oh yeah…and it helps to know people.

4 Responses to “I know people…who know people…who…”


  1. 1 Sarah October 29, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Congratulations on all your success, Christina! You are really an inspiration for aspiring writers like myself.

  2. 2 Erin Maher October 30, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Congratulations!

    That all sounded so … appealing! Made me feel a bit giddy.

  3. 3 writerinspired October 30, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Hey Christina,

    Thanks for linking to me! Very inspirational post today, lady! I’m giddy, too, for I saw this blog grow from a newborn, alongside the Writers on the Rise and your Career on the Rise!

    Just another mom who has a goal and a plan to get there, stay there and go beyond!

    You are an inspiration!
    Ain’t this writing life cool??

    Mary Jo : )

  4. 4 Mar Junge, c3PR October 30, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    We must be kindred spirits. Today I had lunch with a young woman who works for one of my clients and is scheduled to graduate with her MBA next spring. She wanted some tips on how to break into marketing in Silicon Valley. For the better part of an hour I gave her the low down on the movers and shakers who could give her advice on each subject about which she had questions. I told her about the newsletters and blogs I follow, the organizationas she should join and who to talk to at each. By the end of lunch she had a notebook full of people and ideas. Suddenly it hit me that my client had recommended his associate have lunch with me because he knew I was a well-connected resource. That doesn’t happen overnight. My advice to any young writer, or marketer, is the same as yours: “If you’re not networking, you’re not working!”


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,527 Visitors

